Looking for help with dosing. Lots of fluctuations!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Samantha&Dio

Member Since 2023
Hi! I'm hoping someone can take a look at Dio's spreadsheet and help me figure out what I should be doing with his dose. We had a Libre 2 put on about a week ago and it's been surprisingly successful. Dio barely touches it and it's giving a lot of great data. However his numbers are jumping around from yellows to blues, then all the way to purples and I'm really not sure if I should be increasing, decreasing, or just letting it be at this point :banghead:
I feed him two main meals a day before his shots, he also gets a small snack once or twice a day. Other than that he does have cat grass that he grazes on whenever. I'm wondering if this could be a factor in his BG levels?
I have also been testing for ketones and so far we are all clear!

They did use sedation on him during the installation (he's a feisty one) and so I'm thinking that probably had an impact on his first day's BG too.
 
Last edited:
Last edited:
You may want to move this post to the Lantus forum.

I copied this info for you regarding how to dose for the SLGS method.

Hold the dose for at least a week:
Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.

Looks like today makes Dio's seventh day on this dose. See below for the next step.

After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
As your cat's blood glucose begins to fall mostly in the desired range [lowest point of the curve approaching 100 mg/dl (5.5 mmol/L) and pre-shot value around or below 300 mg/dl (16.6 mmol/L)], do lengthen the waiting time between dose increases. If you decide to change another factor (e.g., diet or other medications), don't increase the insulin dose until the other change is complete (but decrease the dose if your cat's glucose numbers consistently fall below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L) as a result of the change).

Don't be tempted to rush the process along by increasing the dose more quickly or in larger increments-- no matter how high your cat's blood glucose is! Rushing towards regulation will cost you time in the long run, because you may shoot past the right dose.

Lather, Rinse, and Repeat!


You are doing great. The learning curve with this disease is very steep in the beginning. Finding this group was not only great for Dio, but you too.

If the information above doesn't make sense, ask questions. Someone will be along to answer them. I just wanted to acknowledge you and copy and paste some information that could answer your questions.
 
Here’s your last post for continuity.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-feeling-frustrated.283826/#post-3127118

You really are not seeing a lot of fluctuation especially for a newly diagnosed kitty. With some nadirs under 150 you will hold this dose another 7 days unless the bg drops under 90. If that happens you decrease to 1.75. You might want to start posting on the lantus forums .

Ok, I will start posting on the lantus forums for sure. I guess I was just a little unsure because he hasn't consistently had nadirs under 150. Thanks for the clarification!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top