Lucy Curve!

Status
Not open for further replies.

123joan

Active Member
I was able to schedule a curve for Lucy yesterday. I wish she would go lower during mid cycle. I got in trouble when I upped her dose a while ago. Just stopping by for some reassurance or suggestions. Happy New Year everybody!
I have to feed these guys at lunch time, if I don't, Petey (civvie) pukes at the following morning. I know it seems bizarre but it's true. Seems that their tummies do better with the three feedings.

AMPS 346
1.2 units ProZinc + Breakfast
+1.5 256
+3 224
+5 254 Lunch Time
+11.5 420
1.2 units ProZinc + Dinner
 
Hi Joan, it's good to see you.

Do you have any idea what brought on that 420 at the end of Lucy's curve? Did she get into some contraban?
 
I have no idea where that 420 came from. No contraband. She was just lolling around on the couch all afternoon. Maybe she was sick of me poking her, maybe she wanted to astonish me. Sure put an explanation point at the end of the curve, right?
 
It sure did!

I see a couple of interesting things in your ss but will let others chime in first since everyone already knows what I'm thinking. :lol: Besides I need to put my thoughts together and make some notes first.
 
i agree that your spreadsheet is interesting. You got nice preshot numbers on the 4th and 5th of January and a nice amps on the 6th. Seems like it would be okay to increase based on yesterday's flat curve, but I know she has thrown you some green preshots when you increased before.

Are you thinking a sliding scale, Robin? Joan, I thought we tried that once - is it the variable doses in September? (Sliding scale = insulin dose scale created just for Lucy, based on previous doses and numbers. Robin is great at putting them together. So you might shoot 1.2 when you get this preshot and 1 when you get this number, etc.) Did you do it and we thought her numbers got wonky?
 
I did use a sliding scale when we were starting out. I used three different ones.

Here are the three I used. I don't think she stayed any more regulated on the sliding scales, I'm looking at my notes back then and it looks like we were all over the place, which is why I went back to regular dosing. I think.
First sliding scale, also used 9/10 - 9/15
200 - 250 .6
250 - 300 1
300 - 350 1.4
350+ 1.6

Revised (lower scale) 9/4 - 9/9
200 - 250 .2
251 - 299 .6
300 - 349 .8
350+ 1.2

September 15- 18
200 - 250 .6
251 - 299 .8
300+ 1.0
 
Yup that is what I was thinking, :lol:

I know you tried it before but when you look at
12/7 amps 268 shot 1u pmps 291 nice cycle.
12/19 amps 320 shot 1.2, +7 186, pmps 316, great cycle +7 is about a 40% drop but then she bounced.
12/21 amps 290 shot 1.2, pmps 310 another nice cycle.
12/30 amps 264 shot 1.2, pmps 284 another nice cycle.
so your range for 1.2u is about 260 to 320.

Every other PS higher or lower with that same dose is off for the cycle.

The other interesting thing is when on 11/14 you gave her that BAM dose of 1.8u, that sure got her attention. She bounced around alot but was seeing some nice numbers. I think I was MIA during that time. What was going on then?
 
The other interesting thing is when on 11/14 you gave her that BAM dose of 1.8u, that sure got her attention. She bounced around alot but was seeing some nice numbers. I think I was MIA during that time. What was going on then?
I gave a copy of Lucy's flat curve (11/12/12) to our vet, she wanted me to try an increased dose. That didn't work.
 
I think it is worth a try - maybe really small gradients, Robin? Lucy does seem to react to very small changes in insulin.

Because she's a cat and unpredictable, I don't think we should assume that because it wasn't ideal once doesn't mean it won't work later on.

The other alternative would be to increase by just a tiny bit more - maybe a fat 1.2?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top