Lucy Challenges again

Status
Not open for further replies.
AMPS 147
30 minutes later 133
Feeding time! Skipping shot.
Should I shoot in an hour if it is rising enough after she eats? Or skip this cycle?
 
Skip and get back on schedule tonite would be my suggestion.
Carl
 
I couldn't read last night's note on my tablet...what was the dose?
 
Since the 1.2u last night gave you another unshootable number at AMPS I think I would go with a fat 1 unit.

I think that the 411 on the 14th could have been a bounce from seeing a lowish number during the night. The dose increase has given you some nice numbers but now she's getting the longer cycles. We need to find a balance. Just my 2 cents.
 
Is a fat 1 unit virtually the same as 1.2? I need a microscope. And a crystal ball JUST KIDDING.
I want to find a balance. It's not coming so far.
I hope my ss makes sense, it's hard to make it readable when we are deviating left and right. Night and day. AM and PM.
 
No a fat 1u isn't a 1.2u. Its 1 unit plus another drop, where do you usually measure the 1 unit, to the top or the bottom of the line? To fatten it up you would go just a hair past where you usually measure the 1u.

Your ss will get easier for you to read as you go along. We used to joke around here about how many pairs of reading glasses we needed to measure a dose :lol: . Some people use syringe magnifyers or calipers to help measure the smaller doses. Have you converted to the U100 syringes with the half unit markings yet, that might help too, if you havn't already.

PS: I hope someone around here finds that crystal ball soon. :-D
 
I'm using U-100 syringes. They do have half unit markings. The famous Reli On syringes from WalMart
 
Those are the ones I used too.

On the conversion chart see what the dose is for 1 & 1.2u and try to measure inbetween the two for a 1.1u.

Also I would look at going with 1unit again after tonights dose depending on what her PS is of course.
 
Hi Joan,

Can you get some mid cycle test over Thanksgiving so we can see what is happening.

Without the mid cycle tests it looks like not enough insulin but we don't know for sure how much she is dropping during the day.
 
Yes I will get back on board. I haven't been able to get home mid cycle. I will be able to get a couple of readings tomorrow. It seems that if I increase her insulin she goes so low I have to skip a dose, but if I stay safe she doesn't go low enough between doses. It's discouraging.

+ 7 or +8 ideal times to test?
 
HI JOan
Welcome, although you have probably been here awhile...I have not been arouind.
Lucy is a beautiful baby!
I wish you lots of luck in getting her numbers down
everyone here is so wonderful and I am sure you are discovering already
Hope to be back soon to get to know you!

Denise and Shakes :mrgreen:
 
Yes Joan, +7 or +8 would be good times to test. If she's having long cycles, and is reaching nadir later than "normal", those times might reveal that.

Carl
 
Happy Thanksgiving! Planning some mid-cycle tests today, and Lucy greets me with a 173. Yes, another typical day dawns.
I will dodge the begging kitties for 20 minutes and test again.
 
Way to go Lucy! Keeping it simple :lol:
I looked at the SS and thought "1u just isn't enough..." and then this pretty blue number, even lower after stalling, slaps me upside the head. ohmygod_smile
Carl
 
Isn't it crazy. !?!
AMPS 173
Wait half hour 157 Skip dose
+18 439

I'm going to have to drive home from Thanksgiving party, test 'n' shoot 'n' feed, it will be a little complicated, but what else is new? I am worried that her number is so high this afternoon. She is all over the place, that little helper of mine.
 
AMPS 173
Wait half hour 157 Skip dose
Feed
+18 439
+23 406, Feed
Fat 1 unit (@ 4:30 pm-early tonight)
 
Well that was unexpected! I guess that she likes this dose after all, just likes to take her time getting used to it.

Happy Thanksgiving!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top