Long time no see...

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
Hi Kids:
~O) It’s just one thing after the next at the Dutch Ghetto and I apologize for not being here that much lately. Spring means yard work which I can handle here, but doing my Mom’s too takes me a couple weeks to get in the swing. And we’ve had some family medical crap to deal with. Plus I just got back from a biz trip to Boston. What work we have seems to have travel involved, which complicates the schedule. It’s a crazy whirlwind here. I have a splitter of a sinus headache from the pressurized cabin on the plane today, but quickly, here is our update.... bcatrun_gif

Before I left, I stopped in at my Vet’s to get another bottle of insulin since we were getting low. He always wants to look at the chart so I took him a copy, and he got on me about using U100 needles when he saw my dosing. Now I know he knew I was doing that since early last year before we even switched to him, and he’s always very complimentary about our care of Asher, but maybe he forgot, had a bad day, dunno. And this exchange was not what I needed on a more than busy day, the day before I leave for 3 days. I felt like he scolded me or something. @-)

But once I got him past that, he asked me to reduce to 2.5u for 3 full days. I don’t think he was thrilled with me doing a sliding scale either, and I am trying to work with him on this so I said I’d try. I need him to give me the insulin and he is good about usually dealing with questions by email, so I am trying to listen to what he has to say, be a good monkey, etc. o:-)

First day on reduced dose was ok but Asher has been high since then (300s ps and 200s mid day). So I have to go back up in dose to around where we were. I sent the vet an email to this effect, so I hope he’s not bummed with me but I have to get Asher in better numbers.

So back to the dosing and rebound drawing board. I am thinking we need a day dose and a night dose going by the info we’ve collected recently. I also will try to update the spreadsheet from when I left on Friday.

Sorry again for being AWOL, life just gets beyond me some weeks. Now for some drugs and a nap to get rid of this headache. :YMSIGH:
 
Welcome back! You have been noticeably absent!

Glad Asher is doing okay. I get the needle thing. I think my vet was concerned I'd get the two needles confused. Not possible - the U40s are HUGE and long needled - the U100s are thinner & shorter. Plus the colors help - although Kim said the other day she got a box of needles that weren't the traditional red U40s and orange U100s. Scary!!!

Hope you'll be able to stay put for awhile. I know how much traveling wears me out! Feel better!
 
Hope you feel Better! Hopefully your vet will not give you much grief-- I know you have developed a good relationship with him. Maybe a split dose, day and night would be beneficial.

Come On Cover Boy!
 
Donna -

Good to hear from you; we miss you when you're not around! Sounds like you have a lot going on; I do hope your headache is better and things settle down a little. I understand trying to comply (or appearing like you do ;-) ) with doctors of all kinds. Used to just smile and nod as the doctors told me things to do with my kids even if I had already tried them and it didn't work. At least look like you're being a good kid. o:-) Just let the 'scolding' roll off your back and know that you're doing a SUPER job!

Take care -

Libby (and Hershey, too!)
 
Hey, who is the new girl? :lol:

Hi Donna, nice to see you! Wow, Boston? Did you get to Fenway?

Carl
 
Hi DOnna,
Welcome back!
I have been running like a mad man lately so understand!
Soory the reduction didnt work out, I am sure you will get there soon!
Hope you feel better!
Denise
 
Thanks guys.

No Carl, I didn’t get to Fenway. We just flew in Friday afternoon, and the weather was forecast to be lousy all weekend so we went right to work on Friday an hour after we got off the plane. (I was shooting trucks so we couldn’t shoot in any rain)

I think the big 100th anniversary shindig was Friday night at Fenway but from what I heard tickets were a big commodity. The weekend ended up being beautiful tho, the weather man was wrong, so we completed the project and had some good pizza in the North End Sat eve to celebrate :-D Flew home Sunday. Whirlwind. Now I’ll be strapped to my desk for a few days ohmygod_smile
 
Well, today wasn’t good numbers-wise. We increased to 3 units, and got horrible 300s today. Amps was 298, shot 3u, +7 was 311 and +9 was 352.

Dunno what to do. You'd think I should have some idea after a year and 4 months of dancing, but Asher has stumped me, I have no clue. He does so well at night but the daytime numbers suck :cry:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top