Maisy-129

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathyh

Member Since 2011
Restarted monitoring at 5:30am. BG 129. Will monitor her every hour or two. Normal shot time is 7:30 am & pm. I fed her 1/2 can of Cowboy Cookout after test. Will check again at 6:30. I can tell she's doing much better, she's no longer skin and bones. I went shopping yesterday and bought a variety of low carb canned foods from Binkey's list to add to the few I had before.
 
Kathy,

You are PZI, right? What dose are you giving? I seem to remember you started at 2 units and got another low amps, and a hypo number before. Is that right?

With PZI, the low amps means you need to lower your dose. The insulin is lasting longer than 12 hours and she may have gone down quite low overnight. I know you had to feed her, but the food can increase the bg levels. We want to be sure we are shooting a "real" number, not a food induced number. And with your earlier hypo, we want to be careful.

What number are you seeing now? How long after feeding? How long after your normal amps?
 
Yes, I'm using PZI. We have stuck with .5 since wednesday 2 times a day. I did her 7;30 .5 unit , I know the number was high at 7:30 because of food. I want to stick with the .5 all day today, to really see where we are with that. I'm amazed at how much better she looks already. She is totally on wet food. I was doing a mix of home and canned. But for today and maybe more often, we'll stick with the low carb wet foods from the lists. She gobbled down the Cowboy Cookout and seemed to really like the TurDuCkin. I have been doing four tiny feedings through the day/night (usually hoping she'd eat 1/2 can, sometimes she only nibbles or eats a 1/4 but that's ok by me and I was thinking smaller portions spread out would be easier on her system than two big meals.
 
The food sounds great. Love the small frequent meals - good idea.

I am a little concerned if you gave her .5 units last night and got the low preshot number this am. Did you gave her .5 units again this am? If so, I would definitely do some testing today - maybe every 2-3 hours if possible. I am concerned that she may go low today as she got such a long duration out of .5 units last night. If you get a number around 50, feed her regular low carb. If you get a number around 40, feed her some high carb and come on for advice.

You have dealt with low numbers successfully before - if they happen, you will be fine. I am thinking your kitty may be responding very well to the diet and may not need insulin for long (anti jinx) This would be wonderful, but it makes your job harder. You get to learn about diabetes - the hardest part of this journey - and you get to learn how to possibly get your kitty off the juice with small doses - the second hardest part - all at the same time!
 
Hi Kathy,
Just wanted to stop in and say hi.
My cat Asher and I have been coming to FDMB for about 3 months now. We are using ProZync also.
Great job on the food switch. Sounds like Maisy is really responding well to the food.
Let us know how you are doing today when you test. More data helps everyone advise you what might work best for Maisy.
Here's some good vibes for some good and safe numbers today.....
Donna
 
Good so far :) glad you are checking in.

I see ur from MD. My partner Tom grew up in Bethesda :)
 
Hi Kathy! Good job with the testing---with potential hypo numbers that is SO important. I am having a little difficulty reading your spread sheet and wanted to clarify something--the numbers at the top (+1, +2, +3, etc) are the number of hours AFTER an insulin shot. (the use of the "+" sign signifies that insulin has been given and this is the number of hours after the given dose).
Great that your kitty does not need much insulin and has you watching over her!
Keep posting and asking questions, we like being able to help.
 
Also wanted to say that many of us do what we call free feeding (leaving food available at all times). We find our cats often use food to regulate themselves when they are in danger of going too low. Also, as you pointed out, it's easier on them to have small more frequent meals.
 
So glad that Maisy is already feeling better! I noticed the same thing with my cat Max. Once I got his BG under control, he was like a new (much younger ;-) ) kitty. Keep checking in and let us know how Maisy does on the .5u today. You may end up needing to drop her dose even more. When I changed to feeding Max only low carb wet, over about a week his insulin need kept going down (4u to 1u to .5u to .2u), and, as Sue mentions, he eventually went OTJ (into remission and no longer needs insulin). The interesting thing with cats is that, if you get them into normal numbers for a period of time (40-120), their pancreas can sometimes heal and start working again. Anti-jinx! But this may be where Maisy is headed (paws crossed), since she seems to only need a low dose. Keep testing as this will help you know what is happening. Feel free to check out Max's spreadsheet in my signature if you want to see how his dose went down. He was on PZI too.
 
Welcome Kathy and Maisy!

Wow, you guys are doing great with 0.5u! Maisy is so lucky to have such a devoted mama bean! cat_pet_icon

Up until my Harley got pancreatitis we were micro-dosing at between 0.10 and 0.25u. If you need to go below 0.5u (and the way Maisy's going, you might need to soon :RAHCAT ) it can be done using U100 syringes and a conversion chart.

Using U100 Syringes and Conversion Chart

You might want to check out Harley's SS for the date range 2/18-3/17/11 for some examples. But every cat is different and not all respond to the same insulin and the same dose in the same way.

I too do a modified free-feed with feeding my two kits 4-5 times a day about 1/2 can of FF each. My civvie, (non-diabetic cat) Princess, scarfs everything all at once while Harley my sugarkitty grazes his meals. I leave the uneaten food on a tall dresser so he can get to the food and regulate himself if he feels he's getting too low.

Wishing you both safe and happy blue-green surf today!
 
Hi Kathy,

I also just wanted to say, "Hi". My cat, Kitty & I are using pzi also. We have run into some bumps in the road-- but let me assure you that there is a wealth of knowlege here. I don't have a lot of advice, as I am new at this also. It is great you are hometesting! Best of luck -- it looks like you are doing great.


Kim & Kitty
 
Re: Maisy-129-THrilled

I have two lines dated today. The first documents from 5:30 am to 7:30am. The second line is from 7:30am shot to present.
I think this has been a darn good day! 133 at 2+; 124 at 4+; 181 at 8+; 126 at 10+.
On the top line the 315 was at her normal shot time and having eaten twice: 1/2 can Cowboy cookout; 1/4 can TurDuCkin.
:RAHCAT flip_cat
 
Lovely numbers! What happened between 181 and 126? Did she eat?

You don't want to shoot a number that is going down, not up. Please be sure to ask about the pm dose.
 
I was away from the house longer than I thought I'd be. Asked my daughter to do test. Didn't see if written down, but that's what came up from memory. I think it might have been an average, and not a real reading, since she told me later when we caught up with each other that she didn't think she got a reading.
 
Very nice #'s today on the .5u. When you have a chance, let us know what the pm pre shot was. Helps to know where maisy ended up at the end of the 12 hr cycle.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top