Lynn and Kitten BG 66 !!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Katlyn

Member Since 2012
OMG!! Hello everyone. I am in shock today. Kitten's BG 9 hours after her morning Lantus was 66!
My hubby and I wrapped her up like a burrito and did an ear prick.
I was concerned because urine tests today at noon and five pm registered blue/negative for BG! This has never happened since her Dx. In December. She usually averages about midway. Higher when the Lantus is losing potency. This is crazy! Her last Fructosamine a couple of weeks ago was high 300's as usual. I can do up to four pee tests on Kitten daily and everyday and NEVER negative!
The ER hospital where she is treated said to hold the insulin tonight and retest blood in morning. Her doctor will call me.
I do not want to get my hopes up about remission. They say when cancer spreads it can eat the sugar. But Kitten's deep wheeze is better, her Ionized calcium level is now in the normal range and her bloodwork is decent. White cell
Count a little high and liver value a little high. There is also a new med out for asthma/tumors.
So... What do u all make of this? Let me say that I took away her dried food the last few days which is prescription Diabetic Management because she was constipated. She was seen and treated for that. I also for the first time ever missed a couple of days of urine testing. She has been straining in the box and did not want me near her. So.. IDK if it has steadily been decreasing or if this is just a fluke??? She has been as low as 140 midcycle but 66??? Could the dry food be the trigger?
 
Hello Lynn,
Sounds like lots of good things happening for Kitten.
I don't have any answers but I like seeing improvement in all her symptoms.
Paws crossed that its all for good reasons.
 
Hi Rhiannon. Thanks from me and Kitten. The next few days will be interesting. She is going to have to have ear testing done if her urine is reading negative. I wonder what the reading will be tomorow. I looked at other people's SS numbers on the subject lines.. And I do not see any number this low.
 
Normal numbers for a cat are 50 to 120, using a human meter. Is that what you're using? Not an AlphaTrak which is designed for animals? What is Kitten's dose? Is she getting this twice a day? One thing that helps with testing is giving a low carb treat after every test attempt. Then Kitten will start to associate the test with the treat and not so much the poke.
Liz
 
Kitten gets Lantus 1.5 Units twice daily since last December. She has overcome some bad months of GI/ stomach upset due to a med. she had a great past couple of months until 2 weeks ago when she became constipated. Can she go into remission now? I read 2 to 3 months is their best chance for Pancreas to heal. Her BPM have increased also and the asthma attacks have started again. A rough couple of weeks. Now this low BG? I tested myself twice to make sure the machine is not broken. Kitten is also not the type of cat to care about a treat after being pricked. Unless it was a dorito or cheesecake. She has always loved junk food. I am just stunned at what happened today. Negative urine results on two diff brand strips? I ordered more thinking they had to be expired. Then the low BG. And she ate today plus I gave her some FF with gravy JIC.. I am really trying not to get my hopes up.
 
Forgot to add.. I used a human meter. The Relion Confirm Mini i think is the name. I also have a human Bayer contour for back up..
 
Dry food, even the dry foods that are for diabetic cats, are considerably higher in carbs than what is recommended. If you were feeding Purina DM, for example, it is 13% carbs. Most of us feed around 5% carb canned food. Chances are the change in Kitten's numbers that you're seeing are due to stopping the dry food. You may need to monitor Kitten's BG carefully as a result of stopping the dry food.

One word of caution. If you have stopped the dry food and are monitoring glucose primarily by urinary glucose readings, one of the limitations of urinary measurement is that you do not get accurate readings in the low or high ranges. This means that if you are using diastix, the results may not give you an accurate reading of just how low Kitten's numbers are.
 
Yes... It has to be the dry food change. I have a problem now. I cannot ear prick daily..she had yet another attack. I hate givingher that dry food but I know it has kept her numbers up.. So I did not have to worry bout hypo. Now she is prone to constipation and cannot have the dry food .. This is a seriuos crossroad for us. Maybe doctor will reduce insulin. Kitten had a little dry food during the night. I will post her morning BG in a new condo later. Thanks.
 
Lynn --

Decrease Kitten's insulin dose. If you can't routinely test Kitten using a meter and your only alternative is urine testing, then the only safe solution is to decrease Kitten's dose. I'd drop it to 1.0u and try to get a mid-cycle test. Is there any way you can test 4 times a day (pre-shot and a spot check each cycle)? Do what you can. It's pretty routine that people need to decrease the insulin dose once dry food is out of the picture.

It is possible for cats to go into remission at any time. The chances are best the closer your kitty is to diagnosis but it all depends on your cat's pancreas.
 
Sienne.. I am going to try a mid cycle test today. I need to find out what is going on with her BG. She will just have to deal with it. With TLC ofcourse. It is a two person job. I can be with her all day today to monitor her breathing and give her rescue puffs. I have to rub her ear to warm it up otherwise nothing comes out.
Her IM at the ER hospital is back today after a week long conference. She has 72 voice mails but chose to have her tech call me FIRST! The tech is surprised at her low BG readings as she was 104 this morning. They seem to think this can be bad news and means she is bouncing all over the place. Even though I said her dry food has been cut out and she is always even keel with her BG. Her Spec fpl test was normal though that does not guarantee a healed pancreas.
What is interesting is that I was told to start Kitten's chemo drug today and D/C her Atopica( controls coughing). Keep in mind this drug can take two weeks fo full effect which means even more attacks! I tried it last week but stopped it after one dose when I found out her IM was away and Kitten looked worse just after one missed dose of Atopica. No way am I doing a med change now until I get lots of numbers on her. And constipation tx plan is established. Besides.. The tech was saying meds can affect the BG. They do not want to acknowledge the dry food factor? The chemo drug also means i have to use gloves when doing pee tests and changing litter. This makes it harder to catch and test for ketones and BG. So.. I am going to see how her numbers are for this week. I just did a pee test and it is still negative. I am trying to stay calm but I am beyond estactic!!!!!! I am to test again tonight and call ER with instructions about dosing.
 
Morning Lynn,

I had problems with no blood but more I did it with Lucky more the blood started to Flo,he actually comes and waits for me now and will lay there while he is sleeping,Your doing good keep up the good work.
And yesterday Lucky was 47 day before 34 so yes it happens. Lucky doesn't like his lows for long though.
Linda
 
mtncat58 said:
Morning Lynn,

I had problems with no blood but more I did it with Lucky more the blood started to Flo,he actually comes and waits for me now and will lay there while he is sleeping,Your doing good keep up the good work.
And yesterday Lucky was 47 day before 34 so yes it happens. Lucky doesn't like his lows for long though.
Linda
While he is sleeping? Wow. Those numbers are low. Hypo range. But Lucky is on insulin.. So, if I keep seeing more low numbers with her insulin being held.. Maybe remission possible. Kitten's diabetes was pred induced and the IM told me at initial meeting that remission is very unlikely due to her health problems. Plus they said she may die in 6months.. So remission was not my goal. But her life span expectancy has gone from 3 mos to 6mos - 1 year to even 2 years max now they say u never know maybe 3 years. It is frustrating to hear that. Yes.. I am hoping her ears learn to bleed. Do u use the bacitracin with pain relief after?
 
Hi Lynn, I'm still new at this FD,I'm still getting help with the dosing stage,I hope Kitten has a good chance at life, I would focus on all the good and not put so much the months she may have left. I found that ay one of us could lose out furbabies at any time
Such a story for such a little one, Yes Lucky is on Lantus and when he bounces he does it high MOL Yes I use Triple Antibiotic with pain relief but don't always need it,I get blood easily for the otter edge of Lucky's ear he doesn't even feel it now,he tries to itch sometimes I think it tickles.
Just Look at all the remission we have had on here,I'm hoping Lucky makes this list,don't give up hope
the girls on here will get you through anything you need to know.

Good Luck, Linda and Lucky
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top