Lucy: I need help. Should I be doing something new?

Status
Not open for further replies.

123joan

Member Since 2011
How long should I stay with this scale? I know, here we go again, I feel as if I need to be doing or changing something. When I look at her spreadsheet, it doesn't appear that she is responding to the insulin. She did drop at +4 last night, but the past three days look consistently pink. I believe if I wasn't giving her insulin, her numbers would be higher after she eats so it must be doing something.
AMPS 370 5:30 am
1 unit prozinc 5:40 am
+ 7 349
Should I be patient and wait a couple of more cycles? Here's our scale history:

Original (higher dose) also used 9/10 - 9/15
200 - 250 .6
250 - 300 1
300 - 350 1.4
350+ 1.6

Revised (lower scale) 9/4 - 9/9
200 - 250 .2
251 - 299 .6
300 - 349 .8
350+ 1.2

September 15- 18 (currently using)
200 - 250 .6
251 - 299 .8
300+ 1.0
 
Hi Joan,
I agree with your thinking. It looks like, short of the 100 point drop you saw last night, that for the past few days, it looks like nothing much is happening.
Sliding scales work for some kitties, and not for others. I know that I thought it was a good idea some time back. Now I'm not sure.
Part of the "problem" that I personally have with sliding scales is that in most cases, the doses are not really significantly different. Yes, the difference between .8u and 1.0 units is 20% of a dose. But looking at it in a syringe, it looks like a couple/few drops to me. I know that some cats are really sensitive to small adjustments. Others aren't. I can only base this on my first-hand experience with Bob, and of course from seeing people's spreadsheets. I used a scale on Bob, but the dose increments were "big". For example, he got 4u if his BG was over 400, and 3u if it was between 300 and 399. That's radical, and not something I would ever recommend you try at home! And he wasn't an "insulin sensitive" cat at the time. Even towards the end, when he was close to OTJ, I was still adjusting .25 or .5 at a time, and he was getting 1u doses on blue numbers. Again, not ever something I would suggest anyone else do.

It looks to me that Lucy's best cycles have come on dose of 1u or more. The only issue you were having is that a lot of times, those doses caused the cycles to run long, and gave you numbers 12 hours later that were a lot lower than she started the cycle on. So you couldn't keep shooting the same dose on a PS number of 159 that she got at AMPS with a BG of 322 (that was on 1.4u)

When I look at yesterday, on 1u, I can only think "not enough juice". But then today, the same dose, on a higher AMPS, gave you little drop, but then gave you a PMPS that was 125 points lower than last night's? Damned if I can figure THAT one out.

It's obvious this is driving you crazy. It would be doing the same to me. The low numbers you are getting defy logic. That one green number you saw? Absolutely no logical explanation for it. The only thing that makes sense is the the PMPS you got after that, due to bouncing and from skipping the shot that morning. That's perfectly logical to me.

I think it might be time to pick a dose and stick with it. That assumes you can test later. IF (big IF) you see a pink number in the morning, maybe 1.2 or 1.4, and see if she shows a drop by +4. I like the .8 dose tonight, and I'd advise getting a test around +4 to see what it does.

Hoping someone else has some ideas...

Carl
 
You are correct, this is driving me crazy. I look at other cat's spreadsheets, and see those tiny increments and they seem to make a difference. Not at our house.
I will test tonight at +4.
But I don't know what I will do with that data.
I am at a loss.
 
Joan,
That's the down side to looking at other people's SS. You see tiny doses, and tiny increments in dosage, and think "why isn't that happening for my kitty? What am I doing wrong?"
There is no "right" way to do this. ECID and all that jazz.
I can tell you that Bob went from 4u doses to zero unit doses over a period of about 5 weeks. Why? I have no idea. He just decided to get better. I haven't seen another cat that went through this the same way Bob did. And Lucy will have "her own way" too. All you (and we) can do is keep trying things to see what works.
Beyond the numbers, how is she doing?
Carl
 
I'm thinking along the lines of Carl, that Lucy is needing a dose to stick with.

While the 1u wasn't enough for most days, she did start to have a reaction to it today. Carl, what would you think of sticking with 1u for a bit? A few more days, anyway. Lucy may be one of those kitties that likes to settle slow (as in takes more than a few days).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top