Lovey PMPS 150 + 1.25 160 2.75 +204 +5 264

Status
Not open for further replies.

lovey11

Member Since 2013
Hi everyone. lovey is due for her shot but I am not sure what dose to give.

I just got a 150 preshot. I never had a preshot that low before. Any ideas what I should give? Lovey is due for her shot and I didn't feed her yet? Any input would be appreciated.

I started a new dose on Lovey of 2.25 units of Lantus. I haven't tested it that much. On one day, I got a 78, but I did not feed Lovey her usually +4 snack and I lightened the dose a hair.
 
Re: 10/11 Lovey Need Dosing Advice on Low Preshot on New Dos

I would stick with your current dose. How about shooting and getting a +1 and +2 test to start with?
 
Re: 10/11 Lovey Need Dosing Advice on Low Preshot on New Dos

Hi Sienne, thanks for such a quick reply.

My preshots with this dose has been in the 200's- 300's so is it ok to shoot a 150 with same dose. I used to be a Prozinc user. I am not too familiar with Lantus. I use alpha trak so my numbers are like a 120 on a human meter.
 
Re: 10/11 Lovey Need Dosing Advice on Low Preshot on New Dos

As long as you have supplies (like test strips and higher carb food) and will be home to monitor, then shooting and feeding her is what we would advise. The food will bring her up a little bit. You will need to start off the testing with a +1 and +2. You want these kind of numbers. These are healing numbers.
 
Re: 10/11 Lovey Need Dosing Advice on Low Preshot on New Dos

Thank you Sienne and Dyana. I will give dose. I am home and will test. I have high carb food and test strips.
 
Re: 10/11 Lovey Need Dosing Advice on Low Preshot on New Dos

The difference between Lantus and Prozinc is that with Lantus, dose changes are based on the nadir. You also hold the dose until numbers drop below 80 (on an AlphaTrack/50 on human meters) or an increase is warranted. You don't adjust your dose based on the pre-shot numbers. It's a big difference in the approach to dosing and one that takes a while for a former Prozinc user to wrap their head around.

If you want to stall a bit longer to make sure numbers are rising, that's fine. Just remember that your AM shot will be 12 hours from whenever you actually shoot so your schedule has to have the flexibility to accommodate a stall.

We typically suggest that if you're new to Lantus, you ask for help if you have a pre-shot that's under 150 (180 on an AT). You've shot a 175 previously so it should be fine to gradually adjust your shot range to a lower number.
 
Re: 10/11 Lovey Need Dosing Advice on Low Preshot on New Dos

Good luck with the dose tonight. I hope Lovey gives you a nice, safe surf.
 
Re: 10/11 Lovey Need Dosing Advice on Low Preshot on New Dos

Furball is having a good day. So far blues and greens.
 
Re: Lovey PMPS 150 + 1.25 160 2.75 +204

Thanks Julie. I got in one more early test. Should I do another at + 4 or +5 next. I never had a preshot this low before.

PMPS 150

+ 1.25 160

+ 2.75 204
 
Re: Lovey PMPS 150 + 1.25 160 2.75 +204

i don't have my crystal ball so you can't ever say for sure, but it looks like lovey's on her way up. as you get more data it will be more predictable so you can look at another similar cycle and see what she did before.
 
Re: Lovey PMPS 150 + 1.25 160 2.75 +204

Thanks Julie. I thought you did have a crystal ball ;-) Actually, I had higher numbers for awhile so it is nice to get some lower numbers. I will get some needed information from testing this cycle that I will be able to use in the future. I have gotten so much help from this board. I appreciate it.
 
Re: Lovey PMPS 150 + 1.25 160 2.75 +204

it's a great resource, isn't it? nobody else has this kind of experience with feline diabetes, not to mention someone available to help pretty much all day and night. you're doing great!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top