Lower numbers than usual the day after a missed AM shot

CalicoEvie

Member Since 2025
Yesterday I missed most (or all) of Evie's morning shot because she was not cooperating. I decided to err on the side of caution and not try again. Later, I had to bring her in for a vet appointment for attaching a new Libre 2 monitor.

When I tested her before her evening shot, she got HI on my Relion meter, so I think I most likely completely missed the morning shot. I gave her evening shot at her normal dose of 2 units, worried about the HI value. At +1 after PMPS I checked her BG again on my Relion and got 574, then at +3 I got 409 so I figured she would be okay and went to bed.

This morning, I noticed she didn't finish her dinner (she usually eats at least half the night before and by morning it's all gone). When I tested her with Relion I got 250 so I gave her morning shot as usual after she ate. However, the Libre 2 low glucose alarm went off at +8 (I set it to 100) so I panicked and tested her with the Relion and got 156. Then I gave her some food because I'm not used to seeing such low numbers with her (I know they are good numbers, but they are lower than usual.) She's also been more lethargic than she has been for the past week. She seemed to be getting back to her normal self until today. I'm wondering if her body is reacting more strongly to her 2 units of insulin since I missed her morning shot yesterday. Would it be unwise to continue with 2 units for her evening dose? Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Also, I've heard it takes the Libre a day to adjust so it's normal for the numbers to be off, but it's been 24 hours and the number is about 50 less than my Relion. Anyone else have the same issue? I assume I should just trust the Relion. The vet wanted her to use the Libre to see trends.
 
Hefe is my Feb 25 comparison of Libre 3 and Relion Premier
Wiggles Feb 2025 Libre BG comparision.png
.
 

Attachments

  • Wiggles Feb 2025 Libre BG comparision.png
    Wiggles Feb 2025 Libre BG comparision.png
    129 KB · Views: 208
Yesterday I missed most (or all) of Evie's morning shot because she was not cooperating. I decided to err on the side of caution and not try again. Later
Never give a second dose if you think you may have given a fur shot.

I can see there were ketones at diagnosis. If Evie is ever lethargic, off food, or in any way not acting normal you need to check for ketones. So I would do that today.

As far as the dose goes unless the preshot is low I would stay with the 2 units.
If unsure, post before the dose
 
Yesterday I missed most (or all) of Evie's morning shot because she was not cooperating. I decided to err on the side of caution and not try again. Later, I had to bring her in for a vet appointment for attaching a new Libre 2 monitor.

When I tested her before her evening shot, she got HI on my Relion meter, so I think I most likely completely missed the morning shot. I gave her evening shot at her normal dose of 2 units, worried about the HI value. At +1 after PMPS I checked her BG again on my Relion and got 574, then at +3 I got 409 so I figured she would be okay and went to bed.

This morning, I noticed she didn't finish her dinner (she usually eats at least half the night before and by morning it's all gone). When I tested her with Relion I got 250 so I gave her morning shot as usual after she ate. However, the Libre 2 low glucose alarm went off at +8 (I set it to 100) so I panicked and tested her with the Relion and got 156. Then I gave her some food because I'm not used to seeing such low numbers with her (I know they are good numbers, but they are lower than usual.) She's also been more lethargic than she has been for the past week. She seemed to be getting back to her normal self until today. I'm wondering if her body is reacting more strongly to her 2 units of insulin since I missed her morning shot yesterday. Would it be unwise to continue with 2 units for her evening dose? Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Also, I've heard it takes the Libre a day to adjust so it's normal for the numbers to be off, but it's been 24 hours and the number is about 50 less than my Relion. Anyone else have the same issue? I assume I should just trust the Relion. The vet wanted her to use the Libre to see trends.

Welcome to FDF, we are here to help you in your concerns, I will tag a coupe of members that can give you advice on Lantus, however I do want to measure that there are several inconsistencies with the Libre, the low numbers will always read lower than the Real BG, be prepared for the sensors to likely stop working before the 14 days, or fall off, as well that on HIGH BGs it will read just that HI, and the high BGs after 465 or more you will only see HI on the monitor, it is great you have the ReliOn, most of the members use the ReliOn, so it is best for you to base the BG on that. Also what you re feeding, even though is "prescribed" is very high on carbs, diabetic cats need to consume a diet of wet can food between 0-10% carbs, most members enjoy the Fancy Feast Pates , in order to help us help you we would like you to create your signature and spreadsheet, below are the links for that also a Drs food list, many brands to choose from, the third column contains the carb %s . and also a carb calculator that comes in very handy. post, no concern is a small concern, we are here for you.:bighug::cat::cat:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/spreadsheets-tech-support-testing-area.6/
NEW FOOD CHART CHECK CARBS/ FF
Cat Food Nutrition Calculator | Elizabeth C Scheyder
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
Welcome to FDF, we are here to help you in your concerns, I will tag a coupe of members that can give you advice on Lantus, however I do want to measure that there are several inconsistencies with the Libre, the low numbers will always read lower than the Real BG, be prepared for the sensors to likely stop working before the 14 days, or fall off, as well that on HIGH BGs it will read just that HI, and the high BGs after 465 or more you will only see HI on the monitor, it is great you have the ReliOn, most of the members use the ReliOn, so it is best for you to base the BG on that. Also what you re feeding, even though is "prescribed" is very high on carbs, diabetic cats need to consume a diet of wet can food between 0-10% carbs, most members enjoy the Fancy Feast Pates , in order to help us help you we would like you to create your signature and spreadsheet, below are the links for that also a Drs food list, many brands to choose from, the third column contains the carb %s . and also a carb calculator that comes in very handy. post, no concern is a small concern, we are here for you.:bighug::cat::cat:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/spreadsheets-tech-support-testing-area.6/
NEW FOOD CHART CHECK CARBS/ FF
Cat Food Nutrition Calculator | Elizabeth C Scheyder
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
I know that dry food isn't good for diabetes in a vacuum but we're trying to tackle all of her health issues so it's hard
 
Back
Top