Eric Johnson
Member Since 2021
Hi everyone, I am brand new to having a diabetic cat (and this forum) so please excuse any formatting issues I have.
I started giving Oscar Lantus using the SLGS last week at 1U. After a few days and some high numbers my vet recommended going up a dose and I started giving him 1.5U @ ~7AM/7PM. He quickly got down to what I believe are very good numbers (70+ with a human meter). I was reading last night that for a new caregiver, I should be trying to maintain BG at 90-150. This morning, his AMPS number was 70 so I delayed his shot and kept checking @ 2-3 hr intervals. So far he is at AMPS -70, AMPS+3 - 71, AMPS+5 - 91, and AMPS+8 - 91. I plan to check at PMPS to see if he has gone up. He is also eating like normal.
My question is, with Lantus, is this to be expected and should I have given him is AM shot even with a BG of 70? I am assuming he will hit some level of steady state regulation and by skipping a dose, am I essentially destroying that steady state and a bounce is to be expected? I was thinking about reducing his dose to 1.25U.
Thanks everyone and this has been a massive help with Oscar's recent diagnosis.
Oscars SS
I started giving Oscar Lantus using the SLGS last week at 1U. After a few days and some high numbers my vet recommended going up a dose and I started giving him 1.5U @ ~7AM/7PM. He quickly got down to what I believe are very good numbers (70+ with a human meter). I was reading last night that for a new caregiver, I should be trying to maintain BG at 90-150. This morning, his AMPS number was 70 so I delayed his shot and kept checking @ 2-3 hr intervals. So far he is at AMPS -70, AMPS+3 - 71, AMPS+5 - 91, and AMPS+8 - 91. I plan to check at PMPS to see if he has gone up. He is also eating like normal.
My question is, with Lantus, is this to be expected and should I have given him is AM shot even with a BG of 70? I am assuming he will hit some level of steady state regulation and by skipping a dose, am I essentially destroying that steady state and a bounce is to be expected? I was thinking about reducing his dose to 1.25U.
Thanks everyone and this has been a massive help with Oscar's recent diagnosis.
Oscars SS