Lowering Joshi's dose to 2U not very successful

Status
Not open for further replies.

LaraB

Member Since 2015
Joshi had previously been on 3U of Vetsulin for over 2 months - the last two weeks prior to this one, he preshot numbers had been in the 200's, but her mid-cycle numbers were getting way too low (last weekend she hit 45). So, after talking to the vet, we decided to back down to the dose she started out at - 2U. Today, I was able to do a full curve, though the results were as I suspected they'd be. Her preshots we both in the 300's, but at her lowest during the 12 hour period, she stayed into the the 200's. :( Though she had a few PMPS+2 & +3 shots in the high 100's, I doubt they went much lower than that. So...I'm going to try 2.5 this week and see if that gets us to the happy medium. I'm a bit discouraged as I was hoping she her pancreas was kicking in a little more given her downward-trending numbers on 3U.

Given the bout of hairballs all of our cats have had this past month do to them shedding their winter coats - Joshi did work up two during that period, I'm wondering if this was a factor in her lower number before the dose reduction? Plus, with the weather getting a little warmer, all of our cats tend to eat a little more lightly. Did I read a post recently where many people said their cats' BG's tended to run lower in the spring/summer months?

Fortunately, Joshi seems to be acting okay, so hopefully this experiment with 2U's of insulin didn't set her back.
 
Often it works best to change doses in 0.5 or 0.25 increments, and then hold the dose for several cycles, checking each preshot test and somewhere 4-7 hours after the shot. I hope the 2.5 dose will give you some good numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top