Low Preshot #

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela and Prince

Member Since 2022
Hello, me again. I posted 2 days ago about Prince's insulin dosing. @Christie & Maverick and several others were helping me. I just got a preshot # of 4.1. I am waiting to feed and recheck the #. Does this mean I decrease his insulin dose to 1.25u moving forward?

Edit: 40 minutes later bg is 5.3.
Edit: 60 minutes later bg is 6.3. I held his morning insulin dose and fed him.
 
Last edited:
Good morning! Looks like Prince is keeping you on your toes. Yes, with that 4.1 (74) you would go down to 1.25u tonight. You could give him 1.25u now if you can adjust your shot times, since you've stalled 1 hour and his numbers are coming up. You don't want to shoot at your usual time since that would be technically 1 hour early tonight. To adjust shot times, you'd shoot 15 minutes early from your usual time each shot starting tonight, until you get back on time, or you can shoot 30 minutes early once a day.

Getting back on 12/12 shot schedule
 
Good morning! Looks like Prince is keeping you on your toes. Yes, with that 4.1 (74) you would go down to 1.25u tonight. You could give him 1.25u now if you can adjust your shot times, since you've stalled 1 hour and his numbers are coming up. You don't want to shoot at your usual time since that would be technically 1 hour early tonight. To adjust shot times, you'd shoot 15 minutes early from your usual time each shot starting tonight, until you get back on time, or you can shoot 30 minutes early once a day.

Getting back on 12/12 shot schedule
So it is now 2hrs post when he would normally get his shot. I can still give him the insulin now but would have to give it later tonight as well?
 
Oh that's a wee bit late, how much off schedule can you be? Ie can you shoot 2 hours late then work your way back to usual shot time as I described above? Yes, you wouldn't be able to shoot usual time tonight. If you can't adjust, then just skip, and shoot usual time tonight :)
 
I can adjust the dosing schedule and work my way back. It's not a problem. I gave him 1.25units and can do a couple random bg cheks today. Thanks again for the support!
Great! Some people don't have a lot of flexibility in their schedule so once they get to around 2 hours late, it is hard to adjust. Glad it worked out that you could shoot. Happy to help, waving to you from Calgary, we just had 10 cm of snow overnight :eek:
 
Just an additional comment - since you needed to stall after that first preshot number of 4.1 (74) could you please record the additional tests in the +11 cell. You would stack the numbers - here is a description:

Sometimes it is necessary to stall at PS if the BG is too low to shoot and tests are taken every 20-30 minutes apart and must be recorded. The BGs are then “stacked” as shown below and, in this case, recorded in the +11 column so the PMPS, which was at +14 can be recorded in the PMPS column:


The above tells anyone looking at the SS that testing for PMPS began at +11.75 but the BG was too low; subsequent testing every 15 minutes occurred until the Caregiver felt the BG was safe enough to shoot at +14.

So in your case, you'd have 4.1 @ 12; 5.3 @ 12.75; 6.3 @ 13 and then whatever number you had when you gave the shot in your AMPS cell which was given at +14. Does this make sense? You'll have to manually enter the data into the US spreadsheet, just multiply your readings by 18.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top