Lucky 10/28 (10/30)

Status
Not open for further replies.

all4mymarine

Active Member
It's been a few days since I've checked in. I keep waiting day after day for things to start looking better. It just doesn't seem to happen. I want to give things a chance. I deviated from the sliding scale maybe once or twice just because I wanted to go with a previous dose that seemed to work on the same PS to see what would happen. Overall though his PS #'s are still too high and nadirs could be way lower. For the most part we aren't seeing at least a 50% drop, some days look okay but it's not consistent enough.

So, question is, stick with scale or increase scale dosage? I have done dose increase trials before and didn't get too great results

Good news though, I'm picking up Lucky's new vial of insulin today. I worried myself to death for nothing. I called and she said, okay, you can pick it up tomorrow and that was it! LOL Sometimes I'm ridiculous!
 
Re: Lucky 10/28

I was thinking of you this morning
glad you can get a new vial
I would hold off on increaseing until after you start the new vial
Sometimes you will see different results
keep usposted

Denise and Shakes
 
Re: Lucky 10/28

Agree. I would wait until you try the new vial. And see what Robin has to say about the sliding scale. Glad your vet didn't give you a hard time. I am always telling myself "99% of the things you worry about never happen, Sue". Not that it keeps me from worrying.....
 
Re: Lucky 10/28

your Lucky and my Callie have a lot in common ! I do a happy dance when callie gets a pink ps ohmygod_smile

I wish I could give you some good advise but I'm in the same boat as you cat_pet_icon we just have to keep trying to figure our babies out :YMHUG:
 
Re: Lucky 10/28

I got the new vial today and used it tonight. It doesn't seem as "watery" as the old one. The old one seems to be not as cloudy, so maybe it was an issue with the insulin? Who knows, we'll find out soon enough.

So today was like this:

AMPS: 362 :-D
+4 256
+6 207
+10 418
PMPS: 483 :shock:

I shot 1.5, same as last night on a 382 PS because I'm pretty sure the 483 was a bounce.

As for Lucky's behavior, he's been sleeping more and I found urine in the carpet downstairs the other day in the same place as before we found out about the diabetes and Lucky was definitely the culprit before so I'm assuming that it was him this time. :YMSIGH: Hoping this new vial works out nailbite_smile

Sue, I will start using your line and tell myself the same thing. Hopefully if I say it enough, I'll start believing it!

And YES, I do a happy dance when I see a good pink PS! lol I say, "Yay! Good boy, Lucky!"
 
Re: Lucky 10/28

Hopefully you will see some different numbers with this vial
If not I guess you will have to go up a little more
 
Re: Lucky 10/28

I agree with everyone else, wait to see if this vial has more ummph, if it doesn't then raise the scale dose by .1u for every level and see how he likes it.

I'm glad your vet didn't give you a hard time.
 
Re: Lucky 10/28

Thanks!

I'm anxious to see what the numbers will be with this new vial! Last night went pretty well.

PMPS 483
+5.5 222
AMPS 366 (30 mins late, it's soooo hard to stay on schedule on the weekend!)

With a PMPS that high, I was happy with that nadir, it was a little more than 50% and he could have gone lower but I had to get to bed.

I shot 1.4 this morning. If I don't see better numbers, I'll do as you suggested Robin and raise .1 on all levels. I'll update later!

Denise...I was reading your post and I struggle with the same thing....lower PS's and flat cycle or higher PS's and better drops. I never know what's going to happen from day to day and which direction to go. Higher dose vs. lower dose.
 
Re: Lucky 10/28

I spoke with my vet yesterday about the lower dose lower preshot vs higer dose higher presot
better drop mid cycle
She said she wants Shakes to see lower numbers so she said higher dose..lower nadirs is better
so I will try that for awhile
 
Re: Lucky 10/28

So about how long should I wait before raising the dose? I'm just not happy with the nadirs. PS's are coming down but nadirs still could be way lower. We haven't seen a green in soooooo long.

Denise...Yeah, I would shoot for lower nadirs too....if I knew how!!! Still trying to figure that one out! We've gotten up to 1.8 before (at 1.4/1.5 right now). To date, the best nadirs (green even!) have been with 1u. So I'm kind of skeptical that a much higher dose is going to work better. Ahhhh, still so confusing.

Oh and Sue, yes, yesterday was beautiful!!! Today is looking pretty darn nice too :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top