Maddie's Diabetes Diagnosis

Status
Not open for further replies.
I don't know anything about how prozinc works so I can't help but I would put help with prozinc dosing in your subject bar and a ?. Diet change can make a huge difference.

There is a prozinc forum and I just posted for you there.
 
Your numbers look safe at 2 units. The important thing to do now is to get a number 5-7 hours after the shot so you know how low the dose takes her. We want them above 50 on a human meter and 68 on a pet meter; below that is approaching hypo territory. Once you get some numbers and know where she is mid cycle, then you'll know whether to slowly start increasing the dose or to decrease it. In general, we think a cat is regulated if they are in the mid 200s for preshot and in the low 100s or double digits for nadir (the lowest point). Once you get her there, then you can make small adjustments to get her into lower, but safe, ranges.

The protocol we put together for ProZinc is in my signature in blue. It may help.
 
Sorry, I don't know enough about Prozinc to offer dosing advice, but I see you're in excellent hands with @Sue and Oliver who definitely has the experience you need to help you figure out the best dose. :)
 
How's she doing with the bladder infection Sarah? Is she done with the antibiotics and has she been rechecked?
The bladder infection is gone. The vet rechecked this past saturday and it cleared up and she also checked for crystals and she didn't see any. We are going to check regularly though because she hid this last one from me for awhile apparently. I was so upset because we moved within the last year so when we moved I set her up with a new vet that I thought was good but I called them and said my cat is peeing blood, won't come out of the box and she won't stop crying. Literally there was blood smeared all over the side of the box, the bathtub had blood in it, it was awful. They said "well can you get a urine sample and bring her TOMORROW EVENING!" I said again she is in a lot of pain, can't we do something today and she said no. I ended up calling her old vet who was 45 minutes away and we went there. I was so mad at that vet. Now I found a new one close to home that I really like. She calls me every other day now to check on her BG and she how she is acting. She now suggested feeding her 6 small meals a day to help regulate her BG. She said some diabetic cats just don't do well on feedings twice a day. I ordered an automatic feeder so we are going to give that a try too.
 
I like the sound of your new vet. I'd have a number of choice words for the vets who did not respond to Maddie's distressing state. (I lost my Tara for having a vet like that but not knowing enough/not being assertive enough. :( )

I'm very glad to hear that Maddie's bladder infection has cleared. Sending her some scritches.

:bighug:


Mogs
.
 
I like the sound of your new vet. I'd have a number of choice words for the vets who did not respond to Maddie's distressing state. (I lost my Tara for having a vet like that but not knowing enough/not being assertive enough. :( )

I'm very glad to hear that Maddie's bladder infection has cleared. Sending her some scritches.

:bighug:


Mogs
.
Oh yes. I did give them a call the next day. The other vet hospitalized her and kept her overnight. I called that vet the next day and told them she was hospitalized and I wanted her bloodwork from November faxed to the vet she was at and the lady said "well only the doctor is allowed to use the fax machine and she is in surgeries all day".

Are you kidding me? That is the worst excuse ever. Then she said "so I'm assuming you're not bringing her in here today" and I said I won't EVER be bringing her there ever again so you can remove her file.
 
iu
 
I REALLY wish that every vet and even the ones currently in school, would read the posts on this message board regarding vets. Maybe some of them would change their attitudes!

I'm so lucky to have a 2 good vets in the same office. The new one, Dr. Britt, has spent extensive time learning about FD and prides herself in learning all she can. They both listen to me and take my suggestions and opinions into account.

So glad you kicked your old vet to the curb!
 
Oh yes. I did give them a call the next day. The other vet hospitalized her and kept her overnight. I called that vet the next day and told them she was hospitalized and I wanted her bloodwork from November faxed to the vet she was at and the lady said "well only the doctor is allowed to use the fax machine and she is in surgeries all day".

Are you kidding me? That is the worst excuse ever. Then she said "so I'm assuming you're not bringing her in here today" and I said I won't EVER be bringing her there ever again so you can remove her file.

This would prompt me to say I will be there in five minutes have my fuzzies complete file ready for me. I've said this before, I've had a similar experience when I "fired" my last doctor. "Only the doctor can give you your test results and you need to see her. Give me my results they are mine."
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top