Luci - BG still high - day 6 or is it day 4? - Should I increase by .25 ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sue and Luci

Member Since 2017
Luci's numbers still seem high to me. Please see spreadsheet. I was reading the Protocol for Tight Regulation - and the suggestion there is 'Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days ' -

The very first dose I gave her was 2 units, as I didn't know what I was doing - just following vet recommendations; gave her the insulin as soon as I could get it picked up and get home, which turned out to be 12:50 in the afternoon - not realizing that the next dose would be 12 hours after that - did not get up at 12:50 AM to give her the 2nd; instead started the next morning with 8 a.m. and 8 p.m. dosing schedule which we've been able to maintain.

One day dosed at 0.5 units and the following day based on vet recommendation (he wanted to do 2 units all along)...I agreed to give 1 unit. And that's where we've been all week.

SO here's the question - do I start counting the days once we settled on 1 unit? Or do I count all the days she received insulin?

I've already messed up by not 'holding' the initial dose for 5-7 days...so please help me figure out what to do now...start counting from which day?

I really wish I had the wherewithall to stay up late at night and get more BG's but have been sick with an awful cold and then a back ailment...I'm exhausted and just don't have the energy to do more than what we've done this week with all the pokes, recording, insulin administration - it's been a big learning curve and I'm stressed out about getting it right - particularly the times of day we give insulin - so I haven't left the house all week (being sick didn't hurt that effort - I didn't feel like going anywhere anyway)...Poor Luci feels like a pincushion and has had quite enough of me! She looks as exhausted as I feel - napping away on the rug - not far away.

Thank you for your consideration of my question - which day is it anyway?
 
Fantasic job shooting and testing. Any chance you can get a set in before bed in the PM cycle?

I will let more experienced chime in on dose.
 
You’re doing a great job getting tests during the day, the problem I see with increasing is that you don’t know what’s happening at night, the +1’s after PMPS are very useful tests to get, all of the +1’s you’ve had are lower than the PMPS number which indicates an active cycle. Since keytones have been in the picture, you can’t mess around with hanging in too low a dose...we just don’t know how low Luci is going overnight.

Let’s see who else is around. @Wendy&Neko @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Gill & George
 
do I start counting the days once we settled on 1 unit? Or do I count all the days she received insulin?
Every time you change the dose, the count starts over. So she has been on 1 unit for 10 cycles/5 days. Her nadirs are mostly above 200, so I would increase by .25 in the morning.

I know you haven't been feeling well, but if you could manage to stay up a bit longer, or set an alarm and get up around +3 or +4 to test, that would be really helpful info to have. Many cats actually go lower during their nighttime cycle, so it helps in making dosing decisions if you have tests in both cycles. Do the best you can.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top