LOW BLOOD GLUCOSE

Status
Not open for further replies.

Saba

Member Since 2024
Hello,

Lana woke me up about 10 minutes before her feeding time throwing up what seemed to just be water. I tested her BG and it was 52. I then fed her which she hopped up for, ran over, and scarfed down.
Her insulin time is right now but I haven’t given to her. I retested her 5 minutes after food and she was at 49.
How often should I be checking right now? Do I give her honey?
 
Just spoke to the vet and she told me to give her some honey, skip her insulin shot and test in an hour.
 
Just spoke to the vet and she told me to give her some honey, skip her insulin shot and test in an hour.

I’m not an expert, but I personally would test more frequently than that since the honey will raise her BG but not for long. I’d also give a tsp or so of food (higher carb than she normally eats) to try to get up number up. Again, I’m not an expert, but I always feel more comfortable testing frequently just to be sure things are heading in the right direction.
 
Just took BG and it’s 53. Gave her a little more honey.
I believe 68 is the “take action” number with Alpha Track monitor (vs human monitors). Do you have some higher carb food you can give her? A tsp or so of a higher carb food and check in 20 mins? The higher carb food will last longer. How often are you checking BG? It wouldbe good to know what her numbers are doing after the honey and if you can steer the numbers up with food. I’m a big “tester” so I check every 20 mins after a low number to make sure the numbers are not dropping. It’s hard not knowing what her history is on a spreadsheet to see what she tends to do, so I’m just giving general advice.
 
I agree with Sienne ,it would be helpful if you created our spreadsheet to track Lana's BG numbers, it's easier for members to help you looking at a spreadsheet ,If you need help setting it up just ask
@Saba
Do you have a hypo kit set up in case you need to bring her BG up
Med and High Carb food



Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods



https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

10% and under is low carb
11% -15 is medium carbs.

16- 24 is high carb.
 
Absolutely need help. Don’t really understand exactly what to track and I’m just so overwhelmed in general.

Here’s the summary of today :
Woke up to throwing up water.
Tested at 52
Skipped insulin
Fed and ate all food
Tested at 49 -30 minutes later / Gave 1/4 tsp honey
Tested at 53 - Hour later / Gave 1/4 tsp honey
Tested at 68 - 90 minutes later (begged for more food so I gave her)
Tested at 103 - 90 minutes later
Tested at 126 - 2.5 hours later. (just fed her dinner)

I have no idea if I should skip her 2unit dose tonight or not.
Here are the labs I’ve got Here’s 2023:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1vU1Lnph-kvi846eSDte2xwxxvGfS7ZYk/view?usp=drivesdk

Here’s 2024:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1s_8bEUWZONi-o8teh6lLN_bgYVlQ3tM4/view?usp=drivesdk

haven’t been tested until today due to vets instructions. I know im not making it easy to help but I feel like this is mandarin right now. Thank you to all.
 
Update:
Vet instructed me earlier to give dose at scheduled time so I’m administering the dose of two units right now.

Will test her every hour for the next 4 hours.


Edit:
Tested 170BG
 
Last edited:
I know it’s overwhelming with all the info, but have you been able to check out the info/“stickies” on the Lantus forum on this FDMB? You might want to post on that forum to get some help from people who have experience with the insulin you are using. (My kitty is on ProZinc, so it’s a bit different). If you can get a spreadsheet set up it will really help for people to be able to “see” what’s going on and to offer help.

I’m hoping you can get some advice to help you make sense of all of this. In the meantime, keep kitty safe by checking those numbers. Also, a lot of members feed their diabetic kitties several times throughout the day rather than two meals as vets often suggest. My kitty does better with two meals and several smaller amounts throughout the day and night.
 
Absolutely need help. Don’t really understand exactly what to track and I’m just so overwhelmed in general.
@Saba
This link will explain how to enter your cats BG numbers on the spreadsheet, you will see we don't use times when we test and enter it on the spreadsheet because we are all in different time zones Take a look
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-use-the-spreadsheet.241653/
Meantime I will tag Bhooma to contact you and she will be happy to set it up for you she should be on later on today
@Bandit's Mom

I would also read all the yellow stickys here about Lantus
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/
When you decide on which method to follow when using lantus and the Alpha Trak you can add it to your signature and your spreadsheet after it's set up
When following TR using the Alpha Trak and the BG falls under 68 you reduce

When following SLGS with the Alpha Trak you reduce if the BG falls under 90
Are you using the U-100 syringes with the half unit markings?
We increase or decrease by 0.25 units at a time ,so using these make it easier to do
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top