? Lola new thread

Jade_Leah

Member Since 2024
Previous thread

@Suzanne & Darcy @JL and Chip

Lola is not well. She is having a harder than usual time getting around, is much more wobbly, hasn't had a bowel movement (though I just watched her appear to try to have one on the living room carpet but nothing came out). She has been under the ottoman most of the night, though when I sat on the couch just now to type this out she immediately managed to jump up here with me to curl up next to me. She doesn't seem interested in food still, after struggling to get her to eat at all yesterday.

I believe she may be constipated as I can smell that she is passing gas. I have never dealt with this before so I'm not sure what to do about it.

This morning her BG is 237. I gave her 2.5 units.

I'm honestly very scared and I'm not sure what to do.
 
It does sound like she is constipated. That’s why I asked last night about it. Constipation can be very painful and also will take her appetite away.
 
If you take her to the vet, they will do an x-ray which will show whether she is or is not constipated. If she is back constipated, they will probably suggest doing an enema. Constipation is not uncommon in CKD cats due to their pretty much being dehydrated all the time. Dry food is also very dehydrating. If she was eating wet food, you could add water to it to increase hydration. But we have to go with what Lola will eat. Constipation is another thing that can be helped by giving regular sub-q fluids at home. Also, many CKD cats need a daily dose of MiraLax mixed into their (wet) food to keep them regular. There are other things that can be given for constipation (Lactulose requires an Rx) adding fiber to their diet (again, usually mixed into wet food.)
 
Please don’t leave her like this at home because if the constipation is at a certain point then you can’t manage it at home — not even with MiraLax. Once she’s pooping again, you should be able to manage at home with regular fluid hydration, MiraLax, psyllium husk fiber or freeze dried pumpkin, and Lactulose if necessary.
 
Can you take her to the vet. It sounds urgent. I am so worried.

I found an urgent care vet that can see her in an hour so I am taking her there. I have been trying to come up with care arrangements for the other animals as it's an hour away and I know I'll be there for hours most likely. I'm going to miss my baby sister's bridal shower. I'm more worried and stressed than I can express and it is making me emotionally and physically ill. I have fibromyalgia and the stress of the last few weeks has me in almost crippling amounts of pain. My heart is breaking and my body feels broken. This is so hard and terrible.

I'm going to drive now but thank you for responding.
 
I’m going to write this now so you can see it later. I seriously will be thinking of you. Please keep me updated - as you can - as I am worried. I hope you brought your ReliOn with you.
I am so very sorry about your sister’s bridal shower. And the fibromyalgia is so painful. This is off topic of Lola, but I know people who have had tremendous relief from a course of neurofeedback.

Please let me know what is going on. I care so much. I will say a prayer now for Lola.
 
I’m going to write this now so you can see it later. I seriously will be thinking of you. Please keep me updated - as you can - as I am worried. I hope you brought your ReliOn with you.
I am so very sorry about your sister’s bridal shower. And the fibromyalgia is so painful. This is off topic of Lola, but I know people who have had tremendous relief from a course of neurofeedback.

Please let me know what is going on. I care so much. I will say a prayer now for Lola.

We are checked in and waiting in a room. Lola yowled until I let her out of her carrier and onto my lap for the ride. At this point I just want her to be as comfortable and comforted as possible. She passed gas and a very tiny amount of poo while on my lap. Like, smaller than the size of a fingernail. I can tell She just feels so unwell. She is wobbly on her feet. Her back legs appear to be giving her more trouble than usual.

I'm so afraid that nothing can be done for her and everything I've done over the last month to get her well has only prolonged her suffering. I've lost pets beside but this is the first time I'll have to decide when she's been through enough. I'm terrified and sick over it. I don't want us to be there yet and I hope we aren't but I'm very scared we are.

I did bring the ReliOn as well as some baby food to maybe tempt her to eat.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy

Lola was just taken back for bloodwork and urinalysis. I asked the doctor to be frank with me about her condition and quality of life and she said that she believes she is nearing the end based on her physical condition and the previous bloodwork I sent to them. Her gums are pale and tacky (the anemia we discussed, but this vet seems to think it's worse than it was before but we will see with bloodwork. They did not feel anything indicating constipation when they palpated her abdomen.

I don't want to think that it's time to have to make tough decisions but it may be. This is devastating.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy

Lola was just taken back for bloodwork and urinalysis. I asked the doctor to be frank with me about her condition and quality of life and she said that she believes she is nearing the end based on her physical condition and the previous bloodwork I sent to them. Her gums are pale and tacky (the anemia we discussed, but this vet seems to think it's worse than it was before but we will see with bloodwork. They did not feel anything indicating constipation when they palpated her abdomen.

I don't want to think that it's time to have to make tough decisions but it may be. This is devastating.
They can’t tell about constipation unless they take an x-ray!
 
Of course she is dehydrated (the tacky gums). She hasn’t been receiving sub-q fluids daily. She probably needs 100 mLper day if she’s dehydrated. Sub-q fluids are the “standard of care” for a cat at a certain stage of kidney disease. I’m so upset. Some vets just want to euthanize. They have convinced themselves that they are doing a good thing. Sometimes they are and sometimes they’re not. I am so sorry you are going through this.
 
There are so many things that can be done to make a kidney cat feel better and have good quality of life. Fluids first to address hydration, anti-nausea meds, then appetite stimulants if needed, anemia is very responsive to medications (Darbepoetin), phosphorus binder or therapeutic food, etc. She was starting to respond to her insulin and at a lower dose too. I feel like things the vet should have told/shown/helped you to do have not been done.
 
There are so many things that can be done to make a kidney cat feel better and have good quality of life. Fluids first to address hydration, anti-nausea meds, then appetite stimulants if needed, anemia is very responsive to medications (Darbepoetin), phosphorus binder or therapeutic food, etc. She was starting to respond to her insulin and at a lower dose too. I feel like things the vet should have told/shown/helped you to do have not been done.

It is with unbearable sadness and heartbreak beyond what I can express that I have to tell you that I had to make the choice to let Lola go today. Her bloodwork was extremely bad. Some of the worst that vet had ever seen. I managed to reach my regular vet and he as well as several of my vet/vet tech friends agreed that she was very unwell and not actually improving and based on the bloodwork she had gone downhill significantly. She could hardly get around today and wet herself a couple of times. Today she seemed different than she ever had before. She wasn't herself and I could tell she was exhausted and so very sick. I still didn't expect that I wouldn't be coming home with her today, while also fearing the worst. I held her and told her how much she has meant to me and that I will love and miss her for the rest of my days. I kissed her paws and her nose and her ears and held her close. Then I told her it was time to go to sleep and to finally feel better again. I don't know how to go on without her. For the last year I've been doing everything I can to make her well, and the last month and a half she has become the main focus of my entire life.

Thank you from bottom of my heart for helping us and for getting me through some really rough moments. I am so sorry that I couldn't save my girl. I'm so sorry for letting her down. And I'm sorry if I've let you down after all the help you've given. I tried so hard. I am utterly broken.
 
I’m absolutely in tears. I understand your heartbreak. I am so sorry…. So very sorry and very sad. I so wish this had turned out differently. Lola was too young to leave you. You tried so hard. She is at peace now and you will carry her in your heart always.
 
I’m absolutely in tears. I understand your heartbreak. I am so sorry…. So very sorry and very sad. I so wish this had turned out differently. Lola was too young to leave you. You tried so hard. She is at peace now and you will carry her in your heart always.

She turned 12 in August. I always told my kitties they have to live to be at least 20 for me. I lost my first when she was just shy of 11 due to suspected lymphoma (she passed away they night of her biopsy which came back inconclusive) and now Lola at 12. I really wish they could've stuck around longer. I've never been through this before as my other pets passed suddenly, so having to make the decision to let her go is tearing me up. Her body couldn't handle anymore even if her sweet spirit was still there. She was purring until the very end.
 
I’m absolutely in tears. I understand your heartbreak. I am so sorry…. So very sorry and very sad. I so wish this had turned out differently. Lola was too young to leave you. You tried so hard. She is at peace now and you will carry her in your heart always.

She was my best friend. I hope she knows how hard I tried and that she is at peace now. Free from all sickness and pain.
 
She was my best friend. I hope she knows how hard I tried and that she is at peace now. Free from all sickness and pain.
I think she does know how much you loved her and how much you were trying to help her. It really is one of the hardest decisions I have ever had to make (multiple times now) to allow them to be euthanized. It’s just so unnatural to do something to take them away from you. I most recently had to let my sweet Ginger go July 12 and I am still thinking about those last moments. It killed me, but I could not allow her to go on in that way. I always have a lot of guilt and blame myself for doing things wrong. It’s normal, I think, but we can only do our best for them based on the information and knowledge we have at the time.
 
Last edited:
Jade, I am so sorry for your loss. I like to follow along on some of the other ProZinc kitties and I was reading all your updates and you and Lola clearly love each other so deeply. You did an amazing job being her caretaker. My heart hurts for you and I'm sending love your way. She is at peace now and with you forever. <3
 
@Jade_Leah I am so very, very sorry. :(:bighug:
Sometimes words just do not suffice. You and Lola have been through a lot and it can take a long time to get your bearings after you’ve spent so much time and emotional energy caring for one you love so much. The world can seem empty, the daily schedule (or sudden loss thereof) disjointed. Just know that others care, that we’ve walked this path before, that we understand, and most importantly, that we’re here for you if you need us.

It’s easy to second guess and have doubts about whether you did the right thing. I think that’s human nature. We always have regret, no matter what we do. Seriously, I’ve done rescue for years and have “been there done that” with more critters than I can name (and more than a few species). I will say that I know conclusively that I got the timing of the “final decision” exactly right in exactly one case. I think I’ve timed many “mostly right” but there’s always that shadow of a doubt. And I’ve made mistakes in both directions—perhaps letting go too soon, and definitely waiting too long. The waiting too long is the worst by far (shudder). You just have to do the best you can do with the info you have as well as follow your instinct. You knew Lola best.

Sadly, from everything you described, it does sound like Lola needed you to make that final decision for her. I’m all for fighting the good fight and giving them every last chance, but sometimes there’s more going on than we know. Sometimes cats mask so much and for so long that they’re in crisis and leaving us before we can even process what’s happening. What you gave her is one final gift of love. I’m sure she knew that. I’m sure she was comforted by your presence. And I’m sure she loves you for taking the pain onto yourself so she could have peace.

If only we could “will” them back to health. :bighug:cat_wings>o
 
Back
Top