Mango released from hospital today

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marianne M

Member Since 2019
It's been a wild week for Mango and me. Monday last Mango was not eating his normal amount and tested again for high ketones Headed to the vet. He asked me to do another BG curve but hourly. I did that on Tuesday and he tested negative for ketones. Wednesday he asked us to come in so he could do some more blood work and Mango wasn't eating. Then Thursday rolls around and the vomiting started, wouldn't eat and our Vet told us to go to the ER hospital as he something else is going on and we need to see an Internist and start with an Ultrasound. We headed off to the University of Florida. Mango was admitted and received an ultrasound with a needle biopsy of his liver. Ultrasound showed an enlarged liver (probably because of diabetes) , adrenals glands normal, intestinal wall normal, pancreatic appeared normal, nothing of concern. Needle biopsy came back inconclusive. They are doing a GI panel to see if Liver Flukes or some other parasite could be the cause of what is going on. Mango has become a mystery with the BG and ketone issues. They are also going to check his B12 and Folate levels. The GI panel will be back next week. He could have an intestinal disease but rarely vomits and doesn't have diarrhea? Since Mango eats plenty of lizards, which could carry liver flukes :eek:, I am hoping that is the cause. Cushing and Acromegaly was mentioned but they didn't see outward signs of either of those diseases but will test if necessary. It was also mentioned that a Freestyle BG monitor many be in the future. So all in all, Mango is doing fine, I am doing fine and we wait for the GI testing to come back. They also decreased his Prozinc to 3 units. Iam glad Mango is back home and I hear from the Dr who did the ultrasound that he was in her lap purring and head butting her! That's my little man! :D
 
It sounds like Mango is getting good medical care! One of my other cats seemed to have ear infection, but his regular vet didn't like what she saw in his ear. She recommended a CT scan and we got one at the specialty vet. He had a small (benign) tumor in his ear and had his ear canal and middle ear removed in a 2+ hour surgery. He is fine! The cost of the specialist was $$$$, but it was great dealing with a surgeon who does several surgeries a week and not just spay/neuter/biopsy. She also had access to several other surgeons as well as other types of specialists.

Sending healing thoughts to Mango and calm and serenity to you.
 
It's been a wild week for Mango and me. Monday last Mango was not eating his normal amount and tested again for high ketones Headed to the vet. He asked me to do another BG curve but hourly. I did that on Tuesday and he tested negative for ketones. Wednesday he asked us to come in so he could do some more blood work and Mango wasn't eating. Then Thursday rolls around and the vomiting started, wouldn't eat and our Vet told us to go to the ER hospital as he something else is going on and we need to see an Internist and start with an Ultrasound. We headed off to the University of Florida. Mango was admitted and received an ultrasound with a needle biopsy of his liver. Ultrasound showed an enlarged liver (probably because of diabetes) , adrenals glands normal, intestinal wall normal, pancreatic appeared normal, nothing of concern. Needle biopsy came back inconclusive. They are doing a GI panel to see if Liver Flukes or some other parasite could be the cause of what is going on. Mango has become a mystery with the BG and ketone issues. They are also going to check his B12 and Folate levels. The GI panel will be back next week. He could have an intestinal disease but rarely vomits and doesn't have diarrhea? Since Mango eats plenty of lizards, which could carry liver flukes :eek:, I am hoping that is the cause. Cushing and Acromegaly was mentioned but they didn't see outward signs of either of those diseases but will test if necessary. It was also mentioned that a Freestyle BG monitor many be in the future. So all in all, Mango is doing fine, I am doing fine and we wait for the GI testing to come back. They also decreased his Prozinc to 3 units. Iam glad Mango is back home and I hear from the Dr who did the ultrasound that he was in her lap purring and head butting her! That's my little man! :D
Good Lord, what a week! UF has a great university veterinary school! :bighug: That little face on Mango :cat: OMG it’s adorable! :)
 
Purring and headbutting while getting a test. That's on orange boy for you! :kiss:

It's definitely a mystery for now, but I am glad he seems fine. Do you have things on hand already, or did they send you home with something, in case he has any more issues with vomiting and/or nausea?

Also, even though you didn't ask :p, I am not sure that I agree with the decrease to 3.0 units especially with ketones in the mix, unless they actually saw something in him or his tests to warrant it. Purely based on the numbers, the lowest that dose got you was in the 220's, and you had gotten rid of the reds, violets and blacks on this recent 4.0 dose. [Side note: I have no issue at all with embedding ketone results within the spreadsheet cells, however it threw me for a second to see them, like on 8/12/19...I thought "how in the world could Mango go from yellow to black in one hour, and then back down to yellow by PMPS?". We are so accustomed to looking just at the colors at quick glance. You might want to pick a color that is not one of the standard ones. Maybe grey? Granted, ketones are not good and that seems to warrant the doom and gloom of a black cell, but it kind of freaks us out! Just a suggestion, you can certainly leave it.

Very interested to hear what UF has to say, and let's keep an eye on that decrease. Fingers crossed that Mango stays well AND you get some answers.

Best,
Sandi.

[ETA: It's been many years now since I used ProZinc, we've been using only Lantus for our current diabetic, so I'll absolutely defer to our Prozinc experts if they feel differently]
 
Purring and headbutting while getting a test. That's on orange boy for you! :kiss:

It's definitely a mystery for now, but I am glad he seems fine. Do you have things on hand already, or did they send you home with something, in case he has any more issues with vomiting and/or nausea?

Also, even though you didn't ask :p, I am not sure that I agree with the decrease to 3.0 units especially with ketones in the mix, unless they actually saw something in him or his tests to warrant it. Purely based on the numbers, the lowest that dose got you was in the 220's, and you had gotten rid of the reds, violets and blacks on this recent 4.0 dose. [Side note: I have no issue at all with embedding ketone results within the spreadsheet cells, however it threw me for a second to see them, like on 8/12/19...I thought "how in the world could Mango go from yellow to black in one hour, and then back down to yellow by PMPS?". We are so accustomed to looking just at the colors at quick glance. You might want to pick a color that is not one of the standard ones. Maybe grey? Granted, ketones are not good and that seems to warrant the doom and gloom of a black cell, but it kind of freaks us out! Just a suggestion, you can certainly leave it.

Very interested to hear what UF has to say, and let's keep an eye on that decrease. Fingers crossed that Mango stays well AND you get some answers.

Best,


Sandi.
I mentioned at UF that I thought that since his curve was flat that he would be in for an increase as our primary vet mentioned he was going to do. The reason that UF decreased his dose is that he may be having periods of low BG followed by high BG. Mango SS shows him going from black to yellow in one hour. Depending on the GI blood work that was sent to Texas A & M University, he may be wearing the Freestyle Libra monitor for awhile once all his testing comes back. They told me to expect high ketones in his urine as they aren't treating anything specifically. They want me to only fed him twice a day and the poor guy is crying for food every time I go into the kitchen. Going to be hard to break the midmorning, mid afternoon and bedtime snack. We will get through and I hope to keep my sanity!:rolleyes:
[ETA: It's been many years now since I used ProZinc, we've been using only Lantus for our current diabetic, so I'll absolutely defer to our Prozinc experts if they feel differently]
Purring and headbutting while getting a test. That's on orange boy for you! :kiss:

It's definitely a mystery for now, but I am glad he seems fine. Do you have things on hand already, or did they send you home with something, in case he has any more issues with vomiting and/or nausea?

Also, even though you didn't ask :p, I am not sure that I agree with the decrease to 3.0 units especially with ketones in the mix, unless they actually saw something in him or his tests to warrant it. Purely based on the numbers, the lowest that dose got you was in the 220's, and you had gotten rid of the reds, violets and blacks on this recent 4.0 dose. [Side note: I have no issue at all with embedding ketone results within the spreadsheet cells, however it threw me for a second to see them, like on 8/12/19...I thought "how in the world could Mango go from yellow to black in one hour, and then back down to yellow by PMPS?". We are so accustomed to looking just at the colors at quick glance. You might want to pick a color that is not one of the standard ones. Maybe grey? Granted, ketones are not good and that seems to warrant the doom and gloom of a black cell, but it kind of freaks us out! Just a suggestion, you can certainly leave it.

Very interested to hear what UF has to say, and let's keep an eye on that decrease. Fingers crossed that Mango stays well AND you get some answers.

Best,
Sandi.

[ETA: It's been many years now since I used ProZinc, we've been using only Lantus for our current diabetic, so I'll absolutely defer to our Prozinc experts if they feel differently]
 
Sandi.
I mentioned at UF that I thought that since his curve was flat that he would be in for an increase as our primary vet mentioned he was going to do. The reason that UF decreased his dose is that he may be having periods of low BG followed by high BG. Mango SS shows him going from black to yellow in one hour. Depending on the GI blood work that was sent to Texas A & M University, he may be wearing the Freestyle Libra monitor for awhile once all his testing comes back. They told me to expect high ketones in his urine as they aren't treating anything specifically. They want me to only fed him twice a day and the poor guy is crying for food every time I go into the kitchen. Going to be hard to break the midmorning, mid afternoon and bedtime snack. We will get through and I hope to keep my sanity!:rolleyes:

I'm sorry I didn't see this before now, your answer got embedded within my question so I didn't see it until today when I was looking here to see how Mango was doing. [An administrative note: When you click REPLY to a post, it will show the question that you are responding to in one big block at the top starting and ending with QUOTE in square brackets. This is what makes the system put it in a yellow block at the top of your reply. Don't put your comments within that QUOTE block, or it will show up within that yellow section as the original post that you are responding to and we might not see it. Just put your comments after that QUOTE block. I hope that makes sense, I might not have explained it well]

So let's back up, because this is what I was trying to get at when talking about the colors on your spreadsheet and I might have misunderstood your spreadsheet. On 8/12 at AMPS+5 Mango tested at 228 (yellow). Then at AMPS+6, one hour later, you have a black cell with "ketone meter test HIGH". I assumed by "HIGH" you were referring to the ketones (I don't use a ketone blood meter, so I don't know if that is what it ever says). Were you instead saying that the blood glucose was HIGH at AMPS+6? That is what I am not clear on. Same question about the 8/12 PM cycle. PMPS is yellow at 228 again, then PMPS+1 is black, but it does not show an actual blood glucose reading. Were you saying there that the blood glucose reading was black (over 500) at PMPS+1? That is why I was suggesting that you changed the color of those cells because I thought you were just hand coloring them black to highlight the ketone results, not that it was indicating a BG>500 since I didn't actually see a BG number.

So let's see how things are now. How is Mango feeling and eating? Any vomit? Have you gotten any BG tests since last night's pre-shot of 284, and any ketone tests? And what medications or treatments are you giving him right now?

Also, almost all doctors and vet schools recommend twice daily eating. Those of us here almost never do that, it really is a very old school recommendation. The NCSU vet school, also an excellent institution, recommends the same but I just don't agree. For the most part I think that they say that to be sure that cats are hungry at shot time so you know that they will eat then. Spreading the food out throughout the day is actually much better for them. The recommendation here on the board is that they get many meals, or even free feed, as long as they don't eat within two hours of the shots to get a clear reading. The other advantage of having many meals or free feeding is that if the cat's blood sugar goes low, they normally just instinctively seek out food. I would never leave the house without having food available to Whispy because I KNOW he goes looking for it when his blood sugar dips -- often seeing him eat at times that are unusual for him is what causes me to pick up the meter to test him, so I know for sure that he goes for food when he goes low. I've seen it in action. So we free feed (we also have 5 others and our youngest girl is underweight and she eats like a little bird, so I feel like I need to have food out for her all the time whenever she will finally eat. It's your call, I understand when you start that you feel like you need to follow their instructions, after all you are giving them alot of your $$$, right? Others should feel free to chime in here as well.

Again, sorry for the delay in responding, but hopefully that helps you know why and so that you can be sure we see you in the future whenever you reply. I'd hate for your comments to get "lost" if you have an urgent question.

I'll be around for most of the day, so I look forward to hearing how things are going.

Best,
Sandi.
 
Hi Sandi, Sorry for such a late reply. Today was catch up day after last week. On 8/12 those black boxes indicated high ketones not blood sugar. On his second day at UF hospital he was found to have a UTI. He is on Orbax antibiotic, Cerenia if needed and reduced dose of Prozinc. He is doing fine, no vomiting, drinking H2O and eating. His PMPS last night was 284 and this mornings AMPS was 264 on the AT2 pet meter. Since Mango is not being treated for the high Ketones other than the antibiotic. Vets at UF are going down the list and we are waiting for his GI workup that was set out to Texas A&M university. His ultrasound showed an enlarged liver and nothing else. He was found to have mild to moderate diabetic DKA, needle aspirate samples were consistent with being diabetic but doesn't rule out other liver diseases. So at the moment until we get the intestinal test back for intestinal disease we sit and wait. If no intestinal disease if found we will be back at UF to figure out what to do next. Talking of putting a Freestyle monitor on him for two weeks. So.........patience is the name of this game. I am with you on feeding Mango when he wants to eat except for 2 hours before testing. He is underweight and use to Free feeding plus his two meals morning and dinner time. Thanks so much for your concern.
 
Last edited:
Hi Marianne
If Mango has a history of DKA would you mind putting that in the signature please as it’s important that helpers know that when helping Mango. Thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top