Lovey +5.5 78 + 6.25 66 + 7 90 8.5 109

Status
Not open for further replies.

lovey11

Member Since 2013
Fed 2 tsp hc and 2 tsp lc at 5.5..

Just gave more Hc and a few drops of Karo in Hc food is that enough?

Lovey is acting fine just hungry. I will rub some on gums

Has eaten now almost a whole little 3 ounce can of HC

Sorry, 66 on alpha trak, usually 1 tsp Hc gets her right up
 
Re: Lovey +5.5 78 + 6 66 Alph Trak Like 36

so you measured a 66 on the AT? as the numbers go lower, that's not going to be a 36 on a human meter.

you did just right with the hc and karo.

wait 20ish minutes, retest her and post again.

you're in charge, catherine, and you'll be able to steer her. no worries.
 
Re: Lovey +5.5 78 + 6 66 Alph Trak Like 36

36?
Did you test again to verify?


Thanks, Julie. Freaked me out...:-)
 
Re: Lovey +5.5 78 + 6 66 Alph Trak Like 36

i took that to mean you were predicting what it would be on a human meter. just give us the #s on the AT and we can convert.
 
Re: Lovey +5.5 78 + 6 66 Alph Trak Like 36

Do you have a human glucometer that you can test her with, too, so we can see how low she really is?
 
Re: Lovey +5.5 78 + 6.25 66 Alph Trak Like 36

From the Low Numbers sticky:
DON'T PANIC! or HOW TO HANDLE LOW NUMBERS

First, try to not panic. Post to the Lantus Insulin Support Group or on the Health Board. Make sure your subject line indicates you are concerned about a possible hypo and/or add the 911 icon to the first post in your condo. People who are experienced in dealing with low numbers will be there to help. After posting, remember to refresh your browser periodically to see if people have replied.

It’s important to recognize that just because your cat may be experiencing low BG numbers doesn’t mean that your kitty is critically hypoglycemic. Many cats will have low numbers and never have symptoms. It’s important, though, to bring those numbers up into a safe range. ALWAYS make sure you have a stock of test strips, high carb (HC) canned food that contains gravy and is over 15% carb such as Fancy Feast grilled, marinated, or Gravy Lovers varieties (see Dr. Lisa's Cat Food Nutritional Composition List for a full list of options), and/or a simple sugar solution such as Karo/corn syrup, honey, maple syrup, etc.

If your cat is experiencing symptoms, especially if those symptoms are severe, you need to rub Karo syrup, honey, or maple syrup on the gums or, if symptoms are very severe, administer rectally and get your cat to the nearest 24-hour emergency facility. Take the bottle of syrup with you to administer on the way if necessary. (Note that it is rare that we see episodes of symptomatic hypoglycemia with Lantus and even rarer to see severe symptoms. But, you need to know what to do should they occur.)

The symptoms to be concerned about include but are not limited to:
staggering, uncoordinated movements, 'drunken' walk, wobbling, balance problems
ataxia - usually lack of muscular coordination, but maybe changes in head and neck movements
disorientation (yowling, walking in circles, etc.)
twitching
stupor
convulsions or seizures
coma
If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only.
(If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

In the case of an accidental overdose or should there be symptoms of hypoglycemia, even if you have caught this in the early stages, you may need to monitor for literally 16 or more hours. Lantus and Levemir are long acting types of insulin. This means if your cat is over dose, you will need to stay alert for hours in order to closely monitor and to keep your cat safe.

Please post your numbers. Those people who are helping you will not abandon you. In fact, they are staying up with you. The experienced people will even work in shifts to make sure your cat is safe and you have the support you need. Remember to refresh your browser to see new posts and keep posting so we know all is well.

~ written by Sienne and Gabby
 
Re: Lovey +5.5 78 + 6.25 66

Thanks for your help guys. I haven't seen a number lower than 78 since July and usually she pops right up. I will test her again. It has been about 25 minutes.
 
Re: Lovey +5.5 78 + 6.25 66 + 7 90

you did everything just right! it can get nerve-wracking! you want to keep up testing and make sure she holds above 80 and rising for 2 tests, at least an hour, after you have stopped giving high carbs. sometimes they wobble around, so don't give up too soon.

and then sleep well!
 
Re: Lovey +5.5 78 + 6.25 66 + 7 90

While I have the dream team here... Actually it is very late. If you have time, you can answer this tomorrow. I have been giving a pretty fat 2.00 but less than 2.25. I got a 79 on the 2.25, but I shaved the dose down instead of reducing the full .25.

A few weeks ago, I was getting a lot of 80's and 90's on the 2.25 dose so I reduced to 2.00 because I was afraid she would go too low when I was at work. I did a curve on the 2 unit and it wasn't enough at that time.

What dose would you suggest I go to tomorrow in light of a 66?
 
Re: Lovey +5.5 78 + 6.25 66 + 7 90

well, anything below 80 on AT calls for a reduction.

i would probably reduce by .25u. working with fats and skinnys can make it really hard to dose, in my opinion. i'd take the full amount and see what she does.
 
Re: Lovey +5.5 78 + 6.25 66 + 7 90

Since I was giving a pretty fat 2 (a tinch of space from bottom of mark) what would a full .25 be?

Should I give 1.75 that would be more than .25 reduction?

or a fat 1.75 but that it gets to estimating and syringe differences?
 
Re: Lovey +5.5 78 + 6.25 66 + 7 90

i can't help you with that one. having an acro cat, i didn't deal in itsy bitsy anything insulin.

just make your best guess at it.
 
Re: Lovey +5.5 78 + 6.25 66 + 7 90

This is easy for me to say, because I never followed the protocol :lol:

I know that many people use shaved doses, or "fats" and "skinnys". I think that makes sense if your kitty has been on insulin for a long time, you have a ton of data collected, and you've seen reductions "fail".

But in general, unless your kitty has been on Lantus long-term (I think long-term is defined by one year or more), I'd stick with the protocol in terms of adjusting the doses. .25u increments up or down.

I think it's okay to stray from protocol, no matter which protocol you are following. But not until you know for certain that the protocol "as is" doesn't work for your cat.

Just the opinion of a PZI user who completely winged it and didn't follow any protocol.
 
Re: Lovey +5.5 78 + 6.25 66 + 7 90

It would be a pretty fat 1.75u.

I use calipers and don't pay any attention to the markings on the syringe. The "new to the group" sticky has a photo of .75u. That might help you figure out a fat 1.75u.
 
Re: Lovey +5.5 78 + 6.25 66 + 7 90

Thanks Julie.

Have a great night Julie and thank you for all your help and for responding so quickly. :smile:

Thank you Marje and Carl for responding so quickly to my call for help.
 
Re: Lovey +5.5 78 + 6.25 66 + 7 90

Good point Carl. If I had taken the full reduction I would be snoozing now. ;-) Thanks for the input. I like to be conservative so I am surprised I didn't take the full reduction. I guess because 2 units didn't work a few weeks before I didn't think it would work again, but it is safest to reduce by .25 and then evaluate after a few days. I am not following the protocol to the letter. I like the experienced people here.
 
Re: Lovey +5.5 78 + 6.25 66 + 7 90

I guess because 2 units didn't work a few weeks before I didn't think it would work again

I might say this too often, but I like it...

don't assume what works today will work a couple of weeks from now.
And don't assume that something that failed a few weeks ago will fail tomorrow.

Cats change daily. Lovey isn't the same cat she was two months or two weeks ago. And she'll be a different cat two weeks or two months from now. All we can really hope to do is react to those changes.
 
Re: Lovey +5.5 78 + 6.25 66 + 7 90

Very true. Sometimes you can get tunnel vision at times. Lovey is doing better with her numbers and reducing her bounces so she is definitely changed.
 
Re: Lovey +5.5 78 + 6.25 66 + 7 90

Very true. Sometimes you can get tunnel vision at times. Lovey is doing better with her numbers and reducing her bounces so she is definitely changed.
 
Re: Lovey +5.5 78 + 6.25 66 + 7 90

Very true. Sometimes you can get tunnel vision at times. Lovey is doing better with her numbers and reducing her bounces so she is definitely changed.
 
Re: Lovey +5.5 78 + 6.25 66 + 7 90

Very true. Sometimes you can get tunnel vision at times. Lovey is doing better with her numbers and reducing her bounces so she is definitely changed.
 
Re: Lovey +5.5 78 + 6.25 66 + 7 90

Very true. Sometimes you can get tunnel vision at times. Lovey is doing better with her numbers and reducing her bounces so she is definitely changed.
 
Re: Lovey +5.5 78 + 6.25 66 + 7 90

Very true. Sometimes you can get tunnel vision at times. Lovey is doing better with her numbers and reducing her bounces so she is definitely changed.
 
Re: Lovey +5.5 78 + 6.25 66 + 7 90

Very true. Sometimes you can get tunnel vision at times. Lovey is doing better with her numbers and reducing her bounces so she is definitely changed.
 
Re: Lovey +5.5 78 + 6.25 66 + 7 90

Very true. Sometimes you can get tunnel vision at times. Lovey is doing better with her numbers and reducing her bounces so she is definitely changed.
 
Re: Lovey +5.5 78 + 6.25 66 + 7 90

Very true. Sometimes you can get tunnel vision at times. Lovey is doing better with her numbers and reducing her bounces so she is definitely changed.
 
Re: Lovey +5.5 78 + 6.25 66 + 7 90

Very true. Sometimes you can get tunnel vision at times. Lovey is doing better with her numbers and reducing her bounces so she is definitely changed.
 
Re: Lovey +5.5 78 + 6.25 66 + 7 90

Very true. Sometimes you can get tunnel vision at times. Lovey is doing better with her numbers and reducing her bounces so she is definitely changed.
 
Re: Lovey +5.5 78 + 6.25 66 + 7 90

Very true. Sometimes you can get tunnel vision at times. Lovey is doing better with her numbers and reducing her bounces so she is definitely changed.
 
:lol:
Well, it bears repeating. Just not twelve times.
:lol:
 
I do have a habit of repeating myself. ;-) Thanks again for your assistance. Lovey looks like she is climbing nicely. She was just meowing for more food so I gave her a few teaspoons low carb food. She ruined her diet tonight. ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top