Lucian 600+ ....thank you all!

Status
Not open for further replies.

nckitties3

Member Since 2013
:YMHUG:

today's condo

If someone would be willing to take a look and give their thoughts, I'd appreciate it.

Lucian was finally coming down a bit, amid a bounce, for a couple days, then spiked back up today @+6 and pmps.........any idea why this happens? This is 6 days on the current dose, 12 cycles.

Thank you.
 
Re: Lucian 600+ ideas please?

Do you want to post on the tight regulation forum to see if you can get eyes there? It does look like some serious bouncing.

.. Just double checking..

1 no UTI or dental or other infections?
2 you are 100%sure he isn't getting into any high carb food and the foods you are feeding are low carb?

Wendy
 
Re: Lucian 600+ ideas please?

Hi Wendy,
There is no dry food here at all, the only high carb is in his hypo kit and canned. He is on very low carb, not over 4 and what I just bought was 0-1.
There is nothing else wrong that I know of and I can't take him back to the vet with no $$. We're stuck.

Really wondering if the dose is actually too high? I dunno.

I didn't post in TR because I am not able to do the repeated testing that is required to follow the protocol, so hoped someone would chime in over here. I've been hanging in 'relaxed' and keeping up his SS.

Thanks hon.
 
Re: Lucian 600+ ideas please?

Debbie,
You do NOT have to follow the Tight Regulation protocol in order to post in the TR forum. As long as people there are aware that you aren't doing TR, they'll understand that. Put in your signature "SLGS" and that will make it clear to everyone.

The big benefit to posting there is that it is the forum that is the busiest on the board, and everyone there is familiar with your insulin. I know you've been posting in "relaxed", and have been getting some answers to your questions there. But sometimes it takes a while to get answers.

I didn't use Lantus. Bob was on PZI. But I do look at a lot of "L" spreadsheets. Looking at Lucian's, (I'm no expert) it looks to me like he the bounciest kitty I've ever seen. When I look at his PMPS numbers (HI, that's over 600 on your meter?), and then see that he's dropped 300 points or more three hours later, it's obvious that he's responding to the insulin. Too much, most likely. That's a big drop at a time when the insulin should just start to kick it. It looks to me like the dose might be too high? He might be going a lot lower overnight than you think he is. Then some cycles, like the latest one on the SS, he's "HI" at PMPS and the same at +3. That looks like "bounce" to me.

Or it looks like there's something else going on with him that goes beyond the dose of insulin. Something that's keeping his numbers way too high, too often.

I really think you could go back to posting in TR, state clearly that you are following "Start Low, Go Slow", and get a lot of eyes on your kitty from people who really have lots of experience with Lantus. I'm not saying you're getting bad advice here or in the Relaxed forum. Only that you'll get more points of view and quicker responses from people who know what they're talking about if you post there.

Carl
 
Re: Lucian 600+ ideas please?

Thank you Carl, for your insight.

I'm inclined to believe the dose is too high also, along with other members. I'm making that tough decision to drop it and let him even out a little and then see what he needs. I may have started him too high, but had dropped him from 3U to 1U when I brought him home and changed his diet immediately. I probably should have started at .5, hind sight is 20/20.

I'm terribly worried and concerned for him. nailbite_smile

Thanks again.
 
Re: Lucian 600+ ideas please?

I wonder if you skipped past his ideal dose. In TR protocol we only increase by 0.25 for that reason.. but you went from 1 to 1.5 and the HI started after that. Plus at that time you werent getting a lot of night tests in.

Short of there not being any other issues, and a dosing expert chipping in, I'd personally be inclined to drop him down to like 1 unit and start again but increasing 0.25 as per the protocol after that.ie.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Re: Lucian 600+ ideas please?

Agreed Wendy, I think I missed his 'good' dose too and that's what I'm looking for. But I wanted to go just under that 1 unit, in case it was lower due to his diet.

Only time will tell, but like I said, I'd rather be wrong on a low dose, than wrong on a high dose, which I may have been and this gives me the opportunity to see if I can find what works for him.

I was only 24 hrs IN when I settled on 1 Unit, had info, but not enough info :o ........now I have enough to turn my brain to oatmeal! :lol:

I still can't get as many night readings as I would like, but I have been staying up and getting 1 before bed and I think that helps. :smile:

Thanks Wendy!
 
Re: Lucian 600+ ideas please?

Debbie,
If you don't see immediate results from the reduction, don't be surprised. The "depot" will still be affected by the prior dose, and might take a few cycles to readjust downward.

Carl
 
Re: Lucian 600+ ideas please?

Carl, I'd be really surprised to see any improvement in the next couple cycles, but who knows?

Lucian seems to have a mind all his own and couldn't care less what I want! :lol: He IS a cat afterall. :lol:
 
Re: Lucian 600+ ideas please?

nckitties3 said:
Lucian seems to have a mind all his own and couldn't care less what I want

LOL Don't you wish you could get him to read the stickies? My Musette was the same way she absolutely refused to read the manual on how to be a good sugarcat... :lol:

At least with Autumn someone gave her the manual and she read it instead of just eating the pages. :roll:

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Lucian 600+ ideas please?

Lucian just gave me a 242@+6........it may be yellow, but I'm tickled PINK! :-D

I do expect some bouncing around, but hope he continues to show improvement.

Thank you all! :YMHUG:
 
Re: Lucian 600+ ideas please?

Get him to read the stickies????? I can't even get him to answer his email!!! :lol:
 
Sorry Wendy, I neglected to put that in, ohmygod_smile but had it in the comments.

I am so happy that he is getting a little relief today, even if he bounces later. A little is better than none, for sure.

Hopefully he won't bounce too high. Maybe he'll stick a little closer to 'flat' so I can tell what he needs in a few days.

Thanks all! :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top