Lucky AMPS 45, 12.2 35

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ceebats

Member Since 2013
I have my hypo kit ready and I just fed him some treats and will test him again in a few minutes. At this point, I am not noticing any symptoms. Very nervous right now
 
Barbara and tuffy said:
Do you have HC? Give some gravy and retest in 20 minutes. Treats take longer to work and stay in the system longer.

Hi Barbara,

I truly appreciate the quick reply.

I realized that I was reading the hypo instructions for the low numbers, and not very low numbers, but I just tested Lucky again and he is at 68 now. Not sure what is going on? It had only been about 15mins between shots when I gave him the treats, so does that mean he was rising on his own?
 
Did you feed him when you gave his shot? I would retest in 20-30 minutes and see where he is headed. He will probably bounce, most do. What is going on? He's a cat and keeping you on your toes. You can remove the 911 and repost it if needed later. Thanks.
 
Barbara and tuffy said:
Did you feed him when you gave his shot? I would retest in 20-30 minutes and see where he is headed. He will probably bounce, most do. What is going on? He's a cat and keeping you on your toes. You can remove the 911 and repost it if needed later. Thanks.

When he got his shot last night, yes, I fed him. I have not given him his shot for this morning and I am wondering if we should skip it?
 
You have 2 choices, a BCS (big chicken shi*) or skip. Have you fed him anything else? If you have fed him that and the treats are causing his bg to rise. I tend to err on the side of caution so I would not shoot this morning. You can consider it a fur shot if you skip.
 
If your shot schedule is flexable enough and can allow for some late shots until you slowly get the shot times adjusted back, I would test again in 30 minutes without feeding anything more and see if he is still rising.
He just earned a dose reduction to 0.50 units.
 
I'm adding to my last post. Only shoot if you are going to be home to monitor and have all the supplies you need. If you feel like skipping that's okay too. If you skip, he just may be a lot higher by PMPS, but that will be temporary and he will come down again. It's up to you. You hold the syringe.
 
Dyana said:
I'm adding to my last post. Only shoot if you are going to be home to monitor and have all the supplies you need. If you feel like skipping that's okay too. If you skip, he just may be a lot higher by PMPS, but that will be temporary and he will come down again. It's up to you. You hold the syringe.

Hi Dyana,

Unfortunately, my schedule is not all that flexible, so I am going to skip the shot for this morning.

And I am glad you mentioned the reduction. I was thinking the same. I had time to test him one more time and he was at 96.

Thank you all for your help!
 
If you are skipping the shot his morning, you can if you want to adjust his PM shot to be earlier if you want to adjust his regular shot time schedule to be a bit earlier that is.
 
I want to emphasize a point and a recommendation. Given your PMPS of 102 last night and the numbers this morning, you have no idea just how low Lucky's numbers went overnight. It is imperative to get at least one test during the PM cycle. This is especially the case if you are shooting lower numbers. This is the best way to be sure you are keeping Lucky safe.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
I want to emphasize a point and a recommendation. Given your PMPS of 102 last night and the numbers this morning, you have no idea just how low Lucky's numbers went overnight. It is imperative to get at least one test during the PM cycle. This is especially the case if you are shooting lower numbers. This is the best way to be sure you are keeping Lucky safe.

Thank you all for your help and concern for Lucky. I think the biggest issues I have are time and supplies.

I can't be at home as much as I would like to so that I can test him especially during the week. But at the same time, even with the lower cost glucometer I have a lot of trouble affording all of the supplies so I find myself trying to ration everything, especially the strips so that I don't run out before payday.

But you are absolutely right, I do need to test Lucky more often and I just need to figure out a way to do so no matter what. He is so important to me, and I do not want to lose him!

My dog Juliette recently passed, and we are certainly not ready for another loss in our little family :(

Thank you all again, for all of your help. The guidance I have received since Lucky's diagnosis has been invaluable.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top