? Low nadir. Reduce tonight's shot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

buddhasmom

Member Since 2016
Just tested Buddha, 6 hrs after shot & he is at 82. He's currently on 1.5 units of Prozinc twice daily. Should I reduce tonight's shot? If so, how much? Tomorrow morning & tomorrow night's shots? I am going to try to get another sample tomorrow morning, pre-shot. He started insulin about 2 months ago, so he's still a new diabetic.
 
82 is not a terribly low nadir. We generally think 50 on a human meter and 68 on a pet meter is low enough to "earn" a reduction in dose. But since you only have the one number and he could have been lower before or after that test, and it is night when some cats go lower, you might decrease by a little bit. If you are nervous, get a before bed test to see how the cycle is looking, to be sure he is not dropping early.

Our general rule, until you have enough data to predict what might happen, is to not shoot under 200 but to stall 20 minutes without feeding and retest. If he is over 200, then shoot but maybe a smidge less than the cycle before. So let that guide you in the am.

It is great you are testing. Are you sure feeding him after the test, not before, so the number is not food influenced?

If you want, you can start posting your numbers on the PZI forum and get advice daily. It is here:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/prozinc-pzi.24/
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top