I would take what your vet says about dosing with a grain of salt. Most vets get about 1/2 day or less instruction on diabetes in school, and that's to cover all species. And they just don't have the experience in specializing in one decease, like we do here. And, unfortunately most vets (like my vet) are used to prescribing PZI or another insulin and do not know that much about the longer acting and shed building insulins like Lantus and Levemir. When I asked my vet for a prescription for Levemir, he asked me how to spell Levemir. I was and probably still am his only client using one of the L insulins.
When you said your vet told you to shoot another 4 units of insulin after you had given 4 units 5 hours before that, I knew he did not know
squat much about Lantus. He could have overdosed your cat so easily that day. And, to top it off, by then telling you to give him his regular 4 unit dose again at his regular shot time :-x You might be able to do that with the other insulins that are in and out of the system quickly, but Lantus builds up a shed (a held depository? of insulin), and your cat could have easily ended up in the ER or worse that day or that night.
Bouncing: I'll try to explain, but then again, I'm not that good at explaining medical terminology. When the kitty's BG goes lower than what he's used to, his liver sometimes thinks it is too low, and then over reacts by spilling a glucose like hormone into his system to get his BGs back up to high numbers like he is used to. Bounces often can take up to 3 days (72 hours) to clear. So, if say Lucy had a BG of 60 one day (which is actually a safe and nondiabetic number), and she is not used to being in that low of numbers, her liver may try to "save" her and spill a bunch of this stored up "life saving" glucose hormone. If the next tests are sky rocketing upwards and she has high BGs for a day or two or three after that 60, then she is just bouncing from the low number, and you should just wait it out, for the 3 or so days, before considering giving a dose increase. If you
freak become extra concerned when you see those higher numbers, and then give her a dose increase because of that concern, without waiting for the bounce to clear from her system, then when the bounce does finally clear, she might go even lower the next time because of the increased dose. If you did do that, and when she cleared the bounce, she went to 40 the next time, she may bounce even higher than the first time. It's just a way the body helps itself.
I know a
little lot about bouncing because J.D. is the King Of Bouncing. I just don't know all the technical jargon.
I hope that helps. I'm sure you can find some more info on it over in the Lantus forum stickies, when you have a chance to read them (which I highly recommend you do, even if just a little bit each day).
One thing we do on the Lantus forum is recommend attaching a link to your last condo, into the first post of your new condo. That way the person posting has to go looking for their last condo (and read the unread replies, hopefully) in order to do the copy and paste of the URL address, AND, the people reading your post can easily click that link to see what happened and what was advised the day before.
Let us know if you have more questions. Maybe someone else can explain the bouncing part better than me ;-)
Hope you have a good weekend
