? Low pre-shot number advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ailish’s Brother

Active Member
Good morning, just got my lowest ever pre-shot number at 189, I’m withholding food waiting and will re test, advice on how to proceed?
 
Good morning, just got my lowest ever pre-shot number at 189, I’m withholding food waiting and will re test, advice on how to proceed?
I am so sorry I just saw this, what did you do? I cannot advise on the insulin Glargine for the fact that I do not know the protocol, Corky uses ProZinc and I shoot on 79-80's but it took me a lot of courage and coaching to get this far, when I would see the BG number 150 I wouldn't leave my house, I was so used to seeing yellows and high blue numbers, I thought he would die on me, but it turned out to be that these low greens is where he is supposed to be, his pancreas are healing, again I do not know the protocol for your insulin, but I have read time and time again, not to miss a shot, I may give a few less drops, or do what you did, retest, but 197 is should shoot situation, but please do not quote me on it, until the Glargine expert gives you the correct protocol, it is scary, I know when your eyes are used to seeing all those purples and all of the sudden you get 197, we all learn as we go, thru trial and error, and our Fur babies know we love them, so do not beat yourself up, I am sure one the expert on Glargine will assist you shortly, for future reference:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
@CORKY

Hey, the whole process is on this thread here:

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...mps-189-after-30-min-181.296174/#post-3224834

just cross posted here in cause more folks where up!

I spoke to an experienced diabetic cat owner and ended up giving 1.0 instead of 1.75. Wanted to keep insulin in old girl’s system, while also avoiding risking a hypo.

The deposit is an awesome thing, but can also make it scary sometimes

Thanks for bringing extra eyes to this so I can learn how to proceed next time!
 
Sorry no one got back to you sooner!

With SLGS, you have a few options with a lower than expected pre-shot number:
  • Stall. Do not feed and wait roughly 15 - 30 min. Re-test to see if numbers are rising.
  • Shoot a reduced dose.
  • Skip the dose.
There are pros and cons to each of these choices. It looks like you shot a reduced dose.

How long did your wait before giving Ailish a shot? Remember, your PM dose is due 12 hours from your AM shot. If you need to, you can move the shot either 30 min early once a day or 15 min early twice a day.

With Lantus, one thing to keep in mind is that insulin onset takes about 2 hours. So, you will have given a shot, fed your cat, and you then have a period of well over an hour before the insulin kicks in. Chances are that numbers will rise.

To be honest, I would have shot the full dose at AMPS. Ailish has largely been sitting in numbers that are over 300. You're also not completely new at managing your cat's diabetes. (I know, it still feels really new.) In case you've not seen this post on handling low numbers, it's a useful thing to print out. It's not specific to low pre-shot numbers, though.

I just saw your post above. If you're going to post on two forums, link the posts so we know where to look for information!!
 
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Hey, I waited 30 min, then retested and shot. I’d looked at the SLGS guidelines and they said I could do a dose of 50%~25%, but that seemed really low, which is why I went with the 1.0 that was suggested instead.

We’re also in the middle of cutting her carbs from dry food (slowly switching her and our other cat to high protein, which has lead to so stomach upset, even at this pace) so I wasn’t sure how much that might have played in and played it conservatively.

Thank you for the guidance, and I’ll make sure I make it clearer if I ever cross post again!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top