dustygoddess
Member Since 2019
Hi - My cat Mac - neutered male - was just diagnosed; took him to the vet because there was a lot of pee in the litter box and he was drinking like crazy. He is a big cat when about 18lb vet put him on metabolic diet (which he disliked) and he ballooned to 22lb (he was eating a combo of metabolic and FF Gravy/Pate).
I'm feeling horribly guilty; I feel like I gave him diabetes by making hm too fat.
He was tested at the vet's and his BG was 370. He was put on PZI - 1.5 units. I took away his metabolic and left him to eat FF Pate, which he likes. He was given PZI 1.5 units the first evening, and I was told to test the following day, 6 hours after food/dose.
His numbers look like this (6 hours after):
Day 1 - 323
Day 2 - 222
(He was very drowsy after dosage on day 2 so I called the vet's office and reduced dose to 1 unit)
Day 3 - 273
Day 4 - 333 (was very stressed out during blood draw, threw up right after)
What's happening with him?
Thanks!
I'm feeling horribly guilty; I feel like I gave him diabetes by making hm too fat.
He was tested at the vet's and his BG was 370. He was put on PZI - 1.5 units. I took away his metabolic and left him to eat FF Pate, which he likes. He was given PZI 1.5 units the first evening, and I was told to test the following day, 6 hours after food/dose.
His numbers look like this (6 hours after):
Day 1 - 323
Day 2 - 222
(He was very drowsy after dosage on day 2 so I called the vet's office and reduced dose to 1 unit)
Day 3 - 273
Day 4 - 333 (was very stressed out during blood draw, threw up right after)
What's happening with him?
Thanks!
