Managing with diet alone

Status
Not open for further replies.

Likameow

Member Since 2014
These whole situation has me in tears so I’ve come to you for help.

I’ve been asked by a local rescue group to help manage a newly diagnosed diabetic cat. She is an adult cat of undetermined age who is obese. The vet figures she should weigh 8 pounds and currently weighs 12.5 pounds. Last week it was noticed that she was drinking lots of water so she was taken to the vet. She was diagnosed with diabetes at that time. The leader of the group was unsure that her blood sugar was but informed that it was high.

The vet wants to try to get some weight off her before starting on insulin. That is when they contacted me to help.

There is no way I can bring her into my home (my first obligation is to my own pets and one of my cats would bully her incessantly anyway). So we are trying to take care of her while she lives is an adoption habitat at Petco.
Someone comes to clean and feed the cats once a day. I gave them some Young Again zero carb dry food for free feeding and left care instructions including a can of fancy feast classics once a day along with a frozen “catsicle” of FF for later snacking.

I stopped by yesterday and checked her sugar with Ben’s glucometer (relion). It was 225. She was a sweetheart and let me check her with no fuss.

Can a newly diagnosed cat be managed on food alone? That is her only option. It was stated to me that if she does end up needing to go on insulin, she will be euthanized. So the clock is ticking on this pretty girl. I live in a town in central Montana. There just isn’t the resources to take care of a diabetic cat or the type of kind-hearted people who would sign up for the crazy sugar dance on a cat they just met. Any suggestions or help would be greatly appreciated.

This is her adorable face.

esther.jpg
 
These whole situation has me in tears so I’ve come to you for help.

I’ve been asked by a local rescue group to help manage a newly diagnosed diabetic cat. She is an adult cat of undetermined age who is obese. The vet figures she should weigh 8 pounds and currently weighs 12.5 pounds. Last week it was noticed that she was drinking lots of water so she was taken to the vet. She was diagnosed with diabetes at that time. The leader of the group was unsure that her blood sugar was but informed that it was high.

The vet wants to try to get some weight off her before starting on insulin. That is when they contacted me to help.

There is no way I can bring her into my home (my first obligation is to my own pets and one of my cats would bully her incessantly anyway). So we are trying to take care of her while she lives is an adoption habitat at Petco.
Someone comes to clean and feed the cats once a day. I gave them some Young Again zero carb dry food for free feeding and left care instructions including a can of fancy feast classics once a day along with a frozen “catsicle” of FF for later snacking.

I stopped by yesterday and checked her sugar with Ben’s glucometer (relion). It was 225. She was a sweetheart and let me check her with no fuss.

Can a newly diagnosed cat be managed on food alone? That is her only option. It was stated to me that if she does end up needing to go on insulin, she will be euthanized. So the clock is ticking on this pretty girl. I live in a town in central Montana. There just isn’t the resources to take care of a diabetic cat or the type of kind-hearted people who would sign up for the crazy sugar dance on a cat they just met. Any suggestions or help would be greatly appreciated.

This is her adorable face.

View attachment 18952
oh nooooo
what a sweet face! are you sure there is not a rescue for FD kittys or a foster??
Maybe you could post this in the lantus forum as well as it is very busy--
 
Both my kittys went into remission on diet change alone. I fed them dry for their whole life and when I changed to friskies pate they both went into remission. As long as the caretakers do not sneak dry food she may be able to be diet controlled. Make sure they know when you are coming so she doesn't get anything to eat 2 hours before you test her :) You are a doll for taking care of her. Do you have a seller or rescue page for your area on facebook? She is adorable!!!
 
I don't think any of us can know if she can get into remission on diet changes alone. Personally, I haven't seen it happen. I HAVE seen it happen when the diet change is combined with insulin - a newly diagnosed cat has an excellent chance of getting into remission IF their blood sugar is brought back into normal numbers as quickly as is safely possible. Sometimes it's only a matter of weeks, but there's no way to predict.

When a cat's body is kept in normal range (50-120 on a human glucometer) a cat's pancreas can sometimes heal and begin putting out insulin again. It's not unusual for that to happen. Doesn't always, of course, and we can't know in advance which cats will or won't be able to heal given the opportunity.

Exercise also can increase the ability for the insulin to get into the cells, which also can lower blood sugar. Helping her lose weight SLOWLY would also help with that.

Young again is not zero carb, it is supposedly about 5%.

I hope you can find a way to get her insulin. 225 is definitely a diabetic number and the sooner she gets on insulin, the better her chances are.
 
I so feel your pain on this lovely cat and applaud your efforts to help her. You are an angel. Let's hope the diet helps her, but I too believe her chances would be improved with insulin. I wold post her as much as possible and see if there is a person who already has a diabetic cat or experience with one and hope you can get her a foster or adopter. This breaks my heart.
 
I so feel your pain on this lovely cat and applaud your efforts to help her. You are an angel. Let's hope the diet helps her, but I too believe her chances would be improved with insulin. I wold post her as much as possible and see if there is a person who already has a diabetic cat or experience with one and hope you can get her a foster or adopter. This breaks my heart.

Giving her insulin is simply not an option right now. I feel sooo bad that I can't bring her into my home. I don't have a good feeling about all this. It will probably end badly. I wish that I could find a foster/adopter. This group has had diabetic cats in the past and couldn't find a place for them. They have always just euthanized them. However this is their first diabetic cat since I started working with them. So they are looking at me to save the day. They just don't have the resources to keep her at a vet (which the vets here suck at diabetes management anyway). This is a rural community which unfortunately seems so have the "cats are disposable" mentality. So it is hard enough to find homes for "normal" cats.

It breaks my heart too. She is so sweet.
 
You are an angel. It is so sad that the "disposable cat" belief is alive and well. I so wish I could get this cat. I think I could manage two. Anyone able to drive/fly from Montana to Texas? I'm serious. My household is so used to fosters of every size and temperament and medical condition, that they'd handle it just fine. I mean Sparkle already has me getting no sleep.... Since I've recently lost 4 and the 3 boarding kitties should be gone in a few weeks, I really could save this cat.
 
I'm also not sure that you can get her BG normal without insulin while eating YA and with her in a cage where she can't get any exercise. I would also suggest you contact DCIN.

It's very sad because she might be able to go into remission quickly with insulin. There isn't another rescue organization there that can take her?

She's so beautiful....I hope you can find a way to save her.
 
I am serious. I have the space and the time and I'd figure the money part out (I always do). We have a group that does dog transport here in Dallas, but I don't know of any group that does cat transport. Also, DFW is very close to my house and if all goes well Wednesday with the new vet that is supposed to be a diabetic cat specialist, then I'd have a vet in place too. I have plenty of Lantus too.
 
I am serious. I have the space and the time and I'd figure the money part out (I always do). We have a group that does dog transport here in Dallas, but I don't know of any group that does cat transport. Also, DFW is very close to my house and if all goes well Wednesday with the new vet that is supposed to be a diabetic cat specialist, then I'd have a vet in place too. I have plenty of Lantus too.

I could figure out a way to get her to you. Heck, I'd fly with her to Texas. Fly in one day and back out the next.
 
PM me so we can work out details or do we want to do it here and beans can enjoy the transfer? She will have a forever home with me. I make life commitments to my cats. Have an extra bed here if you want to stay the night, of course you have to share with cats...though actually not really, it wouldn't kill them to have the door closed for one day..lol.
 
What happened to her sister?
Yes, I understand about the rescue needing to approve anything. I've done rescue for 30 years. Retired from it 2 years ago so I could be home more and focus on my cats here. If you need references I can get them for you. Let's save Esther's life!
Pepper
 
Loved the newsletter and mascot, Oscar. Looks like a great group. I hope we can pull this off!
 
Pepper @Sparkle, I'm still totally in awe of you that you would even consider doing this.
What happens now? Is someone going to contact DCIN to see if they can arrange transport? Are there people willing to take Esther for a day or so along the way?
I realise that I can't help with any of the above, but if funds are needed and a crowdfunding page is set up I will be very happy to contribute to that.

Eliz

PS. Esther's numbers are pretty good. There's no guarantee (life being what it is) but it may be that she has a good chance of remission once on insulin and a low carb diet.
PPS. Sending a huge 'thank you' hug to you. You are one very special lady.....
.
 
Last edited:
I left a message for the director of the rescue group. She works during the day so won't get back to me until this evening. I also contacted DCIN. I'm not sure if they can help with the transport. I know that they have used United Airlines to transport cats in baggage area before but I am reluctant to do that. I'd rather fly with her in the main cabin.
 
I can take her on if she has her travel papers and her travel companion and her matching luggage, all her toys and loads of cuteness. Everyone send traveling vines. Montana and Texas aren't close.

Well, being a homeless cat she lacks matching luggage or toys. But has tons of cuteness. She's super sweet ( and not just because she's diabetic :-) ). She just met me for the first time on Sunday and had no problem with me poking her ear to check her sugar. I think without the extra weight she should be a tiny petite cat. She has a little head and little paws.
 
Well, I've done the adoption application. Not sure if there will be a fee. I think the group should get a fee since they've taken care of her. Not sure if we can gather money for her transport fees.
It is sad she does not have matching luggage, but we have plenty of toys here. My friends think I'm nuts, but my heart just moved and it was very loud with Esther to help her. I figure my whole life revolves around the cats and now on diabetic care so I feel I can handle one more. The folks here who have more than one DF are my inspiration.
Thank you for all the pawsitive posts. I hope we can get this done soon so Esther can get on insulin and get to OTJ soon (if that is what she wants to do).
Think of Sparkle and me tomorrow at the new vets. I've had all his records sent and confirmed received and I'm getting everything ready, questions, all meds, will take the meter, copied some of the latest protocols about FD and stomatitis, get his carrier all clean and get myself some sleep (Sparkle dependent, of course). I've even done the drive there so I know exactly how to get there and home. Have money in my purse, going to fill the car with gas next when I mail off an eBay item.

Have a good night everyone, lots of purrs and calm swimming.

P + S + 12 + 1?
 
You're such an angel....along with Lisa for taking a special interest in Esther and wanting to give her a chance at life!!

I'm sure that everything will work out....Maybe they can do a fundraiser to help with the transport/adoption fees
 
Think of Sparkle and me tomorrow at the new vets. I've had all his records sent and confirmed received and I'm getting everything ready, questions, all meds, will take the meter, copied some of the latest protocols about FD and stomatitis, get his carrier all clean and get myself some sleep (Sparkle dependent, of course). I've even done the drive there so I know exactly how to get there and home. Have money in my purse, going to fill the car with gas next when I mail off an eBay item.

Have a good night everyone, lots of purrs and calm swimming.

P + S + 12 + 1?

Good luck tomorrow. Hope you get the information you need for Sparkles. I'll be in touch about Esther.
 
Understandably, there may be a concern by the rescue regarding my ability to take care of another cat, considering I have 10 + 3 boarding here (leaving soon) and my income is mostly disability, though I do sell on the side and my expenses are very small. I lead an extremely tiny life by choice. My cats are my family and I will do what it takes to give them a quality life. I feel that with the 4 recent deaths, plus the 3 boarding kitties leaving in a few weeks, I can take on another cat. My thoughts on the diabetes is that I'm already doing it with Sparkle so another cat is not that much more work. More supplies certainly, but I feel I can manage it. I am not at all ashamed to ask for help when I need it, but I manage my resources very well and do not waste my money on frivolous things. I have massive experience with cat care and can provide most medical care myself under the guidance of a vet.

The decision about what happens next is up to the Universe, the rescue and whatever angels protect Esther on her journey through this life.

Pepper. etc.
 
The food you're thinking of is Young Again's 50/22 basic dry food. Their 50/22 Lil Bites is a scaled down version of the 50/22 for kitties with no teeth, or kittens. Yes, it has a 5.6% carb ratio, but that's lower than wet FF or Friskies, right?

Young Again now does have a zero carb food...it's fairly new, I guess...and called Zero. :cat:(They also have a Zero Mature for older cats. ) It has a trace of carbs, but they are indigestible...Psyllium Husk. This carb amount is so negligible, <1%... that it doesn't really affect kitties BG.

As for Ash...it's not carbs...it's minerals. "Ash in cat food is the inorganic mineral content left over when the organic portion of the food has been burned off. The mineral content can be any combination of calcium, magnesium, phosphorus, potassium, sodium, silicon, sulfur and other trace minerals. Ash is measured by heating a food to 550 to 600 degrees – the inorganic residue is the 'ash content'." (explanation courtesy of the OnlyNatural Pet website)



:bookworm:Here's the analysis of the Zero food :

https://www.youngagainpetfood.com/zero-formula.html

I have tried the lil bites. (Well, the catkids have.) :pDottie loved the flavor, but couldn't eat the lil bites, because the pieces were so small that they are getting into a spot in her mouth that is either sore, or annoying. I had to wet it, and then it's mealy so she has the same issue. This might be because the vet who removed all her teeth isn't a specialist, (I am so sorry I didn't seek one out), and his work may not be as 'smooth' as a specialist's would be....there may be 'crevices' in her jaw where eenie weenie pieces can get stuck...and on a tender newly tooth-vacated mouth, it could be painful to deal with. Her mouth is getting better, though..or she's getting better at mouthing the food..so in the future she might be able to handle it.

Gizmo loves the Lil Bites, though,:cat: he's scarfing up what she won't. So the Lil Bites isn't going to waste.

I have ordered the Zero food, which is a larger nugget size, and Dottie's owie issues should go away. It's due to be delivered tomorrow, and this time, she is ready for it. (anti-jinx anti-jinx) Now if I can only get her to remember to drink.....:coffee::coffee::coffee:

As I mentioned in another post, Dottie's BG levels have dropped to a point where I can't give her insulin. Even a drop scares me. Just took her BG and it's a tolerable 95. She's been this way for a couple of days, and that is while she's eating pureed a FF/Friskies classic pate combination, with a smidge of pumpkin tossed in.

Looks like we may have caught Dottie's Diabetes in enough time to effect a remission..(crossing all fingers, toes, eyes, and the two long upper-lip hairs that grow back so fast...:oops: I give up on yankin em:confused:...I'll pretend I'm morphing into a cat, complete with whiskers:cat:)

I hope she'll continue to make progress so I can declare her to be OTJ soon. At least for a while. Only Heaven knows what new stress will crop up eventually as she ages..but then, that's Life. For now, I am THRILLED! (anti-jinx anti-jinx anti-jinx anti-jinx anti-jinx anti-jinx anti-jinx anti-jinx anti-jinx anti-jinx anti-jinx anti-jinx anti-jinx anti-jinx anti-jinx anti-jinx).

I have actually gotten some sleep...I'm so not used to it, that I'm waking up groggy as if I hadn't had enough! :confused: I think part of the trouble is that crying baby I am now dreaming about...I can't escape the sound of that alarmo_O

Every single member of the FDMB, new and old alike... is super-special, and deserving of recognition. It's an honor and pleasure to find souls who have so much room in their hearts for others.
 
Last edited:
Jeanne, you are always such a pleasure to read! It is also good for me to hear there is hope with the full mouth extraction. I was reviewing Sparkle's dental in March and it looks like that vet took out all his top teeth, including the canines. I was so shocked how I saw one vet who did the exam and then this other vet did the dental..well, I'm not very happy. I didn't realize she took out so many teeth until I just got a complete copy of his records....oops..hijacking Esther's thread. I'll start a new thread tomorrow for Sparkle. One more test and I may get to go to bed. I've had 8 hours of broken up sleep in the last 24. I hope I don't start hearing screaming babies.
 
Sparkle has a +6/53. I wish it was higher. Got him to eat, did some small Reglan and sub-g. Don't want him crashing today with all of the stress. I HOPE< HOPE HOPE this vet can help us. His mouth is bothering him so much. Please send us positive energy and VIBES, even vines.
 
oung Again now does have a zero carb food...it's fairly new, I guess...and called Zero.

No. Its not Zero Carb and its not new. That is what they used to call Zero Carb and changed the name to just Zero because it has approx 5% of its calories coming from carbs. Can't remember what their story is on why they can call it Zero Carb with the 5%, but apparently they got told by someone with authority that they couldn't really call it zero carb when it contains carbs and they changed the name.
 
Sending prayers that the new vet will be able to help sort out Sparkle's sore mouth.

Be sure to test every 20-30 minutes to make sure Sparkle rises to safer numbers and stays there.

:bighug:


Mogs
.
 
It is called zero because the cat absorbs such a small amount of carbohydates that it is allowable under US federal law to call it zero . It is the same law that allows human foods to be called 'fat free'when they contain miniscule amounts of fat. The deletion of the word carb doesn't toss out the baby with the bath water. The food still works well, although wet is always preferable.

Cats will absorb less than one percent of what carbs are in the food. This formula emulates the amount of carbs in cats' natural small prey.
 
Last edited:
Sparkle,
It makes my heart so happy that Esther is going to have a furever home. You and Lisa are Angels.
I went to sleep last night thinking about Esther and hoping she finds a home. She is beautiful.
Please keep us posted. If funds are needed, I will be happy to contribute.
Paula
P.S. Sending a ton of healing vines for Sparkle's sore mouth.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top