LOW

Status
Not open for further replies.

SashaV

Member Since 2020
Started on Prozinc today, first shot morning 7h ago.
19.4mmol before
2.7 now.
She's eating acting normal. Gave a bit of honey.
No insulin tonight according to my vet. And only half dose tomorrow.
She got 1,2 and is about 5,5-6 kilo.
What to dooooo?
I'm about to make in my pants.......
 
Just a little-- a few drops. Too much honey can make them throw up, which we definitely don't want. If you have any high-carb food, a tsp (5-10g?) or so of that is another option.

If she's still low, then we just repeat-- a little more honey or gravy, then test again in 30.

Not all cats show symptoms at these numbers, and sometimes a cat will show different symptoms at different times at the same low numbers. And cats can go very quickly from no symptoms to severe symptoms-- this is why we test, so that we know where they are, and what we have to do!
 
Just a little-- a few drops. Too much honey can make them throw up, which we definitely don't want. If you have any high-carb food, a tsp (5-10g?) or so of that is another option.

If she's still low, then we just repeat-- a little more honey or gravy, then test again in 30.

Not all cats show symptoms at these numbers, and sometimes a cat will show different symptoms at different times at the same low numbers. And cats can go very quickly from no symptoms to severe symptoms-- this is why we test, so that we know where they are, and what we have to do!

If she throws up I have drugs for that too. Very prepared. Her blood came rushing out, got literally everywhere

Makes me even more worried that she's not showing symptoms of being too low
 
No 911, and no more snacks, but don't leave her for too long. We want to make sure she stays up, so you should get another test soon-- ideally in 30mins.

Luckily, it is getting late in the cycle, so she should be coming up on her own soon. That helps!
 
No 911, and no more snacks, but don't leave her for too long. We want to make sure she stays up, so you should get another test soon-- ideally in 30mins.

Luckily, it is getting late in the cycle, so she should be coming up on her own soon. That helps!

No more snacks? Mauer does definitely not like you now!:D
I'll test her before I go. I'll just be in the basement to eat dinner.

It feels like I got lucky. Thank you very very much for your help, and support!:bighug:
 
I must have hit something in her ear. Bleeds a lot.
One time it took 2.5 hours to stop the blood - tiny little pin prick can open the flood gates. The walls looked like a scene from CSI. It didn't phase Freckles except the blood droplets tickled her ear as she was flicking the ear and shaking her head occasionally - and usually just as soon as it clotted then she would shake and we'd start all over again. :banghead:
 
One time it took 2.5 hours to stop the blood - tiny little pin prick can open the flood gates. The walls looked like a scene from CSI. It didn't phase Freckles except the blood droplets tickled her ear as she was flicking the ear and shaking her head occasionally - and usually just as soon as it clotted then she would shake and we'd start all over again. :banghead:

Seriously? Omg!!!
 
Testing IS daunting but believe me EVERYONE says that. I did and the next new person, will as well. Trouble absolutely hated testing but we did it anyway. Its the BEST way to see exactly how the insulin is working on their little bodies. I know you feel like you are hurting your best friend but in the long run, I think they sense this has to be done.

Your best friend at test time is treats. Our very smart kitties learn that a poke means treats. Some members kitties jump right up to their testing spot when its time for a poke.
Trouble never did that and I'm not saying Mauer will, but it could happen.

I understand you wanting the sensor type monitor but, it sounds like everything associated with that system is expensive. I suppose if I had all kinds of money, I might go that route myself. But after a while expenses add up. Just sayin.

jeanne
 
Testing IS daunting but believe me EVERYONE says that. I did and the next new person, will as well. Trouble absolutely hated testing but we did it anyway. Its the BEST way to see exactly how the insulin is working on their little bodies. I know you feel like you are hurting your best friend but in the long run, I think they sense this has to be done.

Your best friend at test time is treats. Our very smart kitties learn that a poke means treats. Some members kitties jump right up to their testing spot when its time for a poke.
Trouble never did that and I'm not saying Mauer will, but it could happen.

I understand you wanting the sensor type monitor but, it sounds like everything associated with that system is expensive. I suppose if I had all kinds of money, I might go that route myself. But after a while expenses add up. Just sayin.

jeanne

You are so right, Jeanne!
It's not even possible just a little dream. As long my expenses don't exceed 3300$ in a year it's not a big deal. Insurance for the win!
But you're right. It feels horrible and I know she understands and she hates it as much as I do. But how cool wouldn't it be if some smart-thingy did it for us and put the readings in a spreadsheet!? Everyone thinks the worst part is the shots...but it's the easiest part..
 
But how cool wouldn't it be if some smart-thingy did it for us and put the readings in a spreadsheet!?
It's called a CGM or a Continuous Glucose Monitor. Freestyle Libre is one type. Unfortunately, it only lasts for a maximum of 2 weeks.

Don't know if it enters the data on our SS. Don't think so. You have to do that data entry step manually.

p.s. That 2.7 BG reading was an automatic dose reduction, per our Prozinc protocols used here. Down by 0.25U immediately.
 
It's called a CGM or a Continuous Glucose Monitor. Freestyle Libre is one type. Unfortunately, it only lasts for a maximum of 2 weeks.

Don't know if it enters the data on our SS. Don't think so. You have to do that data entry step manually.

p.s. That 2.7 BG reading was an automatic dose reduction, per our Prozinc protocols used here. Down by 0.25U immediately.

Does it really exist? I didn't know.
I am going down. Only half dose today
 
Mauer may be VERY sensitive to insulin after his low of 49 the other day, 5/13/20 AM cycle.
That 86 BG on 5/14/20 PM pre-shot is yet another dose reduction for Mauer.
So a MAXIMUM of 0.25U dose of Prozinc for Mauer, if he's high enough at his next pre-shot test.

Good thing you skipped the dose of insulin this evening.
 
Mauer may be VERY sensitive to insulin after his low of 49 the other day, 5/13/20 AM cycle.
That 86 BG on 5/14/20 PM pre-shot is yet another dose reduction for Mauer.
So a MAXIMUM of 0.25U dose of Prozinc for Mauer, if he's high enough at his next pre-shot test.

Good thing you skipped the dose of insulin this evening.
I'm new at these syringes there is no 0.25? Could you explain in detail?
 
upload_2020-5-15_17-17-36.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-5-15_17-17-36.jpeg
    upload_2020-5-15_17-17-36.jpeg
    8.8 KB · Views: 200
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top