Long story, last shot was AM 6/2.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Supurrkitten

Member Since 2017
So this is the backstory: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/frustrated-weird-s-after-too-low-pmps.178738/

I just want someone to look this over and tell me what they think is happening or confirm it is depot.

The AM 6/1 shot DID NOT happen. AMPS 6/1 was 81 - 77 - 76 (3x's due to "wow that's lower than usual.") PM 6/1 DID 1 unit happen. 6/1 PMPS - 259.

I should have reduced by .25 here. I did not
:banghead:

The AM 6/2 shot DID happen 1 unit. AMPS 6/2 was 139.
Between AM and PM: +3 - 68/66, +6 - 35, +7 - 97, +11 - 89, PMPS - 82/83, +14 - 96/67/73
PM 6/2 shot DID NOT happen. PMPS 6/2 was 82 - 83.

6/3:
AMPS +23 - 76/82
AM 6/3 NO SHOT.
Fed.
+28 - 85
+31 - 101
I left for Work DH took over.
PMPS +33 - 100
Held Shot, held food. Will recheck in one hour for possible higher shot value
I was worried that this was still a little low. I had set 120 as the shot number in my head I was comfortable with my DH shooting, given he may not be able to effectively manage hypo well. He will do it if he must but I would not forgive him if Fergus died. So we did not feed Fergus (last food at +31) and waited an hour to recheck.
+34 - 80 (too low to shoot) so we decided PM 6/3 NO SHOT due to PMPSs.
Offered Food
+36 - 88
Offered Food
DH went to bed.

This is where I am. I know I could have shot the 100 at +100, but I was not comfortable with DH doing it. Glad I said wait given the next was 80.

Any advice or analysis on what the heck is going on is appreciated. I think I got bounce and depot confused. I realize this could be a depot effect. I was assuming before I left work that he would be up and shootable by the time DH got him. :confused:

When I get home I will do a AMPS for 6/4.

Trisha
 
The depot can still be in play for upto 6 cycles, it may well be that if it got overfull, we are still seeing it adjusting.

Hopefully he'll come up above 90 for you to be able to shoot as per the SLGS guidelines.

Wendy suggested in the last post that you test enough for TR, and he's on a LC wet diet, not sure if you 'missed' the comment, that's why I'm bringing it up again. On TR you would shoot (overtime and with data/guidance) anything over 50.
 
Thank you for looking at his #'s.
I am considering TR. As s night shift nurse, it is hard to be home to regulate him if I am gone for 14 - 16 hours. I also cannot depend on an only 14 hour day due to staffing.
Last night I asked DH to make a profile and join the message board. If he can get up to speed and will commit then it is doable. Unfortunately, he had been known to shut down when he is tired and just not get things done. Fergus would have to depend on him.
I am not home yet to update his SS.
But he was +36 - 88, +45 - 86.

I work again tonight. Hoping next week I can get more informed about TR.

Thank you
 
The depot can still be in play for upto 6 cycles, it may well be that if it got overfull, we are still seeing it adjusting.

Hopefully he'll come up above 90 for you to be able to shoot as per the SLGS guidelines.

Wendy suggested in the last post that you test enough for TR, and he's on a LC wet diet, not sure if you 'missed' the comment, that's why I'm bringing it up again. On TR you would shoot (overtime and with data/guidance) anything over 50.

Thanks for the support. I know it seems odd, but just having you say "up to six cycles" makes it better. I know 6 is an estimate/average, but I thought I was dealing with some rare weird phenomenon:eek:.

I guess I get more nervous about him when I work a couple shifts in a row. Sleep deprivation does that too me. I try to do too much on my work days and end up up all day and working all night, lol. DH said he is going to log on tonight. That is encouraging. We can start TR next week together hopefully.:)

We are still at No Shots. This morning at +45 he was 86. When I got up this afternoon at +52 he was 72. He is acting great. I need to relax and enjoy this. He slept next to me and bathed himself. He is purry and happy. He also got his Zobaline in the mail.We started it this morning.

I hope everyone has a good day that is following along. This sight is such a blessing. I hope all those Sweet sugar Kitties are well and well cared for today.

:bighug: Trisha & Fergus
 
Some kitties race down the dosing scale. If Fergus's pancreas is healing, best to feed him several small meals per cycle, if you are not already doing so.

Safety first though on giving further insulin support, it's now up to Fergus to tell us the next steps.:D
 
Some kitties race down the dosing scale. If Fergus's pancreas is healing, best to feed him several small meals per cycle, if you are not already doing so.

Safety first though on giving further insulin support, it's now up to Fergus to tell us the next steps.:D
@Wendy&Neko thanks for weighing in. We are doing a can or a half can of Fancy Feast, or one side of a Sheba portion pack or both sides if super hungry. I need to figure out his caloric need. His vet doesn't want him to gain weight again. She got in me for the 13.6 to 13.9 gain :rolleyes:.

So what would you consider small? Like the half FF can serving and the one side of the Sheba Perfect Portion pouch?

Also, I wonder how much the UTI he had played into him pushing into full on diabetes. He did not clear with the first antibiotic and has not had a recheck after he just finished the second course of a different antibiotic.

Regardless, I am afraid to jinx and think this is possibly... Ya know.

His last BS was at +57 what would be a PMPS ;) 78.

Thanks a bunch.
❤️
 
Last edited:
Don't change the amount of food, but rather divide it into smaller amounts. Maybe 1/2 of the cycle food at preshot time and the rest divided into one or two additional meals.
 
Don't change the amount of food, but rather divide it into smaller amounts. Maybe 1/2 of the cycle food at preshot time and the rest divided into one or two additional meals.
Honestly, he's been eating quite a few meals a day at least four maybe five. Hopefully they are small enough that he won't blow up like a balloon. When we get to shoot him again I will make sure to give him the larger portion preshot. Thank you for the advice
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top