Lucy dosing...stay the same?

Status
Not open for further replies.

123joan

Active Member
Any opinions about continuing this dose? Is there a pattern developing? I realize we've just been a few days at 0.4. The high +8 reading 327 on 8/4 might be because I had fed her an hour before testing. Could that be the case? I'm calming down, not testing so often now.
 
To answer the question you asked, yes the feeding an hour earlier could have caused the 327, but what's really interesting is that the BG dropped back down three hours later (which "shouldn't" have happened). The food would have worn off in 3 hours, but there had to be some insulin at work too. Which means either the shot hadn't worn off, or her pancreas produced a little bit?
The same thing seems to have happened a couple other times. You have a note that says "dinner" at +10 on the 28th. You didn't test then, but her BG two hours later was lower than it was when nadir was supposedly happening at +6. Then the next day, her BG dropped between +11 and +12 by 60 points. I think you have a kitty with a pancreas that is trying to work right.

Here is something to try if you get a PS test that is below 200 where you wouldn't usually shoot insulin (like on the night of the 2nd). Feed her, and take her BG about 60-90 minutes later. It should be higher from eating. Then wait another 60-90 minutes and test her. See if it's lower. That's what you want to see happen. It means her body is trying to regulate itself. If that is happening, then I think it is possible that you could actually adjust her dose down from .4u, and you might be able to influence her BG more effectively with the timing of meals than with tiny doses of insulin.

Carl

Edit to add - another option might be a "sliding scale" where you adjust the dose based on the preshot readings you are getting. For instance:
If BG between 200-250, shoot .2
between 251-325 shoot .4
over 325, shoot .6?

Not specifically that range or those doses, but that's the general idea I'm talking about.
 
Should I be noting what times I actually feed them also? They eat about four times a day. Breakfast has to go in two rounds, Petey (who's along for the ride) pukes if he eats too much on the first round so it's a drawn out affair.

I will test at the times you suggested if we get a PS test below 200. Then there will be some more data that will confuse me. But I'll be right back for advice.

It has been exactly two weeks since I removed all dry food. Has it been long enough for that to be out of the equation?

The sliding scale sounds interesting. It's almost time for PMPS. Who knows what will happen today!

I still don't have the big picture in my head but I'm trying.

THANK YOU!
 
What do you feel about trying .6? Can you test at like +3 and +5 tonight?

Yes, keeping track (you can put it in the "comments" blocks) of when he eats will help you out. It will explain changes in BG during the cycle, as food usually shows up on the meter within one hour after eating.

Carl
 
Couldn't test at +3. Power outage! Big storms. +4 BG 284
How do I compensate for half hour increments? Round up? Round down? This is the first spreadsheet I've had to maintain or use. I'm leery of messing with the cells....
My plan is tomorrow morning's dose .6
My family thinks I might be obsessing about this. Lucy seems to think it's ok.
 
You can write in any empty cell or put anything in the remarks section.

Yes, it does feel like an obsession at first. You are testing all the time and agonizing over the numbers. To be honest, many people just test before every shot and go along with the same dose for weeks at a time. That will keep the cat relatively safe. But, if you want the chance for remission, it does take a little obsession. Particularly when you are dosing under one unit and getting good numbers, that is the time to be a little more agressive with the testing and adjusting the dose.

Anytime your family gives you grief, just come on line and we will obsess happily right along with you. Or if you feel like it is too much and you want to take a break and just do preshots and an occassional midcycle, we will suport that too.

It's your game to play with Lucy. You set the rules.
 
My family isn't giving me grief. It just seems that I'm always in the kitchen getting some needle or lancet or recording device out, or telling everyone they have to wait while I do this or that to Lucy. They don't even know the half of it.

It is amazing to me that I'm shooting under one unit. Went up a teeny this morning, from .4 to .6, her +7 number is 128, lowest she's been in three days.

I am so fortunate to have to have all of you to guide me through all these decisions. And make me feel somewhat normal even though I'm obsessing.

Is there a chance for remission? It seems like too much to hope for. But I'm doing everything I can for her. She is such a good girl.

Comrades in Kitty Obsession Thank You.
 
Yes, there is always a chance at remission! And obsessing IS normal here. :-D

CArl
 
My DH thought I was obsessing when I bought the autofeeder. He was thinking Kitty will not use it. After the 1st "whirls" and paw slaps followed by full and happy cat, Dh gets enjoyment watching Kitty trot for food. You are in good company here!!
 
The autofeeder seems to be what has really helped Max. That is when his numbers really dropped. I started feeding 6 times a day with it, small meals (1/2 can FF per meal), and tomorrow, we might be celebrating his OTJ party! He hasn't had a shot in almost three weeks! I never dreamed we would be here when we first started this whole adventure.

My co-workers thought I was crazy for going home everyday during lunch to test him. Everyone I told about Max and our diabetes schedule would say something along the lines of, "Boy, you are dedicated! I'd have just let him live out the rest of his life and let it go at that." I felt like you, always with a lancet, stuffed sock, needle and vial in my hands. But it IS possible and now I'm glad that I didn't listen to the rest of the world, including my vet whose treatment plan probably would have killed Max had I continued on it and not found this website.

You can take a look at his spreadsheet to see where we came from and where we are now. You will notice a significant drop in Max's BGLs after starting him on the autofeeder 6 meal a day plan. I will eventually try to see what cutting down to 5 meals a day, then 4 meals a day will do to him, but right now, I'm planning a party! :mrgreen:
 
I wish I could see earlier portions of your spreadsheet, I can see starting 7/9.

I cannot figure out why Lucy's number went UP today at +7.

I just discovered I used my last test strip, off to WalMart. I can't believe I've already gone through a whole box. Glad it's just a mile and a half away. I thought that box was going to last forever.
 
Oh, so sorry...the reason it starts at 7/9 is because I was taking readings, but not posting them in my spreadsheet b/c I have to do it at work and we were really busy. After 50 readings on the monitor, they start replacing the older numbers with the newer numbers. So there is a good lesson. Keep you worksheet updated. Ha! I will go and unhide the earlier data. I don't think it will tell you too much, though, other than we started at a higher dosage and ended up starting over with a low dosage.
 
That's ok, you don't have to do that. How exciting for you, you must be thrilled.

Three weeks, absolutely STUNNING.

How long was Max on insulin?

Isn't this board wonderful?
 
He was on insulin for 3 months. I thought he might be one of the ones that would be hard to regulate and end up on insulin for the rest of his life. You just never know, I guess. The feeder has been a big help, I think. Also, going back and starting him over on a low dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top