Lucy...we're BACK!

Status
Not open for further replies.

123joan

Active Member
First post the entire month of December!

My friend, RN, owner of 7 horses (my horse lives at her farm), 5 dogs, and 5 barn cats graciously took care of Lucy for four full days and three nights, my husband and I were able to leave town. What an event. Wow. She sent pictures from her iPhone of the glucose meter readings, and daily reports of how Lucy was doing (marvelously, though she wonders why her numbers stay so high). Complimented Lucy on how good she is about testing and injections. Also what a slob she is with the cat food. To be able to leave for even twelve hours without worrying is mind boggling.

Been home for a week, and I upped Lucy's dose from 1 unit to 1.4 for the past week, and seemed as if numbers were going down a little bit. Then today, a 56 then a 55 a half hour later, what is with that? I had to be gone all day, checked in at +17, she was 451, so I gave her a half unit. I'll test at feeding time tonight, then once more at bedtime, but I guess I should wait until tomorrow's regular schedule to shoot again?

How on earth will I ever ever approach a schedule? I just didn't want to leave her with that high number until tonight, but maybe that was the wrong thing to do. I do not do well winging this. In hindsight, I should have just skipped till tonite's evening dose.

If anyone has a suggestion, bring it on.

12/12/12
AMPS 329 1.4 units
PMPS 312 1.4 units
12/13/12
AMPS 229 1.4 units
PMPS 272 1.4 units
12/14/12
AMPS 56, wait 30 minutes, 55 skip
+17 451 .5 units
 
Ok, so at AMPS she was 56 and 5 hours later you got a 451?

Check her at her normal scheduled shot time tonight and see what you get. Depending on the number, maybe you can shoot a reduced dose on time.
Actually, if you can, get a test an hour before the shot, and another one at shot time. Want to make sure it's rising and not falling.
What time would that be?

Carl
 
Google docs won't load. Frustrating. Need my spreadsheet! Glad to be back! Been so hectic this past three weeks whew. I waited 20 minutes, it was 375, which I interpreted as flat, which is an interpretation I know, so I gave her a reduced dose of .5 units.
 
That sounds fine. I'd check in 2 hours, just to be sure it is going the way we think it will.

It will take a while to get back on track, Joan. Looks like 1.4 is too much. Her preshots the last two days have been fine. Now to get some nadir numbers to see whether she is dropping low and bouncing back up or if she is more flat. Can you get some numbers this weekend?

How lovely you got to get away. I am so impressed with your caregiver - pictures of the readings, no less.

Re the spreadsheet. Have you tried closing down Goggle and going in again?
 
Hey, Joan, checked out the spreadsheet. The 1.2 looks nice so far. Anytime you can get a midcycle is good. (I am curious what happened overnight. She was in the 200s at preshot and only in the low 300s this am. Wonder what overnight looked like.)
 
I'm out of town today and she has the run of the house. All I can do is wonder. Thanks for checking on us!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top