made a change

Status
Not open for further replies.

mimi4neeyah and Loki

Active Member
I have decided to have give Loki 1 1/2 units 2x per day, started yesterday and he seems to be so much better, no high #'s just around 300.Also no more crazy low #'s. I am trying to get him around 200 from everything I have read here and the great advise I have had from here it will take time, no more jumping around with his insulin levels every day, will see how his numbers for a week and see how it goes.
 
I like your plan. With a newly dx'd kitty it usually is best to start low and stay consistant with the dose so you can see how the insulin works for him. Once you determine where nadir is, and your PS's are staying pretty even then you can start making adjustments accordingly.

Unless of course you get lower PS's, then adjust down. Are you testing for ketones?
 
Sounds like a great plan! Keep in mind, if Loki heals enough to start making insulin on his own, you may need to keep dropping the dose down. Getting as many mid-cycle numbers as you can will help you monitor. :smile:
 
Had a reading of 85 this AM at 8:30 waited and fed him and re-checked at 11AM he was at 526. Fed him and gave him 1 1/2 units now at 2PM he is at 424. Will adjust his SS right now. Thanks for being there for him.
 
Wow! It looks like the 1.5 is too large a dose too. (When you get a low preshot, it is a sign to reduce. The dose caused a long cycle and probably he went low overnight.) I think the next cycle is a wash since you shot late and the higher amount. But for the next shot, I would reduce to one unit and try that for awhile.

The next time you get a low preshot, wait 20 minutes without feeding and retest. If you can, "chase" the number until you get to 200+ and shoot, but a lower dose.
 
What was his PMPS last night, it's not on your ss.

He must have gone pretty low last night to have bounced that high in a few hours.
 
Sorry did not notice that I had not updated his evening time on the SS, just did now, also will be checking him again at 11 PM since he got his last shot at 11AM today.
 
Thanks for updating. I'm glad you went with 1 unit. I would stay with that for now unless you get another low low nadir or longer cycle, then reduce more.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top