Maddie's glucose curve from today

Status
Not open for further replies.
That is good data. So, what it tells me is that the one unit is a little too much. She is continually dropping (where did that 162 come from? Did she eat then?). I am wondering if your pmps will be a bounce or too lowmto shoot. We generally suggest not to shoot under 180/200. If she is lower than that, stall. Wait 20 minutes without feeding (which would artificially raise the number) and then retest. You want to be sure she is rising, not falling and nearer that 180/200.

I think I'd lower the dose just a little - maybe 0.75 if you can measure that - for those pink preshots. And for the 180/200 and yellows, maybe a skinny 0.5 (pull up 0.5 and let out a couple drops)

Lots of people here use U100 needles (1/2 unit measures) and the conversion chart. It makes it lots easier to dose tiny doses like 0.1/0.2.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/insulin-conversions.htm

The good news is that just one unit brought her down over 50%. Now to tweak the dose.
 
Yes she had a little lunch so I think that's where the 162 came from. I'll decrease her dose. I'm not giving her any tonight.
 
Huh...well that is an odd cycle I must say! It's interesting that she went up at +8 and back down at +11. Not that much difference in the numbers though, so with the normal +/- 20% variance, they're basically the same thing. What that tells me was that the dose of 1 unit was too high. It didn't bring her to an unsafe number at all, but she surfed along pretty much all day. What's interesting is that she had 0.5 yesterday on practically the same number, and you got a shootable PMPS...

Remind me, do you have u100 needles and the conversion chart? Or do you use the u40s? I ask because I'm thinking maybe you should try splitting the distance. Give like 0.75 on those pinks to see if that will bring her down but not keep her low so long. It's hard to tell you what to do for sure. We don't know what happened yesterday. I mean, she was perfectly safe, but I wonder what her nadir was, since honestly, she had a nice PMPS.

Anyway, it looks like she may not be high enough to shoot tonight. That's okay, it's all data gathering! You did a GREAT job with the curve today and it did give some valuable info. :)
 
So I cross posted! Lol sorry I got a phone call in the middle of typing and didn't see Sue's response or I wouldn't have been so wordy in my explanation. :)
 
Huh...well that is an odd cycle I must say! It's interesting that she went up at +8 and back down at +11. Not that much difference in the numbers though, so with the normal +/- 20% variance, they're basically the same thing. What that tells me was that the dose of 1 unit was too high. It didn't bring her to an unsafe number at all, but she surfed along pretty much all day. What's interesting is that she had 0.5 yesterday on practically the same number, and you got a shootable PMPS...

Remind me, do you have u100 needles and the conversion chart? Or do you use the u40s? I ask because I'm thinking maybe you should try splitting the distance. Give like 0.75 on those pinks to see if that will bring her down but not keep her low so long. It's hard to tell you what to do for sure. We don't know what happened yesterday. I mean, she was perfectly safe, but I wonder what her nadir was, since honestly, she had a nice PMPS.

Anyway, it looks like she may not be high enough to shoot tonight. That's okay, it's all data gathering! You did a GREAT job with the curve today and it did give some valuable info. :)
I use u40's
 
If you want to try the smaller dosing and you have a walmart near you Sarah you can get some U100 syringes from the pharmacy. The ones I got are ReliOn brand, 3/10ml 30g and it was $13 for a box of 100. Much easier to tweak doses with them. The lady at the pharmacy asked me for "proof of need" but luckily the pharmacist recognized me from some questions I had asked her when I started down this road. She did say if i brought the box or flap from the box of Prozinc that would satisfy anyone else that asked for proof.
 

Attachments

  • tmp_29560-20160521_192147-254231596.jpg
    tmp_29560-20160521_192147-254231596.jpg
    44 KB · Views: 80
The u100s are helpful. I switched to them at one point and was really pleased. Especially since you are already on such a small dose, it would help a lot for you to be able to tweak the dose more specifically.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top