Long intro for Sparkle and his Mom, Pepper

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sparkle

Member Since 2016
Hi everyone. Great site. Looking to learn and participate and of course, get Sparkle regulated and happy!

Sparkle was dxed on 1/16/16. It was a 9 hour day at the vet. First, I was being worked in and it was a Saturday, their busiest day and second, I had two very sick cats with me, Brownie and Sparkle.

This vet is a VCA 24 hour hospital and I was seeing the head vet, who I call an elite vet and who I also call my friend. I've known her for over 20 years. Her name is Dr. C.

I had her look at Brownie first because I did not think Brownie was too sick. 13 yo with a cough and weight loss and lethargy. I won't go into all of the details, but after CBC/chem, xrays and ultrasound, it was determined that Brownie had cancer. I lost her two days later. So to say I was in shock is a huge understatement.

Sparkle, 10 yo, looked terrible, was cranky, eyes dilated, back legs weak and walking on wrong part of leg, severe weight loss, major skin flakes, dehydration, excessive drinking, huge urination. UA showed no ketones, chem/cbc were actually pretty good, except glucose was at 394.

Please stay calm when I say the next part......

While I was waiting for test results I was going through the records from my regular vet, Dr. L and I discovered that Sparkle had super high glucose readings 6 months previously and a few months before that, when he had a major dental. Yes, that vet, Dr. L, had completely missed the diabetes. I had been told that Sparkle had low potassium and been given a bag of lactated ringers with potassium added to take home and do sub q fluids with.

I'm not a person who gets angry easily and heaven knows I've made some awful mistakes over my 30 years of rescue work so I can compassionately understand a mistake, even a big one.

Dr. L and I have had a sit down and gone over everything that went wrong that lead to her mistakes and I think we can continue to work together. She also refunded all of money for Sparkles visits and tests. I like her as a person, but of course I will be very cautious as we go forward and I reevaluate her as a vet. Her clinic is a medium clinic with several vets, two locations, great facility, great staff and super close to my house. All the vets are relatively new to practice through.

I am very sad that it took me 6 months to save up the money to get Sparkle and Brownie to the specialist. I am on disability so money is always a huge issue. I also take care of 13 cats. I can introduce them at a later time, probably in my signature/ID thingee.

I gave Brownie and Sparkle all the care I could at home while saving my money to get a second opinion at the elite vet. I can do a lot since I am very experienced and have quite a lot of supplies. Sparkle was getting sub-q fluids, potassium, emu oil, and B complex and I was monitoring his food and litter box activities. I was doing supportive care for Brownie too and I never knew she was so sick. She looked great except for the weight loss and was always happy and purring. She loved her sick bay that was private with great beds and a nice big window. She never acted sick, except for the cough. I still can't comprehend that she is gone.

So Sparkle started Lantus on 1/16. I purchased an expensive AlphTrak kit from the vet and ran out and got a insulin pen and expensive pen needles (didn't know you could use regular insulin syringes!). The vet showed me how to test and give the insulin and Sparkle and I have been working on his diabetes now for 6 days.

I am not tech savy so I've been keeping records the old fashioned way, but will do an online chart when I can figure it out. Right now I'm not up to that challenge.

Sparkle goes to the vet in a few hours for his first check up. He is at 1 unit of insulin and I'm certain it will be upped today as his numbers are still way too high. However, he does look better, is less cranky, is drinking less, needing sub-q support less, smaller box clumps and eating is normalized. His legs and eyes are still bad. I've ordered the Zobaline and the Relion micro and prime monitors along with strips and ultra fine lancets. There is no way I can afford the AlphTrak strips for the close monitoring I want to do. I already ran out of the first 50 strips and luckily got a second canister of 50 for $30 off eBay that arrived yesterday.

About me, I'm 55, disabled with multiple physical and mental illnesses, am a certified medical assistant, but barely ever worked in the field due to my disability. I live alone except for the great cat gang. I left rescue 2 years ago which was the best thing I ever did for my health and my finances. My last volunteer work was at the city kill shelter and there is nothing as devastating as that experience. Since driving is very hard for me and I already have enough cats to care for, I had to give up fostering for rescues also.

I live small, simple, in silence and solitude and in great serenity. In general, I think my life is perfect. The cats are my life and I expect situations like with Sparkle and even Brownie. It is part of loving them and making a life commitment to them.

I've read many of your stories and can't wait to share some thoughts and tips and feel part of a family of cat lovers who just happen to have a diabetic situation.

Kitty kisses and Big hugs to all:

Pepper, Sparkle and the rest of the 4 footers
 
Welcome.
It is good that yo are home testing BG. In the intern before y get the spreadsheet setup it would be good to report BGs as follows:
morning BG before shot as AMPS
For BGs between shots you report + x (x is hours after shot and then the BG. Like +4 280
For evening BG before shot you report PMPS.
Yes the AlphaTrak strips are expensive. Many of use here use WalMart's ReliOn Confirm or Confirm Micro. Yu can get strips from American Diabetes Warehouse under the aka Glucocard 01 or 01 Mini brand.
What are you feeding? A low-carb canned is best. No reason for a prescription food. Here is a list of commercial low-carb canned

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/shortcut-shopping-list-all-8-or-less-updated.117688/
 
Hi Pepper,

This is just a quick note to welcome you, Sparkle, and all your other fur kids, and to send you some of these >>>>>> :bighug::bighug::bighug:

I'm very sad that you have lost Brownie - and so unexpectedly; that's really, really hard. :(

I am heartened to hear that the insulin is already starting to help Sparkle feel better. I understand your upset over the missed diagnosis. I've been through similar. I'm glad you've found us, and I'm looking forward to getting to know you and your fur babies.


Mogs
.
 
Welcome Pepper and Sparkles! I'm sorry that you lost your Brownie, that had to be a terrible shock. I lost a dog the same way, one Saturday afternoon she started whining, that evening the ER vet said "cancer of the spleen", I had her PTS 3 days later.

I commend you for you dedication to the fur babies, in spite of your own difficulties. But truthfully, sometimes I think it's they who save us. :cat:

I've also done some fostering, but it always broke my heart to have to give them up! :arghh:
 
Welcome.
It is good that yo are home testing BG. In the intern before y get the spreadsheet setup it would be good to report BGs as follows:
morning BG before shot as AMPS
For BGs between shots you report + x (x is hours after shot and then the BG. Like +4 280
For evening BG before shot you report PMPS.
Yes the AlphaTrak strips are expensive. Many of use here use WalMart's ReliOn Confirm or Confirm Micro. Yu can get strips from American Diabetes Warehouse under the aka Glucocard 01 or 01 Mini brand.
What are you feeding? A low-carb canned is best. No reason for a prescription food. Here is a list of commercial low-carb canned

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/shortcut-shopping-list-all-8-or-less-updated.117688/
Hello and thank you for the welcome!
OK, let me see...I'll show 1/21 to present I'm trying to do noon and midnight as his shot times
Noon AMPS BG371 1 unit ate 2.5 baby food + 3 oz Muse pate (takes anywhere from 30 minutes to an hour for him to eat that. He is like a little old man)
+2 523
+3 389
+6 489
1am PMPS 364 baby food and Muse
+2 517
+5 592
I think his numbers are crappy, but I suspect they were way, way worse over the last few months before dx.

I stopped all dry food and he doesn't seem to mind. He has almost no teeth and he tends to just play with the niblets and then swallow them whole. Never eats very much dry. I had been feeding Pro Plan dry, Purina One dry kitten and Science Diet dry kitten (got on sale with coupon...not generally a fan of SD). Canned is Muse, Friskees, occasional SD, Sheba in the past. I use a lot of the Gerber chicken baby food. He seems to need the texture mixed with the canned food and water. Now I just want to do very limited dry for everyone and switch everyone to canned. So far it is going well on the diet change.

I ordered both the Relion Micro and Prime so I have two units because I know I will not likely be getting more of the Alpha Trak strips. I hope the Prime works out since the strips are so inexpensive.
 
Hi Pepper,

This is just a quick note to welcome you, Sparkle, and all your other fur kids, and to send you some of these >>>>>> :bighug::bighug::bighug:

I'm very sad that you have lost Brownie - and so unexpectedly; that's really, really hard. :(

I am heartened to hear that the insulin is already starting to help Sparkle feel better. I understand your upset over the missed diagnosis. I've been through similar. I'm glad you've found us, and I'm looking forward to getting to know you and your fur babies.


Mogs
.
I love the emoticoms. Not sure how to use them, but they are so cute! I am SO not tech savy. I have never sent a text in my life, don't have a smart phone, rarely use my cheap cell phone (though using it now as an alarm). Heck I don't even own a TV! (thank goodness for Hulu and Netflicks!)
Thank you for the kind words about Brownie. I'm glad in a way I have Sparkle to focus on. It occupies my mind so I don't dwell on the loss as much. Am making sure I spend lots more time loving on all the other kids. I don't want them to think Sparkle is the only important one since he is getting so much attention.
 
Hi Sparkle and Pepper. Reading between the lines I'm guessing the insulin is lantus and you are in the US. If so many here order their insulin from Mark's Marine in Canada online. It is a much cheaper that way although they will not ship if it is below freezing either at your residence or their location.

If you look up above the area where you type you will see a smiley face:). This is where your can find emotions:cat:.
 
An inverse cure (BG goes up and then back down before new shot) can mean either too much insulin or not enough. Since Sparkle is only on 1 unit too high a dose is not at all likely. I would increase does to 1 1/2 units twice daily. Typically we only increase by 1/4 units when on low does like 1 unit but to me with your BG values increasing by 1/2 unit is what I would do.
 
Welcome. I know where your coming from. I lost a kitty to I guess you could say inattentive vet. My kitty wasn't eating and getting matted. Last time it happened it was her teeth and 7 were pulled. This time they (new vet) did blood work. It took me hounding them for 10 days for results. At this time she hadn't eaten for 10 days. When I finally got a doctor she was covering for the practice. Said they could make appointment for dental. Later that day the regular vet called and said he was really worried and made appointment at ER vet for ultrasound. This was before I knew anything about these illnesses. It turned out she had pancreatitis and hepatic lipidosis. We were told the pancreatitis could be treated but the lipidosis couldn't be. So we chose to let her go. Knowing we were also losing another within weeks from natural causes. I will never not question vets again. And I will shout for my kitties if I have to. We were new to area and had no recommendations for vets. I tried 3 others first. I thought they were the better choice. Now I go to my present one.
 
back legs weak and walking on wrong part of leg

Welcome Pepper and Sparkle. I am so terribly sorry about Brownie.

You mentioned that Sparkle is walking probably on his hocks. Looks like you already got the Methyl B12 going. Here is some additional information including an additional place to by Methyl B12 and probably most of this you already know.

Diabetic Neuropathy: Merlin had this condition and it was really severe. The symptoms are walking on their back hocks. Severe conditions may also include their front feet. Merlin could never go more than a couple of steps before sitting down. We had to put down rugs all over the place so he wouldn't slip on the tile. To help this condition is to regulate the diabetes and to give them methyl B12; Zobaline. If you go with another product, you must make sure that there are no sugars. I tried GNC but had to contact the company to ensure they did not put sugar in it. Zobaline is a small pink pill and can be crushed easily and put in his food. After about six months of Methyl B12, you couldn’t even tell Merlin had diabetic neuropathy. He could run, jump and walk on his tippy toes. Here is a link to Zobaline. http://www.ilifelink.com/zobaline-for_diabetic_cats-3_mg_x_60_tablets.htmlHere is another source for Methyl B12 at Vita Cost: http://www.vitacost.com/Vitacost-Vitamin-B-12-Methylcobalamin-500-mcg-300-Capsules
 
Welcome, Pepper and Sparkle. Condolences as to your loss of Brownie. You are an angel with a great, big heart. Everyone here is ready to help you get Sparkle comfortable and on the road to better health. Come on over to the main forum and get acquainted with everyone! :bighug:
 
Welcome Sparkle and his momma bean! You have all ready been given a lot of good information. You have come to a great place. @Merlin , hey there, ( and sorry to Sparkles Momma for high jacking your thread) I bought some of the Methylocobalamin from Vita Cost and haven't used it yet as it has rice flour in it. I wasn't sure if those carbs would have any impact of the BG's. Any thoughts?
 
Oh that is interesting. Hmmm that was suggested to me by some folks here. I wouldn't think that would be a good thing but let me check. @Marje and Gracie - Hi Marje, I thought I would check with you regarding Vitacost Methyl B12. Does the rice flour have an effect on BG numbers? Thanks.
 
Oh that is interesting. Hmmm that was suggested to me by some folks here. I wouldn't think that would be a good thing but let me check. @Marje and Gracie - Hi Marje, I thought I would check with you regarding Vitacost Methyl B12. Does the rice flour have an effect on BG numbers? Thanks.
Yes...rice flour can raise the BG so the Zobaline is a better way to go if a kitty needs methylB12.
 
Oh that is interesting. Hmmm that was suggested to me by some folks here. I wouldn't think that would be a good thing but let me check. @Marje and Gracie - Hi Marje, I thought I would check with you regarding Vitacost Methyl B12. Does the rice flour have an effect on BG numbers? Thanks.
Thanks for checking with Marge and Gracie. Glad I haven't given it to him. I will look into the Z
 
You know when I gave Merlin the Vitacost one, I really didn't notice his numbers getting any higher and that is what I gave him probably for the last eight months but maybe it could have been a little lower. Thanks for bringing that to my attention Bobbie and Marje.
 
And Marmy and I also welcome you Pepper and Sparkles!:bighug:As one non techie to another, I am caring for 4 special needs cats and recently lost my old Black Magic! So I feel your pain and know your challenge. And applaud your loving and brave heart!!! So sorry for your loss of Brownie.
This FDMB is a Godsend but it is hard when one of us loses a precious kitty. We get so attached. The support is awesome.
If your ss needs some tweaking, Marje is amazing. I had no clue what to do a year ago when Marmy
Was first diagnosed and Marje just appeared out of nowhere and got me started. And continues to help me with my glitches.
I just noticed, speaking of glitches that Marmy's name has vanished under her picture. So FYI she is Marmy and I am Toni. And we welcome you both!:) The name came back when I posted(I don't post often; can you tell?)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top