Kristen ardito
Member Since 2023
Hi Everyone,
I haven't posted in a looonnng time. The good news is, that's because I've learned how to mostly manage Luke's diabetes using the guides and advice I've gotten on these forums.
About 1.5 months ago, I started him with a new vet and this vet was fairly knowledgeable
about Feline diabetes (at least she said she would always go with Lantus and not Vestulin). There was one topic that she diverged however - and that was on how to get him into remission.
Her advice was because he was so bouncy (she kept using the Somogyi effect word), that I wasn't doing him any favors by continuing to increase and decrease his dose so frequently. I was following Tight Regulation from about May - Beg of Nov. She said that if he goes below 90 mg that I need to reduce, and if he ever goes below 50 mg that I need to skip the next dose.
She said that the reason to skip was because his body is trying to produce insulin on it's own and by my continuing to give him doses, it never learns how to make it and increases the odds that he will be on insulin forever. She said she's gotten many cats into remission and it's critical to understand that cats that go that low are trying to tell us something.
I was curious if this is true, what you all think and how to proceed given that this morning he had 53 (Freestyle Libre) and 49 with Freestyle Lite.
Previous thread: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/luke-8-28-amps-hi-1-hi-3-361-6-374.280945/#post-3098520
I haven't posted in a looonnng time. The good news is, that's because I've learned how to mostly manage Luke's diabetes using the guides and advice I've gotten on these forums.
About 1.5 months ago, I started him with a new vet and this vet was fairly knowledgeable
about Feline diabetes (at least she said she would always go with Lantus and not Vestulin). There was one topic that she diverged however - and that was on how to get him into remission.
Her advice was because he was so bouncy (she kept using the Somogyi effect word), that I wasn't doing him any favors by continuing to increase and decrease his dose so frequently. I was following Tight Regulation from about May - Beg of Nov. She said that if he goes below 90 mg that I need to reduce, and if he ever goes below 50 mg that I need to skip the next dose.
She said that the reason to skip was because his body is trying to produce insulin on it's own and by my continuing to give him doses, it never learns how to make it and increases the odds that he will be on insulin forever. She said she's gotten many cats into remission and it's critical to understand that cats that go that low are trying to tell us something.
I was curious if this is true, what you all think and how to proceed given that this morning he had 53 (Freestyle Libre) and 49 with Freestyle Lite.
Previous thread: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/luke-8-28-amps-hi-1-hi-3-361-6-374.280945/#post-3098520
