Low number, time to shoot, not sure what to do here...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emily'smom

Member Since 2017
Just got home from work. Emily's pre-shot test is 104. Just fed her, as of course she is STARVING. My inclination is not to shoot at this low number...I cannot afford an emergency vet visit. Thoughts?
 
Just got home from work. Emily's pre-shot test is 104. Just fed her, as of course she is STARVING. My inclination is not to shoot at this low number...I cannot afford an emergency vet visit. Thoughts?
Normally we'd say, don't feed, wait 20 minutes and retest to see if she's going up. However, she's been fed and that 104 is too far from the usual no shot margin of about 200. Enter "NS" on your spreadsheet in the dose cell. Test her again around +2 or +3 to see where she is and add good data to your SS.
 
Normally we'd say, don't feed, wait 20 minutes and retest to see if she's going up. However, she's been fed and that 104 is too far from the usual no shot margin of about 200. Enter "NS" on your spreadsheet in the dose cell. Test her again around +2 or +3 to see where she is and add good data to your SS.
Thank you. I don't understand why you would not feed, and expect her numbers to go up? Can you explain? When testing her later this evening, if her number is up, would I give her a shot then even though it throws us off schedule? For example, if we test at 10:00 tonight (before bed) and she is over 200, I cannot give her a shot tomorrow at 10:00 to keep on the 12 hour schedule, as I will be at work. Please advise, and thank you again.
 
I don't understand why you would not feed, and expect her numbers to go up
You're checking to see if the previous insulin dose has petered out, allowing BG to rise. Sometimes a dose will have longer duration and that can show as BG falling up to and beyond the normal shot time. If you add insulin on top of the residue from the earlier shot, it's like a dose increase and it can cause kitty to go too low. Feeding will naturally cause an increase in BG and that would obscure the picture.

If she's under 200 at PM shot time , you can do the stall without food for 20 minutes and retest up to 3 times (an hour total). If she's still below 200, skip that shot. I can't recall which insulin you're using. If you could add that to the light grey info text under your posts it would be helpful. The advice can vary depending on the insulin you're using.

So -if she's too low this evening skip the shot and resume your normal schedule tomorrow AM but reduce the dose. You'll be getting into microdosing so I'suggest you post for help with that.
 
Last edited:
Just got home from work. Emily's pre-shot test is 104. Just fed her, as of course she is STARVING. My inclination is not to shoot at this low number...I cannot afford an emergency vet visit. Thoughts?
Can you add to your signature which insulin you're using?

Too low no shoot.
 
You're checking to see if the previous insulin dose has petered out, allowing BG to rise. Sometimes a dose will have longer duration and that can show as BG falling up to and beyond the normal shot time. If you add insulin on top of the residue from the earlier shot, it's like a dose increase and it can cause kitty to go too low. Feeding will naturally cause an increase in BG and that would obscure the picture.

If she's under 200 at PM shot time , you can do the stall without food for 20 minutes and retest up to 3 times (an hour total). If she's still below 200, skip that shot. I can't recall which insulin you're using. If you could add that to the light grey info text under your posts it would be helpful. The advice can vary depending on the insulin you're using.

So -if she's too low this evening skip the shot and resume your normal schedule tomorrow AM but reduce the dose. You'll be getting into microdosing so I'suggest you post for help with that.
Thanks for the explanation. I am going to retest shortly and will report back. Assuming she is where she normally is in the morning (for the most part she seems to hang around the 200's) why would I give less than the .25 I have been giving her all along? I updated my signature - Emily is on Lantus.
 
Just retested Emily +3, she is at 341. I am beyond frustrated with this process. Vet is coming tomorrow. Hoping for some answers. Off to bed...thank you everyone for your help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top