Robin&BB
Member Since 2013
Bat's vet wanted me to try withholding insulin after her #s started looking good @ 0.18U (since 4/04). So did full curves of her daytime cycles Sat. (no morning shot) and Sun. (gave her both a Sat. night shot & a Sun. a.m. shot - just 0.10U ea.) ... and there wasn't all that much difference in her daytime curves on either day.
The new ISFM 2015 Consensus Guidelines read: "Primary goal of management to maintain BG between a peak of 10-14 mmol/L (180-252 mg/dl) and a nadir of 4.5-8.0 mmol/l (80-144 mg/dl)" - and I'm assuming they're using pet glucometer BG #s here. She's within normal AlphaTrak #s according to the Glucometer Reference Numbers/ Notes I pulled from BJ's info sheet, too.
Today she's been really flat throughout her cycle: apparent nadir @ 160, not much of a drop at all! (But she also slept most of the day, as I was up to my eyeballs in paperwork.) I considered letting her go a full 24 hrs. without a dose today, but got a PMPS of 186, so caved in & gave her about 0.10-0.12U after her dinner.
I'm a little stymied on how to work this super-low-dose insulin now, as she was still doing the "hang onto the insulin too long" thing at 0.18U. (Which was why vet said maybe we should just try doing without: "Such a low dose," he said.) But I'm haunted by 1.5 yrs. ago: When she went OTJ after TR on Lantus, she had lower BG#s than she's showing me these days. And I notice that a lot of the kitties on your "Remissions" page seem to pop more greens than Bat-Bat does. (Yes, I know that most aren't using an AlphaTrak to monitor, but still ... Bat's numbers aren't as low as they used to be.)
So ... should I be concerned that she didn't go into the green zone at all today? She's great on the 5 P's, btw - she looks great (nice weight), no significant water drinking, etc. But I don't want to rush this, either, regardless of what her vet's saying.
Any thoughts from Ye Wiser Ones here would be greatly appreciated. (Sorry for the long post ... gee, am I hyper-fretting today, or what?!) Thanks! - Robin
The new ISFM 2015 Consensus Guidelines read: "Primary goal of management to maintain BG between a peak of 10-14 mmol/L (180-252 mg/dl) and a nadir of 4.5-8.0 mmol/l (80-144 mg/dl)" - and I'm assuming they're using pet glucometer BG #s here. She's within normal AlphaTrak #s according to the Glucometer Reference Numbers/ Notes I pulled from BJ's info sheet, too.
Today she's been really flat throughout her cycle: apparent nadir @ 160, not much of a drop at all! (But she also slept most of the day, as I was up to my eyeballs in paperwork.) I considered letting her go a full 24 hrs. without a dose today, but got a PMPS of 186, so caved in & gave her about 0.10-0.12U after her dinner.
I'm a little stymied on how to work this super-low-dose insulin now, as she was still doing the "hang onto the insulin too long" thing at 0.18U. (Which was why vet said maybe we should just try doing without: "Such a low dose," he said.) But I'm haunted by 1.5 yrs. ago: When she went OTJ after TR on Lantus, she had lower BG#s than she's showing me these days. And I notice that a lot of the kitties on your "Remissions" page seem to pop more greens than Bat-Bat does. (Yes, I know that most aren't using an AlphaTrak to monitor, but still ... Bat's numbers aren't as low as they used to be.)
So ... should I be concerned that she didn't go into the green zone at all today? She's great on the 5 P's, btw - she looks great (nice weight), no significant water drinking, etc. But I don't want to rush this, either, regardless of what her vet's saying.
Any thoughts from Ye Wiser Ones here would be greatly appreciated. (Sorry for the long post ... gee, am I hyper-fretting today, or what?!) Thanks! - Robin