Long time forum lurker seeking help/advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

sk4lin3

Member Since 2022
Hello everybody,

I have been a long time lurker of this forum since my cat Bill (male tabby) was diagnosed with diabetes 4 years ago.

My girlfriend had noticed at the time that he looked raggedy and had flakes present on his skin with lots of shedding so we decided to take him to the vet for a checkup. He was at the early stages of DKA (always serious, but not critical) and had to be hospitalized for 2 days to stabilize and that was the beginning of our journey with his Diabetes.

Our vet prescribed the usual diabetic cat food and started him on a course of 2u of Lantus twice a day. He did not eat the prescription food so we found that he enjoyed the "crave" brand packaged pates. After an initial learning curve and several more trips to the vet for BG curves, we were told he was stabile at the dose of 2u Lantus twice a day. Eventually it became impossible to find crave pates in stock anywhere and we switched him to the Sheba Pates (he will only eat the seafood flavors of this food).

Fast forward 2.5 years, we noticed that he seemed more and more lethargic. One early morning, he howled in a way that we had never heard before and he was dragging his hind legs. We took him to the emergency vet and they found that he was severely hypoglycemic and he spent an day there getting stable again. We were recommended to take him to his normal vet afterwards for an assessment and we thought to bring his insulin and syringes so that he could be dosed and monitored there. It was then that it was discovered that they had accidentally dispensed him the wrong needle size (he is supposed to get U100s) but they realized they had dispensed a needle size that was effectively dosing him 2.5 times his required amount. We were giving him this unsafe amount for probably close to a month and we were devastated to learn that fact..

Without getting into too much of the aftermath of that situation, the vet covered the overnight cost and we restarted him on a lower dose of insulin. Fast forward a few weeks after that instability was introduced he began throwing up his meals. He had sweet breath so we took him to the vet again. It was found that he was critically DKA. He was hospitalized for 3 days and they were eventually able to discharge him. The recommendation from our primary vet at that point was to ease him in on 1u of Lantus twice daily. We got a libre put onto him and it was found that his BG was all over the place.

It was an incredibly stressful time and situation and that was when I found this forum. Through lots of monitoring and trial/error we discovered that the Purina prescription dry food that he was supposed to be nibbling on was actually shooting his blood sugar sky high. So we started only giving him the sheba pate (two trays at 10 a.m. and 2 trays at 10 p.m. with additional trays on a timed feeder at 2pm and 2am respectively because it was found through monitoring he was nadiring too low. This seemed to work beautifully for 3 months with his curves looking really good. He was playful in ways he hadn't been ever and had excellent energy.

That brings us closer to the current time where lately while he had excellent appetite (sometimes ravenous) he seemed to be really lethargic.
Unfortunately this past week, we went out of town on a trip for my birthday when our cat sitter told us his appetite was gone and that he had thrown up the day before. He had also tried to use the litter box 3x in a 20 minute stretch while she was there. We asked the pet sitter to take him to the vet where they checked his blood sugar, ran a serum fructosamine test, and also sent off labs to check for pancreatitis and possible UTI.

His blood sugar this time was fine, potassium levels were normal, and had no ketones in his urine. We are waiting for his labs to come back for pancreatitis and UTI results. He was given cerenia for nausea and mirtazapine for appetite. He had to be convinced to eat his dinner (ate it in two trips with some food warming to coax him and did not eat any of his 2a.m. tray until I woke up at 6a.m. and tried to coax him to eat it. He ate maybe half.

I'm stressed beyond belief because the labs cost a fair amount of money already and I cannot afford to hospitalize him again.... We haven't given him any meds for pain yet (but have gabapentin) and we have not given him any cerenia or mirtazapine today. I just don't know what to do.

Thanks for reading this essay and I would greatly appreciate any advice or insights..
 
Hello and welcome. I’ve removed the GA prefix which we save for kitties that have become guardian angels, or gone ahead.

Have you considered home testing his blood sugars yourself? It is one way to save a lot of money and vet visits.
 
I am so sorry I didn't realize I had the wrong tag on here! So I do have an alphatrak and have on occasion tested Bill at home, but he is not the most happy cat when it comes to my fumbling.. I am more than willing to keep trying but to give more background on my attempts, it quite frequently takes upwards of half an hour of me holding him down to get enough blood out of his ear to test. He eventually forgives me, but it is frosty for quite some time. I went back to the vet today and got a libre put back on him so we'll see how long I can get readings from this (he kicks them off pretty quickly so maybe I can get a day or two of full curves).

The vet got back to me today with the results of his UTI and pancreatitis results which were both negative. I was told this is both good news and bad news because it can be indicative of another underlying issue. I may have to take him in for more diagnostics if I cannot get him to eat consistently again or if he continues to be lethargic.

We also asked the vet about allergies because he's been scratching a lot lately to the point where his neck is scabby. Not to the point of bald spots, but noticeable. It is a fairly recent development but we were informed that the usual treatment is steroidal which is not recommended for diabetic cats and that there are no antihistimines that are suitable for cats. The vet also said these recent allergy symptoms could also have thrown him out of regulation?

Is this accurate? Thank you for getting back to me and I really appreciate this forum and its members..
 
No worries on the GA, just didn't want you to wonder why I had removed it.

As for testing, we have a bunch of tips here, as well as some videos that may help: Hometesting Links and Tips. I found that treats made a huge difference! As well as starting with a larger gauge lancet than what comes with the AT kit, think size 26 to start. The Libre will be a good way to start to make sure his dose is a good one. Some ideas on how to dress kitty to help keep it on here:
FreeStyle Libre: video, demonstration, explanations, tips – discussion!

Oh, and just because we have a post on how best to help us help you:
New? How You Can Help Us Help You!

As for allergies, if you can find out what food causes the allergic reaction, maybe you can switch to something that does not. I have a cat that has GI reactions to food she is allergic too, but have seen lots of other folks with skin reactions. I wonder if he has a seafood allergy? That's one of the common allergens for cats. Allergies can cause inflammation, or worst case infection, which can cause some insulin resistance. If you are in the US, I think a number of people give Zyrtec, but I don't know the dosing. @tiffmaxee may know. I think she has a kitty has skin allergies too.
 
I see.. he has been a picky eater for a long time and would only eat seafood flavors even when crave was still available. His primary food is sheba tuna and whitefish now, but it is possible he developed an allergy to it..

His PM reading was 400 pre shot so I was comfortable administering his 1u of lantus. He was also given gabapentin this morning as per the vets instructions, but now seems way too drowsy/lethargic to be interested in his dinner.

Will continue to monitor his readings and try to coax him to eat. Thanks for the suggestions/ information
 
Have you ever fed him proteins that might be novel to him, like lamb, rabbit, venison, duck? Sometimes something completely new can be interesting. A fully seafood diet is not recommended.
 
I have tried alternatives in the past, but the little guy was not at all interested. Definitely willing to try it again..

He ate about half of what he usually does overnight, but I'm not sure what hours that occurred. His BG has been pinned to about 400 the entire time if the libre is to be trusted.. but at least he also ate SOME food
 
I occasionally use cyproheptadine as an appetite stimulant for my cat. I prefer it over mirtazapine. I would ask your vet about it. It is a human antihistamine that can help (humans anyway) with itchy skin. Since it's a human drug you would need to get a prescription from your vet and pick it up at a human pharmacy. It might help with your cat's itchy skin too, I don't know.
 
I asked my vet if cyproheptadine would work for scratching and he said no. It’s my go to for an appetite stimulant and cheap too. You need an RX and can then get it from any pharmacy. I’m giving Zyrtec for scratching due to allergies. . The dose is .5 once a day. It also works as an appetite stimulant but my vet didn’t know that. I had read that and it worked for Max. Mocha doesn’t need that at this point so impossible to tell but I think so.

Welcome to the FDMB.
 
Last edited:
Thanks for the information about zyrtec! My vet was pretty adamant that no human anti histamine was appropriate, but it sounds like it's definitely worth more investigating. Are you giving the zyrtec in half pill form with a pill shooter, or would you recommend grinding it up with water and using a liquid shooter?

An update on Bill, he has regained his appetite largely because we figured out he is really hesitant to eat his normal flavor of food after the vet visit. He will eat the signature seafood flavor from the same Sheba brand, but will almost completely refuse the tuna and whitefish.

His BG numbers are behaving very strangely now however. The libre shows it pinned from 380-400 all day from 10am until 10pm.
HOWEVER his 10p PM shot lowers his numbers to around 120 by 3a.m. with it curving somewhat normally back up to 300 by 10 a.m.

No clue why that could be happening. His feeding schedule is very consistent..
 
It would be really helpful if you would set up a spreadsheet and signature. Are you feeding all fish? You might want to try other proteins as Wendy mentioned.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top