Loki's numbers changing

Status
Not open for further replies.

mimi4neeyah and Loki

Member Since 2012
Hi all it's been awhile but wanted to give you a quick update on my boy. His AMPS are high 300 to 400 range,he still gets his 4 units at 8AM, have been rechecking him at 3PM and he is in the 200 as I have a no shoot at 200 and below from the vet I do not shoot, now in the evenings he has been around 130-135 I feed him then recheck about 2 hrs later per vet and he around 200- 233. I then give him 2 units per vet. I wonder why he has gone to the 100's in at his 8PM check. Any ideas? Also cannot get his SS updated and cannot seem to start a new one, would I have to erase all old data and start over?
Thanks again for your input and support. I also just noticed it's been a year I have been helping my boy deal with this.
Michele and Loki.
 
Hard to tell much without the spreadsheet, Michelle. How have you tried to access it? Can you go to Goggle docs and find it? If all else fails, start a new one and just put the last few weeks on it.

It sounds like he is getting too much insulin in the am. It lasts longer than normal and gives you an unshootable pmps. When you wait 2 hours and then give a shot, is your am shot 10 hours after that or 12? Shooting early is like increasing the dose so it may be messing up things during the day.

If he were mine, I would reduce the am dose for a few cycles and see if you get a shootable pmps. And get some overnight midcycle numbers so you can see what is happening there. That might make this whole thing easier to see?
 
I agree with Sue on the dose. It seems to be too high. It doesn't seem to be pushing his numbers too low, but it does look like it's lasting too long. Loki is having to live half the day with no juice when you have to completely skip a shot. He could just be one of the kitties who is going to get the high range of Proizinc's duration as his "normal". Prozinc says it can last from 10-14 hours in a cat. Loki might be a "14 hour Prozinc kitty".

The other thing that perplexes me...

I have a no shoot at 200 and below from the vet I do not shoot, now in the evenings he has been around 130-135 I feed him then recheck about 2 hrs later per vet and he around 200- 233. I then give him 2 units per vet.

I don't understand the vet's logic. If he's at 190, he says "no shot". But if he's at 220, he says "give two units". 190 and 220 are virtually the same number if you take meter variance into account. It just seems like "all or nothing" doesn't make sense. I agree with having a "no shoot line in the sand" completely. And if it's 200, that's okay too.
But when he tells you that as soon as Loki steps "over the line", you should shoot two units..... it just seems to me that there should be a range somewhere that says "one unit". There's a big difference between giving one unit to tide him over until the next shot, and having no insulin in his system for that 12 hours.

Carl
 
The other thing I didn't mention.

If you get a 135 and feed him, it's almost a sure thing he'll climb over 200 a couple hours later. But that will be "food boosted BG numbers". So then you shoot, and now the timing of "food vs. insulin" is out of whack. The food is worn off before the insulin starts to onset, which almost guarantees the BG is going to go lower that it normally would. If you stalled for two hours and he climbed, that would mean the rise is "natural" instead of food induced. Feeding and shooting at the same time would make sense then. Does that make sense?

Carl
 
Hi Michele, it's good to see you and Loki.

Try updating your browser, I've heard that Google stopped supporting older browsers, maybe that will fix your ss.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top