Low PMPS dosage advice needed please!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Monica
I'm not a dosing expert but since you've tagged me I must just say that this looks like good progress! You've been really patient trying to get Josie's bg down and it may be - let's hope - that the current dose has done its job today in not dropping her too drastically and running out of insulin early or causing bounce. As you know, it's partly a matter of getting Josie used to better numbers - she may have a tendency to be more comfortable when she's slightly higher (remembering the weekend's hypo-like symptoms at a bg of around 10).

So this is an interesting stage. 14 is shootable if you think she's going up but you don't want to give too much and drop her too low at night especially. The more aggressive dosers may say stick to the dose and hope to see some nice blues in the next cycle but I personally err on the side of caution so I think I'd test again in half an hour and see where she's going then... even that short time could make enough of a difference to feel more confident about dosing.

But that's just MHO. Will be interested to see what the others say.

Rooting for you!!
 
Hi Monica
I'm not a dosing expert but since you've tagged me I must just say that this looks like good progress! You've been really patient trying to get Josie's bg down and it may be - let's hope - that the current dose has done its job today in not dropping her too drastically and running out of insulin early or causing bounce. As you know, it's partly a matter of getting Josie used to better numbers - she may have a tendency to be more comfortable when she's slightly higher (remembering the weekend's hypo-like symptoms at a bg of around 10).

So this is an interesting stage. 14 is shootable if you think she's going up but you don't want to give too much and drop her too low at night especially. The more aggressive dosers may say stick to the dose and hope to see some nice blues in the next cycle but I personally err on the side of caution so I think I'd test again in half an hour and see where she's going then... even that short time could make enough of a difference to feel more confident about dosing.

But that's just MHO. Will be interested to see what the others say.

Rooting for you!!
Hello Diana,

I knew you would say you were not a dosing expert, I just tagged you in for your outstanding cheerleader qualities and support!:)

And you didn't disappoint! Thank you!

Noone else seem to be responding and poor cat is getting really hungry now..
 
Yes will do thanks so much again Eliz and Diana!
Around what time would you advise me to test again??
Just in case Eliz has had to go... if Josie's having her dinner now that's going to raise her bg so you should be fine for an hour or two... but probably best to check again at least a couple more times this evening before you go to bed. And look back at her recent ps numbers on Prozinc and see if you can work out roughly when the insulin takes effect...
Paws crossed here that this is all going in the right direction! Good job Monica!
 
Just in case Eliz has had to go... if Josie's having her dinner now that's going to raise her bg so you should be fine for an hour or two... but probably best to check again at least a couple more times this evening before you go to bed. And look back at her recent ps numbers on Prozinc and see if you can work out roughly when the insulin takes effect...
Paws crossed here that this is all going in the right direction! Good job Monica!
Thanks Diana! I don’t think I can do a couple of tests, maybe one if I’m lucky..she was very pissy about the last one and night time ones always been more tricky for some reason anyway..
I appreciate and admire you being so positive and hopeful, unfortunately the SS and those various numbers throughout are still not making sense to me, they are still all over the place since we started in April!? I don’t think I have much hope left in me anymore for anything..
The only good thing is that despite all the high numbers/test results and being diagnosed with two serious illnesses incredibly Josie is doing very well herself and looking very healthy..
 
Hi Monica, I don't really know much about ProZinc, so I can't help much with dosing, but I CAN tell you not to give up hope that the spreadsheet will start making sense! It took me FOREVER to finally get a handle on what Squallie's ss was telling me; then I changed insulins and was right back to not understanding what I was looking at, lol. So now, after another FOREVER (!) I have finally started to understand his numbers on Lantus. So please don't think you will never understand it, the day will come when you realize you do, and it will be a pleasant surprise!:):bighug:
 
Hi Monica, I don't really know much about ProZinc, so I can't help much with dosing, but I CAN tell you not to give up hope that the spreadsheet will start making sense! It took me FOREVER to finally get a handle on what Squallie's ss was telling me; then I changed insulins and was right back to not understanding what I was looking at, lol. So now, after another FOREVER (!) I have finally started to understand his numbers on Lantus. So please don't think you will never understand it, the day will come when you realize you do, and it will be a pleasant surprise!:):bighug:
Thank you! I tagged you in my other thread and posted a reply there for all of you, I hope you don't mind....
 
Hi Monica, I don't really know much about ProZinc, so I can't help much with dosing, but I CAN tell you not to give up hope that the spreadsheet will start making sense! It took me FOREVER to finally get a handle on what Squallie's ss was telling me; then I changed insulins and was right back to not understanding what I was looking at, lol. So now, after another FOREVER (!) I have finally started to understand his numbers on Lantus. So please don't think you will never understand it, the day will come when you realize you do, and it will be a pleasant surprise!:):bighug:

Monica, do take heart from this! You are certainly not alone in feeling frustrated despite all your efforts, but as you see, patience and perseverance pays off!

Just looked at your spreadsheet and see that Josie went high again in the night. This might be because although the 14 you got at pmps time seemed lower than normal, it was nevertheless a rising number and she was in fact fast running out of insulin... might be an idea to get a couple of tests in late afternoon before the pmps test when you can, to see what direction she's going in so you can be more confident shooting usual dose at usual time.

Keep going Monica and don't run out of hope. It's easy for the rest of us to be positive and encouraging when we're not the ones struggling to make sense of everything, but think how far you've come and how well you must actually be doing to keep Josie so happy and healthy. As we say here, our kitties are more than just their bg numbers so celebrate - you must be doing something right!
 
Last edited:
Monica, do take heart from this! You are certainly not alone in feeling frustrated despite all your efforts, but as you see, patience and perseverance pays off!

Just looked at your spreadsheet and see that Josie went high again in the night. This might be because although the 14 you got at pmps time seemed lower than normal, it was nevertheless a rising number and she was in fact fast running out of insulin... might be an idea to get a couple of tests in late afternoon before the pmps test when you can, to see what direction she's going in so you can be more confident shooting usual dose at usual time.

Keep going Monica and don't run out of hope. It's easy for the rest of us to be positive and encouraging when we're not the ones struggling to make sense of everything, but think how far you've come and how well you must actually be doing to keep Josie so happy and healthy. As we say here, our kitties are more than just their bg numbers so celebrate - you must be doing something right!
Thank you Diana, I just replied to all of you on the other thread, have a look when you have a moment. Unfortunately I won't be able to test much today as both have a busy afternoon working all the way til evening feeding..

Thank you for your encouraging words, you are always so supportive xx
 
Hi Monica! Sorry I wasn't around. I haven't been on in a few days because of work. I see you got a blue the other day :cool:. You mentioned you were giving a Skinny 1.5 so just make sure to put a "S" in front of the number to indicate and if you do a Fat, put a "F" so we know it's not the exact 1.5 :). Also helps so if you go back and look to see what dose you gave on a lower PS ;).

Even those red PS numbers are slowly coming down, which is a good sign :cat:. You might even see more blues when you do your next increase to 1.75U. :bighug:
 
Hi Monica! Sorry I wasn't around. I haven't been on in a few days because of work. I see you got a blue the other day :cool:. You mentioned you were giving a Skinny 1.5 so just make sure to put a "S" in front of the number to indicate and if you do a Fat, put a "F" so we know it's not the exact 1.5 :). Also helps so if you go back and look to see what dose you gave on a lower PS ;).

Even those red PS numbers are slowly coming down, which is a good sign :cat:. You might even see more blues when you do your next increase to 1.75U. :bighug:
Hello Yong, thank you and no worries, managed to make a decision at the end.
Had a bit of a meltdown afterwards on the original thread but I bounced back since then..
Will update the SS, good point thank you!
I'm not convinced the red numbers are actually coming down but SS looking healthier overall lately so that's good!:)
Thanks again for checking on us, hope you're well - don't work too hard!
 
Mmm so what are you thinking about an increase, Monica? Just had a peek at your ss and seen that nice blue mid-cycle today.... still room to play with ref the pre-shot numbers though!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top