Making the switch from prozinc for 2 cats

Katsallday

Member Since 2021
Hi all! This will be my first time ever posting here! I was a big prozinc fan, still am, but something is going on. My 2 fosters seem to not be reacting to their insulin anymore. Both were getting quick reductions, one was at 0.25. I've increased twice with no luck in bringing their numbers down. I've switched prozinc vials. I've switched fancy feast flavors, then to friskies, no luck. Both just keep going up. One has 0.3 ketones on a blood meter because he's in the 350s now! He was in the 150-200 range a month ago. I have Lantus and u100 syringes on hand so I'm shooting 0.75 to jekyll and 1.75 to jasper in 5 hours. I will update with their preshots. I just feel so defeated right now.
 
Sometimes cat pancreas healing slows down. I've seen more than one kitty get down to low doses, healing stalls out, then the caregiver has to go back up in dose again, sometimes to the peak dose they had before. Then turn around and come down the dosing ladder again.

Jekyll doesn't look like he earned a reduction down to 0.25 units. Even on 0.5 units he stopped seeing nadirs in the 90-149 range. Then the dose got held so long that glucose toxicity set it. Which means his body got used to higher numbers. The solution is to keep increasing (as per dosing method) until the glucose toxicity is beaten down with enough insulin. Are you giving the 0.75 units of Lantus or Prozinc?

I don't see the doses that you've been giving Jasper for the last few weeks on the spreadsheet. Other than the one NS. So can't comment on him. He did get to the 90's on some dose on May 8th.
 
Sometimes cat pancreas healing slows down. I've seen more than one kitty get down to low doses, healing stalls out, then the caregiver has to go back up in dose again, sometimes to the peak dose they had before. Then turn around and come down the dosing ladder again.

Jekyll doesn't look like he earned a reduction down to 0.25 units. Even on 0.5 units he stopped seeing nadirs in the 90-149 range. Then the dose got held so long that glucose toxicity set it. Which means his body got used to higher numbers. The solution is to keep increasing (as per dosing method) until the glucose toxicity is beaten down with enough insulin. Are you giving the 0.75 units of Lantus or Prozinc?

I don't see the doses that you've been giving Jasper for the last few weeks on the spreadsheet. Other than the one NS. So can't comment on him. He did get to the 90's on some dose on May 8th.
I apologize for slow updates on the SS. I've been catsitting. I have to sit down and update the chart. However I am dealing with the start of a hypo. Jaspers had 1.75 Lantus PS 258. +2 was 138 fed low carb, +2.5 126 fed a tablespoon med carb lickable treat.
 
Sometimes cat pancreas healing slows down. I've seen more than one kitty get down to low doses, healing stalls out, then the caregiver has to go back up in dose again, sometimes to the peak dose they had before. Then turn around and come down the dosing ladder again.

Jekyll doesn't look like he earned a reduction down to 0.25 units. Even on 0.5 units he stopped seeing nadirs in the 90-149 range. Then the dose got held so long that glucose toxicity set it. Which means his body got used to higher numbers. The solution is to keep increasing (as per dosing method) until the glucose toxicity is beaten down with enough insulin. Are you giving the 0.75 units of Lantus or Prozinc?

I don't see the doses that you've been giving Jasper for the last few weeks on the spreadsheet. Other than the one NS. So can't comment on him. He did get to the 90's on some dose on May 8th.
Now for jekyll he did hit 89 so I went down to 0.25. Husband didn't update that, we were on vacation when it happened and although it's a borderline reduction I did it to be safe. I bring them with me for vacations for this reason lol. Jekyll is currently on Lantus now as of 14.5 hours ago. 0.5u. Jekyll PS 250 +2 253 ish? Balancing the hypo of jasper rn so I'm a little off currently
 
Back
Top