Luna - new and confused - argh!

Status
Not open for further replies.

fredrika

Member Since 2011
Hi All,

just got an evening ps of 83 for Luna and then she threw up her food. waiting a bit to try again. some soup maybe, just the liquid? any ideas???

i use Rescue remedy as needed for myself and my other pets, but not sure if it's good for Luna/Feline Diabetes....it's the pet formula and the inactive ingredient is Glycerine.

havent' done my spreadsheet yet but
yesterday
5am 300 - 1. unit Lantus
8am 155 no dose
5:30 pm 223, .5 unit

today
5:20am 285 - gave 3/4 unit
5:30 pm BG is 83 and then she threw up her dinner.... any suggestions!???
thanks!!!!

Jen n Luna
 
Hi Jen,

Definitely no shot on an 83 combined with throwing up dinner.

I would hold off on the rescue remedy unless someone posts it would be okay. I am not familiar with it. Not sure of the "sugar" content.
I would try a different flavor food if you have one, and add water to make it soupy. Eating is very important if insulin is a part of the picture.

We need to determine a good "regular" dose quickly, as Lantus is dependent upon a steady dose. Do you have numbers from the day you started testing and dosing all written down somewhere so we can get them put into a spreadsheet?

Carl
 
Hi Carl,

yes, i have them all, i was going to do it this weekend, but now i think i'll get started.

she's had a bit of freeze dried chicken and is showing signs of interest in more food, so i will start again super slow in a bit... then work on excel-ling

thanks for jumping in!
Jen
 
Jen
If you run into problems with the SS, you can PM either me or Sue who mentioned it in yesterday's thread, and one (or both) of us can lend a helping hand. Sometimes it is easier over the phone, and we can go that way if you encounter something we can't fix by PM.

Carl
 
Hey All,

Luna's been getting small bits of food and keeping it down and all is well again.

re: rescue remedy, i'm a big fan, but i'll wait for a time when she doesn't need it for the first time around, thanks for the info!

spreadsheet is now in signature.

her numbers seem higher in the morning, which is why i only gave .75 this morning, but then her pm was in the 80's. maybe to start even-ing things out it should be .5 and .5 ?

she's on Evo wet now which might be making a difference, and i often give a snack at night (more evo or chicken) which might be why the am is higher?

thanks!
 
I don't think I've said welcome so - WELCOME to 'Dancing with Sugar Cats, Upteenth Season'!

WONDERFUL on the eating!! Good job. And a spreadsheet already! Would you please go into it and make it public with 'anyone with the link'? Then WE can see it too.

Hugs and scratches,
 
Jen,
Good job getting the SS in your sig!
But, google docs says I can't look at it. You need to go back there and change the "share" on it to "anyone with the link" option so we can all look at it. Just allow people to "view" it, not edit it.

Carl
 
Squeaky and KT said:
I don't think I've said welcome so - WELCOME to 'Dancing with Sugar Cats, Upteenth Season'!

i love the title! it's so much more upbeat!!! :) and thanks!
 
Yup, its shared. Thanks.

Something to have on hand for upset tummies - plain, 10 mg Pepcid (not the AC, just plain). When there are stomach upsets, vets may prescribe 1/4 of a tablet to help calm an upset stomach. It should be followed by a cc or two of plain water so it doesn't stick in the throat and irritate it.
 
BJM said:
Yup, its shared. Thanks.

Something to have on hand for upset tummies - plain, 10 mg Pepcid (not the AC, just plain). When there are stomach upsets, vets may prescribe 1/4 of a tablet to help calm an upset stomach. It should be followed by a cc or two of plain water so it doesn't stick in the throat and irritate it.

good to know thanks!!!! i think she was just eating too fast.... i broke dinner up into two batches, but shoulda put more like ten minutes between batches instead of two!!!

thanks!!!!
 
If you take a heavy mug or tumbler and set it upside down in the center of the plate, it may help to slow her down.

Are you free feeding, or meal feeding? With 11 cats at large in my place, I free feed to make sure Spitzer always has access to food.
 
BJM said:
If you take a heavy mug or tumbler and set it upside down in the center of the plate, it may help to slow her down.

Are you free feeding, or meal feeding? With 11 cats at large in my place, I free feed to make sure Spitzer always has access to food.

you mean to cover some of the food with the mug?

i try to feed at shot time and a snack (of the same wet food) at half-time if i'm home. it's only her in her "suite" at the moment, so she has no other cats to compete with... yet... :)

thanks!!!!
 
Not to cover the food, just to make it more difficult to get at easily - it slows down the eating and reduces scarf 'n' barf problems
 
Although using it to cover the food isn't a bad idea either. You can break up the meal into "the entree" and then uncover "desert" a little while later.

Carl
 
we pulled some good numbers today!!!! yeah!

208 am

167 mid day

177 pm = no shot, just in case, she's been so low lately
 
Hi Jen,

I just took a look at Luna's SS, and today's curve looks great! This is just my opinion, but I think it would be a great idea to hold that dose for 3 or 4 days (assuming the numbers stay consistent).
Her dosing so far has been inconsistent, and a key to lantus is consistency on dose and on shot timing. .25 is a very low dose, which is not a problem. But it will take several days for her to settle into a dose and you will then get to see what sort of numbers you are getting, and if any patterns emerge in her data.

Feel free to ask any questions that come to mind, and post her numbers (or add them to her SS as you get them) in Health for a little while. Eventually, once you are comfortable, it might help to "migrate" to the Lantus forum. But I think that with Luna, you may not have your dancing shoes on for too, too long.

Carl
 
Jen
Looks like we posted at the same time!
On tonight's dose.... as I mentioned, lantus dosing is best if kept consistent. I worry that if you skip too often, she will never settle into a dose. If you can, and agree of course, a small dose like .25 tonight would be better than skipping completely.

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top