Lola 10/20 AMPS 101 ; 105 +2; 107 +5; 108 PMPS (NS)

Pookie (GA)

Member Since 2020
Previous thread

Lola's *PS have been dropping steadily. She missed the green by only 2 points this morning. This morning will be her 4th consecutive NS. Her dose (were she receiving it) has dropped from 1u to .75 (on the 16th) and then to .5 (on the 1ith) based on forays below 90.

I don't know where to go from here. I've started testing her after meals and 2 hours thereafter, and you can see that her BG rises moderately and then falls even without any shot, so her body is seems to be coping adequately on her own.

My gut tells me to hold off on insulin shots and see where her (newly-svelte) body takes her now that she's on a strict LC diet.

Thoughts?
 
I was just looking at that. No shot. She's trending down, this is a good thing. Let's give her a few cycles and see if her pancreas can fully pick up the slack.
 
You're the best, Shelley! Thanks. I'll continue to test 20 minutes after meals (which typically are 1 hour before she starts her PS fast).

She's looking great and feeling well enough to get feisty with the other cats.
 
I want Lola to have the best chance at a strong remission. I'm going to tag @Deb & Wink to have a look at your spreadsheet.

Deb, what do you think please? Is drop dosing recommended here? I've seen a few Prozinc kitty's go OTJ (or try to go OTJ like me and Jess). Most had a hard time getting green preshots while still on insulin and I observed it took a few cycles when insulin was stopped to start hitting green.

Lola had an infection and was eating higher carb dry. She's transitioned to low carb wet now.

Thanks a bunch!
 
Deja Vu! I just answered a very similar question in another Prozinc user's post.

I'm just going to link to that thread, for the sake of convenience for me.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/otj-trial-have-some-questions.237213/#post-2662611

Look at Reply #10, for what I said for Optimus. Same situation here for Lola.

So try no insulin for several cycles, and see what happens, is my recommendation.
Especially with the switch to a completely low carb diet, and the treatment for the infection, she may not need insulin for now.

Let's give her body a chance to take over the insulin production duties. Go Pancreas! Make more "juice" (insulin being the juice)!!!
 
I'm totally on board with this.:)

So our new regime is fasting AMBG & PMBG.
* If green, no further testing needed;
* if blue, test at +3 to 4 after her post-fast meal.
Small meals throughout the day (which she is already doing).

And then sit back and see where she takes us.

I'm very grateful to you both for your guidance and concern for Lo's well-being.
 
Back
Top