Carl & Bob said:
I think your choices are .1u, or skip the shot. Now the trick is "where do you draw the line" for shooting or skipping. That's totally up to you. But I'm not seeing any numbers that need .2u rather than .1u.
Hence why I'm here bugging you guys.. its a little scary shooting that low... I find myself literally staying with him the whole time, maybe overkill but whatever it takes, you know?
Carl & Bob said:
The last time you shot .2u, on a 131, he dropped down to the 50s, and that was after vomitting up his breakfast. I don't think the low number was due to losing breakfast. I would think that would be pretty stressful, and the stress would probably cause the numbers to rise some. The boost from eating should have already hit by the time he vomitted. Anyway, when you saw the 54, the SS says that you fed him 3/4 can of HC food. Which should have caused his numbers to go pretty high, right? Well, they didn't. He went to 130, just above "normal" for a cat. And 5 hours later (I would have expected a high PMPS too), you get a 78 on the meter. His system processed the "sugar" and pushed the number back down, not up. So something "in there" is working pretty well.
It was so very strange, that vomit episode, the food looked almost unprocessed at all, pieces of the freeze dried chicken, plus the canned food mixed up together, but otherwise looking very unchanged, that unsettled me, because I can't think of a good reason food could be in his stomach for that long without being altered significantly, which is why I gave the petromalt, it was the ONLY thing I could think of, but even that doesn't quite ring true as a cause for that, unless I misunderstand how that works.
Carl & Bob said:
I think you can proceed one of two ways, and either way can work.
1 - keep doing what you're doing. The only decision you need to make is "what's the lowest number I will give .1u on?" I'm thinking 140, 150? But you need to make that call. Continue to test AMPS and PMPS, and decide to shoot or skip based on your "line in the sand". An occasional nadir test will help so you can see how green he gets mid-cycle.
2 - On a cycle where you give a shot, get a nadir test, and then test again at +12. If the number is high enough, give another shot. If not, then what you do is feed, and then test him 2 or 3 hours later. See if the number is high enough for that .1u dose. If so, give him a shot. It might be 15, 18, 20 hours after you gave the last shot. You will be "chasing the numbers".... testing until you get a high enough number to give a shot, but not waiting 24 hours between shots.
That method requires more tests, and it sounds like Froggi is pretty much fed up with tests, so it might not be your best way to go.
/sad I wish his ears weren't so sensitive... I'm kind of wondering if it isn't the lancets themselves, he seems to get small raised patches wherever I poke, its not big, almost not visible at all, just like, the skin is annoyed for a day or two on that spot..... I've been using vetericyn after each test to soothe it, it looks better and clears up quicker when I do. I may go buy a different brand and see if that makes any difference. And maybe if the new lancets don't bother him I will try going back to the ointment, since maybe it wasn't the problem.
Carl & Bob said:
One other thing you might consider is altering his feeding schedule. With multiple cats, that might not be an option. If he eats multiple small meals over the course of 12 hours, it can spread the "carb boost" from eating more evenly, and it might enable his pancreas to keep up on its own.
I am feeding them all roughly every 4-6 hours, plus, and I haven't added this to my sig yet because I'm out of characters, and I don't want to just remove bobo yet

... but I have been keeping Young Again Zero Carb dry out for them for those times when I'm out or just taking a bit too long for one or the other hungry kitty ... They don't eat much of it (usually less than 1 cup per day split among all/most of them I see them nibble a bite here or there, but not really going crazy with it), and I've purchased two new water fountains to help make sure they drink (two still not using them, but they have a bowl too)
Carl & Bob said:
I also wanted to say that I was sad to read your post in Health yesterday, and wanted you to know my thoughts and prayers are with you. As lots of people have already told you, you did the RIGHT thing for little Bo. That doens't make it any easier, but too often the right choices are the hardest choices.
Hugs,
Carl
Thank you... I still feel stunned... this morning I was groggy and started getting his meds out before it hit me again
Rob, thank you, and I have seen the photos of drops, but my eyes aren't so wonderful these days, which is why I'm going to get calipers (hopefully tomorrow, but if not, whenever the mail brings it)
I should probably mention, since maybe you guys won't think I'm insane, a couple of times I intended to shoot low-ish numbers, and Frog told me not to... so I listened to him. Is it completely insane to trust him? lol