Louie~Negative keytones AMPS 463~ still high BG!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Louieorangetabby

Member Since 2011
Well, after a couple of tests, Louie keeps reading negative for keytones, so thats a relief! But I'm still quite discouraged about his high BG levels! I thought I'd give it a couple days with the higher dose (1.5 units) ~ and it was good to see his nadir reading yesterday just barely in the 200s, but I had hoped for more of a reduction in numbers~
any suggestions as to why Louie can't get out of the 400's?? I'm worried that because of the faulty meter we used for so long, that poor Louie never got the help he needed! could that be part of the problem?
thanks~
Tracy & Louie
 
Louieorangetabby said:
Well, after a couple of tests, Louie keeps reading negative for keytones, so thats a relief! But I'm still quite discouraged about his high BG levels! I thought I'd give it a couple days with the higher dose (1.5 units) ~ and it was good to see his nadir reading yesterday just barely in the 200s, but I had hoped for more of a reduction in numbers~
any suggestions as to why Louie can't get out of the 400's?? I'm worried that because of the faulty meter we used for so long, that poor Louie never got the help he needed! could that be part of the problem?
thanks~
Tracy & Louie

Hi Tracy,
It could be as simple as Louis is not getting enough insulin. The dose of 1.5u is small and there are many cats who are getting more insulin than 1.5u but their numbers are much better.

Since this morn's shot is cycle 6, why not up the dose to 2u tonite and hold for 6 shots and see if his numbers improve well.

One thing I see is that you have no tests at all after the pm shot and it's during the pm cycle that many cats go very low.... It would be great if you can get a before bed test, just so you know Louie's numbers before you go to sleep.

Don't worry about the past and the faulty meters; focus on the now and you have a better meter that is giving you true values. Work your way up slowly with dose changes, holding each dose for 6 shots and then decide of you need to adjust the dose.
 
Hi, Tracy and Gayle ~

Gayle, thanks for posting...I just sent you a PM asking for your dosing advice and thinking that 2.0U would be the next step for Tracy and Louie. Tracy, I'm SO glad to see that Louie is testing negative for ketones...that's great!

Slow and steady, Tracy...you'll get there. I know we worry about our sweet kitties and want to get their numbers down as quickly as possible, but Lantus takes 6 shots for a dose to settle in for you to see what it's doing for Louie.

Hang in there...and we're all hanging in there with you.

Hugs,
Eva
 
Thanks Gayle and Eva~
I feel much better just hearing from you and remembering to be patient! I'll up Louie's dose to 2u tonight, and get a test later in the PM before I go to bed. I'm not really up during the night, so I would not know what Louie's PM nadir is~ will do some spot testing on him today though~
I really appreciate the quick response~ although I get worried about Louie's high numbers, actually~ he seems fine & is doing well in the important ways, although still quite hungry!
warmly,
Tracy & Louie
 
Louieorangetabby said:
Thanks Gayle and Eva~
I feel much better just hearing from you and remembering to be patient! I'll up Louie's dose to 2u tonight, and get a test later in the PM before I go to bed. I'm not really up during the night, so I would not know what Louie's PM nadir is~ will do some spot testing on him today though~
I really appreciate the quick response~ although I get worried about Louie's high numbers, actually~ he seems fine & is doing well in the important ways, although still quite hungry!
warmly,
Tracy & Louie

Tracy,
Don't worry about getting lots of tests in during the evening; the main one you want is that bedtime test. Lots of people go to bed early and have stuff to do so just get that one number and it will help you.

Just think of being in the dark and needing to find the step to go down some stairs.... you inch your way forward until you feel your toes drop and that tells you that you have found the first step... the same goes with your dosing.... inch your way up, pause for a few cycles to fill shed and then if still not enough, try another small increase. Every single one of us knows how frustrating it is, waiting, going slow. But finally one day you will be jolted by a much better number!
It will come with the slowly but surely approach.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top