She was pretty adamant about testing on testing on with an alphatrak. I don't think she trusts our numbers on the human meter, although she stated she agrees with that home test curves are more accurate. We agreed to run an alphatrak blood curve at her office on Tuesday as long as it's compared with our meter for comparison purposes.
So are they doing to test the exact same blood drop on an Alphatrak and then on your meter? Is that the comparison they are doing?
Here are some reference ranges that member BJM put together. It gives the different values for human meters versus pet specific like the Alphatrak.
Reference ranges for decision making
[Glucose reference ranges are unsubstantiated and have been removed by Moderator]
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
How to use the glucose reference values chart:
When you get a test, look for the number on the chart that either equals, or contains, the test value you have. Read the information. As needed, make a decision and act.
Ex. You are a new insulin user and you test your cat before giving insulin. The test is 300. It probably is safe to give insulin.
Ex. You are an established user of Lantus, following the Tight Regulation protocol. You've tested around +5 to +7 to spot the nadir. It is 200 mg/dL. You probably need to increase the dose, following the instructions for the protocol.
Ex. Your cat is acting funny. The eyes are a bit dilated. You are concerned and test the glucose. The number is 35 mg/dL. ACK! The cat may be in a hypoglycemic state. You quickly follow the HYPO protocol linked in the glucose reference values chart. (which we really, really, suggest you print out and post on your refrigerator.) [/quote]