Luke 107 AMPS, +1.5 48, +3 83, +6 164, +9 168

Kristen ardito

Member Since 2023
Previous post for continuity: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/luke-potentially-going-hypo-49-pmps-1.279041/#post-3084205

Luke was stubbornly in the high 200s and 300s (if not high) for the majority of the past 2 months. Then suddenly the past week he's had more greens and blues than ever. I reduced him 7 cycles ago (6/30) and while he did have one day where he bounced, he came down quickly and is now throwing greens again today. His AMPS was 107. I shot him anyway knowing I'd be home in case he dropped too low (he didn't).

That being said: I did a 1.5 hour ear prick (Freestyle Lite) and he was 48. Does that automatically warrant a decrease tonight? Or should I stick to 2.25 a couple more days?

I'm unsure how "hard and fast" the rule is if he is slightly below 50, but not for long.

Thank you! Kristen *& Luke
 
That being said: I did a 1.5 hour ear prick (Freestyle Lite) and he was 48. Does that automatically warrant a decrease tonight? Or should I stick to 2.25 a couple more days?
Yes a drop below 50 earns a reduction for cats within a year of diagnosis. Congrats! :-)

Btw, cells with numbers below 50 are coloured lime green.
 
Ok, good to know for next time.

I got this after I went to sleep and had already given him the full dose. He dropped below 50 twice again (and was at 48 AMPS - with Freestyle Lite) so I reduced dose this morning to .75 units (from 2.25). I didn't want to skip dose altogether, but at the same time felt comfortable enough monitoring today after the .75.

So tonight, assuming his BG is btw 150- 200 should I go with the 2.0 units (which would be a .25 reduction from previous)?

Looks like he's getting more comfortable in the 100s and below so I'm so so so so so happy! I never thought this day would come.
 
Back
Top