123joan
Active Member
First post the entire month of December!
My friend, RN, owner of 7 horses (my horse lives at her farm), 5 dogs, and 5 barn cats graciously took care of Lucy for four full days and three nights, my husband and I were able to leave town. What an event. Wow. She sent pictures from her iPhone of the glucose meter readings, and daily reports of how Lucy was doing (marvelously, though she wonders why her numbers stay so high). Complimented Lucy on how good she is about testing and injections. Also what a slob she is with the cat food. To be able to leave for even twelve hours without worrying is mind boggling.
Been home for a week, and I upped Lucy's dose from 1 unit to 1.4 for the past week, and seemed as if numbers were going down a little bit. Then today, a 56 then a 55 a half hour later, what is with that? I had to be gone all day, checked in at +17, she was 451, so I gave her a half unit. I'll test at feeding time tonight, then once more at bedtime, but I guess I should wait until tomorrow's regular schedule to shoot again?
How on earth will I ever ever approach a schedule? I just didn't want to leave her with that high number until tonight, but maybe that was the wrong thing to do. I do not do well winging this. In hindsight, I should have just skipped till tonite's evening dose.
If anyone has a suggestion, bring it on.
12/12/12
AMPS 329 1.4 units
PMPS 312 1.4 units
12/13/12
AMPS 229 1.4 units
PMPS 272 1.4 units
12/14/12
AMPS 56, wait 30 minutes, 55 skip
+17 451 .5 units
My friend, RN, owner of 7 horses (my horse lives at her farm), 5 dogs, and 5 barn cats graciously took care of Lucy for four full days and three nights, my husband and I were able to leave town. What an event. Wow. She sent pictures from her iPhone of the glucose meter readings, and daily reports of how Lucy was doing (marvelously, though she wonders why her numbers stay so high). Complimented Lucy on how good she is about testing and injections. Also what a slob she is with the cat food. To be able to leave for even twelve hours without worrying is mind boggling.
Been home for a week, and I upped Lucy's dose from 1 unit to 1.4 for the past week, and seemed as if numbers were going down a little bit. Then today, a 56 then a 55 a half hour later, what is with that? I had to be gone all day, checked in at +17, she was 451, so I gave her a half unit. I'll test at feeding time tonight, then once more at bedtime, but I guess I should wait until tomorrow's regular schedule to shoot again?
How on earth will I ever ever approach a schedule? I just didn't want to leave her with that high number until tonight, but maybe that was the wrong thing to do. I do not do well winging this. In hindsight, I should have just skipped till tonite's evening dose.
If anyone has a suggestion, bring it on.
12/12/12
AMPS 329 1.4 units
PMPS 312 1.4 units
12/13/12
AMPS 229 1.4 units
PMPS 272 1.4 units
12/14/12
AMPS 56, wait 30 minutes, 55 skip
+17 451 .5 units