Low PMPS BG

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nolan'sMom

Member Since 2014
My cat had a PM preshot BG of 156, I have been giving him 2.4u of prozinc twice daily, but since his BG is at 156 I know that I should not shoot. Does that mean that we just skip this dose all together and wait until morning? It's a little confusing because this morning his preshot BG was a little high at 355. His numbers seem pretty okay mostly, but then I sometimes get these random BG readings? I'm not really sure why that is??? I have been keeping a daily spread sheet but Im having a little trouble getting it to update in my signature at the moment. I will get that posted ASAP, I'd be grateful for any thoughts or insights :)
 
I think your spreadsheet is updated now. I would lower the dose overall since you aren't getting two shootable preshots a day.

For tonight, if he hasn't eaten, I would wait 30 minutes without feeding and retest. If he is going up and nearer 200, I think you could shoot a little lower dose -maybe 1.5 units?
 
I think your dose is a smidge too high overall. On 7/28 the 2.4 on 351 gave him a 74 and maybe that wasn't the lowest point and then he bounced. To soften the bounces, sometimes you can lower the dose and he will be flatter. So maybe consider 2.2 on 350+ and then 1.6 or something on yellow pre shots? And hopefully then you'd be able to shoot twice daily.

It makes sense that when you skip, he is high the next morning, after 24 hours since the last shot. That's why you want to work toward 2 shots daily, if possible.
 
After I tested him and got a BG reading of 156, I looked around on the sight and read that 150 is the no shot limit for prozinc, so I fed Nolan his dinner and didn't give any insulin. I just tested him now, 2 hours later and his BG is 319. I don't know what I should do, should I give him a small dose even though its not his regular time? Or should I just leave it for the night and start with a lower overall dose tomorrow? I don't want him to get too high tonight and mess up his progress though either :/ I'm not sure what to do at this point??
 
Either could work. You could give him a small dose and plan to shoot again in 10 hours at your regular time (if he is rising and near 200). If you do that, maybe one unit and get a before bed test just to be sure he is okay. Or skip. He will likely be high in the am but I would still lower the dose a little.

Next time you get a low preshot, remember the stalling thing - 20-30 minutes without feeding and retest.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top