gottabekittenme
Member Since 2018
Hi, this is my first ever post on here. Although my cat Pumpkin has been diabetic for 6 years and was well regulated on Prozinc until the last few months. We recently switched him over to Lantus. Right away, we noticed a significant change in his behavior! No more crashes!! I don't have a spread sheet, simply because I have no idea how to make one, but do have a log of all his curves and such. So if someone could please help me out about getting one of these fancy spread sheets, it'd be very much appreciated!
Here's the issue. Pumpkin, 13yo NM, goes on what I call "hunger strikes". He is currently eating Purina DM-at the time the pate mix. (He also has many other issues, chronic pancreatitis being the most severe. Hence, the rx diet instead of FF or Friskys, his belly just can't tolerate it. Anyways, back to the issue. During this so called "hunger strike" Pumpkin kept getting very low numbers,46-62 multiple nights in a row. At this time, he was on 2u BID. With great concisious and advise from a great teacher, we decided to reduce his dose to 1.5u. Literally, 2 days after doing such, his numbers are ridiculously high. I will post our curve from today. He has been on this dose for approximately 4 days. I'm really wanting to increase his dose back up to 2u since now he is eating like a hog, no lie, he is eating around 2 cans a day-of the savory selects because he absolutely refuses to eat the pate now...living with a picky cat is absolutely no fun. His curve is listed below, please if you could give any suggestions, do.
AMPS: 6:30am: 320 fed and gave 1.5u
8:30am: 357
10:30am:260
12:30pm: 166
2:30pm:200
4:30pm: 260
Please give me your honest opinion, as I stated, he has only been on Lantus since October, and we did have him regulated very quickly! Before this he was on Prozinc. Thank you and have a Happy New Year!
Here's the issue. Pumpkin, 13yo NM, goes on what I call "hunger strikes". He is currently eating Purina DM-at the time the pate mix. (He also has many other issues, chronic pancreatitis being the most severe. Hence, the rx diet instead of FF or Friskys, his belly just can't tolerate it. Anyways, back to the issue. During this so called "hunger strike" Pumpkin kept getting very low numbers,46-62 multiple nights in a row. At this time, he was on 2u BID. With great concisious and advise from a great teacher, we decided to reduce his dose to 1.5u. Literally, 2 days after doing such, his numbers are ridiculously high. I will post our curve from today. He has been on this dose for approximately 4 days. I'm really wanting to increase his dose back up to 2u since now he is eating like a hog, no lie, he is eating around 2 cans a day-of the savory selects because he absolutely refuses to eat the pate now...living with a picky cat is absolutely no fun. His curve is listed below, please if you could give any suggestions, do.
AMPS: 6:30am: 320 fed and gave 1.5u
8:30am: 357
10:30am:260
12:30pm: 166
2:30pm:200
4:30pm: 260
Please give me your honest opinion, as I stated, he has only been on Lantus since October, and we did have him regulated very quickly! Before this he was on Prozinc. Thank you and have a Happy New Year!