As someone who
shoots low often, the thing to remember with depot insulins like Lantus is that they "release" differently than an in-and-out insulin. Once you find the "right dose" (one that doesn't send them too low or keep them too high during nadir), you want to hold that dose across both shot times, regardless of pre-shot numbers. This is why we don't recommend for new members who don't have much data to shoot less than 200 on the Main Health board (or less than 150 on the Lantus Board) because they're usually not yet at that "right dose."
Lantus lasts around 12-14 hours and it takes about 2-4 hours before the next dose starts kicking in. It's this overlap that is being used when you shoot low. If the pre-shot is low, then that gives very little time for the number to continue rising before the next shot kicks in (which is a good thing). The result is a low, flat curve. If it's the
right dose, they don't drop into hypo when you give a shot. If the dose is a little too much, you'll see them flirting with the forties, but not anything you can't prop up with a little bit of their regular food. If the dose is too little, they'll spend more time in the 100s. (This is usually where you'll see doses being fattened or skinnied up.)
If you prefer, you can slowly nudge the "no shoot" number down and give shots first at 140, then 130, then 120, etc... and see how Martha reacts at each lower pre-shot. I learned with Mikey that pretty much any pre-shot over 70 is "shootable" and he won't drop too low, although I might be super nervous and hover over him all cycle long. nailbite_smile And if I'm not going to be home to monitor, then I won't shoot those lower numbers (usually under 100). You're the one holding the syringe so it's what
you are comfortable with. ;-)